We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”
Review of Sconset Cafe

Sconset Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Siasconset
Price range: US$18 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Reading some of the other reviews, we can only say it's all relative. And we had no problem like others with flies, dirty tables or poor service when we were there (August). We're a well travelled older couple from the UK and have experienced a wide variety and quality of restaurants in our time. Yes, you could say it's expensive, but not that much; yes, it was run by "teenagers" (more like twenty-somethings) but we found them friendly, happy and perfectly competent. Yes, there's not much competition, but the joy of Sconset is that it's not over-run with cafes and eating establishments. For us, staying in a cottage in Sconset, it made a perfect place to go for brunch and dinner (although we discovered you need to book for dinner - it is small). It's relaxed, laid back but sufficiently 'smart' to make it special. You can take your own wine and no corkage if you buy it from the 'Book Shop' next door. Our last night we had crab cakes/scallops and bacon, chicken and mashers/swordfish and lamb jam topping (delicious) with chick peas, peppers, melon. $110 for two, well worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only Port - No Storm”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our family has eaten at this cute little outpost in Siasconset for many years. We usually combine eating here with a trip out to Great Point or the 'Sconset Bluff Walk with visitors to our wonderful island. The last two years of breakfasts/lunches have been really disappointing. The 2013 one the low point. I always hope that the food will have improved to the quality it was a few years ago, when they still served good, unusual clam chowder, tasty bread pudding and home-made pie for dessert, but this year it was not to be. No one at our table of 6 had a good meal. The service was so-so, and the food had no taste from soup to sandwiches to caesar salad. Perhaps dinner is better? Bring in friendly staff and good cooking! We miss that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best pancakes on the island”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stumbled onto this place after a bike ride to Sconset- it was pretty easy as there seemed to be only one other restaurant in the town. My favorite blueberry pancakes! Quiet restaurant, pretty small. We had a short wait but only a few minutes. I don't know if I would go to Sconset to eat here, but if I was in Sconset, I definitely would go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCA333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not much competition”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I think this place must do a business because there just isn't much competition in sconset. It appeared to be run by a bunch of teenagers. Service reflected that. The quahog soup and veggie sandwich were good ad was the lobster roll. The menu is small. The food is pretty expensive. The ambiance was not clean, flies all over and many tables not bussed with dirty dishes. Nothing really special here but fits the bill for a quick lunch. Maybe get it to go next time? Doubt we'll be back. The dinner menu did look more interesting, I will say that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trazona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“$7 corkage fee.....gross!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Food= GREAT
Corkage fee=GROSS $7.....really?
The food, staff all outstanding! Just really have a problem with a fee to un-cork my wine!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Doons10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sconset Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sconset Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing