We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Summer House, I knew You When ...”

The Summer House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Summer House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Siasconset
Price range: US$30 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ocean near Magnolia
Description: On a bluff overlooking the Atlantic in Siasconset, the Summer House Restaurant is known not only for its picturesque Siasconset location but also for its imaginative contemporary cuisine and outstanding wine list. Dinner each evening is an event - subdued lighting, flickering candles, fresh flowers and the music from the Piano Bar combine to create an atmosphere of days gone by and the true romance that is Nantucket. Enjoy dinner on the porch, overlooking the ocean and the starry night sky is a true taste of Nantucket summer. Before or after dinner, drinks and celebrations are enjoyed at the delightful Piano Bar.The Summer House Restaurant is a member of the Summer House Boutique Collection of Restaurants on Nantucket, offering delightful dining options for visitors and residents alike. Our family of restaurants also includes 29 Fair and The Beachside Bistro. Nantucket Town inn guests enjoy priority seating and complimentary door to door jitney service from several of the inns.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh Summer House, I knew You When ...”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Food, very good.
Ambience: very good.
Service: Poor, and slipping every year.
Hate to see such a fantastic place run into the ground. Half full in late July...Why allow folks in for dinner dressed for Disneyland????

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smokey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that your most recent experience didn't meet your expectations. We aim to provide the best quality service to our guests, and we are disappointed to hear that you did not get the attention you deserved. You can be sure that we will take your feedback seriously. We do hope that you'll consider visiting us again. Please e-mail me at manager@thesummerhouse.com - I would like to see to it personally that you have a true Summer House experience for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    28
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Underwhelmed...”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Visited Nantucket for the first time. Decided to have the last dinner of our stay at the Summer House Bistro, expecting we would finish our trip with a bang. We were disappointed.

The setting was beautiful but the food did not live up to expectations. First, the offerings on the menu were fewer than we expected. Earlier in the day, we saw an ad for the Bistro in a travel guide and it had an example menu that was far more interesting than what was presented to us when we arrived. The quality of the food was adequate but by no means impressive. Given the price, I expected to be impressed.

I had the lobster fra diavolo, a default choice since there were no compelling options. Nothing special. When I asked the server to request that it be spiced up a bit more than usual, he brought out 3 bottles of hot sauce, two of which were mexican varieties, really?

Another member of my party had a steak which was adequate, as were the crab cakes another person had. Again, all of the food was ok, but nothing was stellar.

The service was pleasant enough, but a bit unpolished for what this restaurent purports to be. I'm giving the Bistro a poor rating, primarily because nothing (with the possible exception of the view of the ocean) at the Bistro warrants the expense of dining there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NextTimeIll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Park, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“VERY expensive for what you get.........”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Recently had lunch at The Summer House and was not impressed. Wait staff needs an attitude adjustment. A few smiles and"thank you's" would go a long way. There on an extremely hot day and had to virtually beg for water refills. Food is average. The lobster salad tasted like it got help from Mrs. kemp's. Take your money elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanmarie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We apologize that you were not pleased with the service at The Summer House. We pride ourselves on providing impeccable service to our customers, and we are sincerely sorry that your experience did not reflect both your standards and ours. We appreciate that you took the time to give us this valuable feedback. The issues you experienced were certainly unusual and unacceptable. We are always working to improve the guest experience at the restaurant and do hope that you'll consider returning. Please contact us at reservations@thesummerhouse.com and we'll see to it that the experience exceeds your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangeley, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but.....”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We went to the Summer House to celbrate our son's birthday. The food was fine. The service fine. But... we were a party of 8. We ordered cocktails, wine, appetizers, and dinners. the bill was sizable. And yet, they charged us $35 to slice and serve the birthday cake we brought for our son. Maybe a little tacky???

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TessaPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Firstly, thank you for choosing to dine at the Summer House. We strive to provide the best possible dining experience for our customers, and we deeply apologize that you were unnecessarily charged for bringing in your son's birthday cake. We appreciate your feedback greatly, and we hope that this experience will not deter you from visiting us again in the future. Please contact us at reservations@thesummerhouse.com and we'll see to it that your dessert is free of charge during your stay. Contact us at reservations@thesummerhouse.com - just make sure to reference your Tripadvisor account. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tired, old,loud and very expensive”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Wow - what a difference a year makes. It was good last year, not great - but this year it was downright awful. Tables are cramped, food is mediocre but the worst offense was the man at the piano thinking he was Billy Joel sounding more like Gravel Gerty. It was unbearable and literally ruined the evening. It is nice to have some background music when dining but this was ridiculous - and there were patrons who thought they were auditioning for the Voice and American Idol. Ouch. The food was mediocre and the service passable. For these prices I would rather hire a chef to come to my home and cook. Steer clear.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wendytruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SummerHouseMgmt, Manager at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience at the Summer House. We do our best to provide entertainment that pleases our guests, and we certainly don't want the music to negatively interfere with your dining experience! We strive to provide the highest quality cuisine to our customers - we apologize that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We hope that you'll consider coming back so that we can show you the true quality of the Summer House experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Summer House Restaurant also viewed

Nantucket, MA
Siasconset, Nantucket
 
Nantucket, MA
 

Been to The Summer House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing