We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, excellent personal attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bowers House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Somerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent personal attention”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My daughter and I recently stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable and clean, and the personal attention from Stephen really made our stay great. He was ready with restaurant recommendations, directions, and even a complimentary umbrella. We mentioned that we were planning on going to Legoland Discovery Center, so he took it upon himself to find out which was the best way to get there, even the specific bus we needed to take. The house is a short walk from the Davis Square T station, and there are many choices for restaurants (and lots of opportunity for people-watching!). The breakfast was more than a continental, and it included danish, muffins, fruit, oatmeal, bagels, and more. There were even cookies when we arrived. We would absolutely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
42
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights (see Bradford's review). What really worked well for us was that the Bowers House is more of a boarding house than a true B&B. This was perfect for us....we were able to come and go, be with family all day and then return to our clean room with comfy bed, to sleep.

I recommend Bowers House for a great room to sleep in, a place to hang one's hat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeftatHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed three nights and were very pleased. I know we will stay again. None of the local B&Bs accommodate children which for us was great as we left the kids at the grandparents house and took a short walk to our perfectly clean and comfortable room. The king room on the first floor is large and well kept. As other reviews have mentioned, there is a private bath for this room, but you do have to cross the entry hall to access it. This was no problem during our visit, but I would recommend to Steven that providing robes would be a nice touch and help anyone with a concern. Do not let the bathroom put you off of staying here, it was not a problem, plus the bathroom is a good size, very clean, and was perfect for us. The location is ideal for seeing any sights in Boston, the walk to Davis Sq is easy and the 77 bus drops you close as well. When you stay walk up to Davis Sq after dinner and get ice cream at JP Licks, you can usually find some street entertainment there as well. Safe, quiet, clean, and wonderful ... Oh and parking on the street was easy!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradford L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed here two nights - it was a great experience, made all the more so by Christina and Stephen's hospitality. They obviously take great pride in their business, and all the little touches add up to a wonderful stay. The house is a very short walk from Davis Square, which is is delightful in its own right. The house itself is off the main street so it's very quiet and feels secluded which is nice. Christina and Stephen were there every morning to greet me with a spread of continental breakfast and wonderful conversation, which is really the best part of staying in a B&B. My bed was a bit squeaky, not a big deal, but the room itself was immaculate and the bathroom was surprisingly large and also spotless. So, from the location, the room itself, but most of all the hospitality of the owners, I would highly recommend looking into staying at the Bowers House the next time you are in the Boston area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crimsonpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Will stay here again if ever we return to Boston.Great location near Davis Square,and the T.Owners were very friendly and helpful.Wish we could have stayed longer as there is so much to see in the area and the train is easy and convenient.We felt safe at all times and loved the vibe in Boston and especially Davis Square.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Bowers House is just perfect. The owners are very nice and friendly. The room was beautiful, but most important, it was sparkling clean! Breakfast was really good too (pastries, fruit, cereals, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea, etc.). There's space to park outside in the street and the area is very safe and convenient (very close to Davis subway station, to restaurants and bars, theater, etc.). I would go back again. Thank you Christina & Steven!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Bowers House has three rooms. We took two of them. Of the two we took, one was up a very steep flight of stairs, not suitable for older people, but otherwise comfortable. The other had a private bathroom across the hall. Unfortunately, that section of hallway was the intersection for all movement in the building -- the stairs from the upstairs room, the door to the third room, the door to the kitchen, the main entrance door. This room also had the thermostat for the whole B&B meaning that we couldn't control the heat. The location was great, and free on-street parking was a real bonus. The owner was very attentive.

Room Tip: Get the ground floor room with the ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeredithS697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowers_House, Owner at Bowers House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for staying at Bowers House. We appreciate your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed our convenient location, our service and free parking. As previously discussed with you prior to your reservation, there were only 2 rooms available. We informed you about the one flight of stairs to the queen room. Your grandson, a high school student, did stay and enjoyed the room. As for the king room that you stayed, we informed you that the private bathroom is about 2 steps across from your room.

For heating, we mentioned that you're able to control the flow of heat by adjusting or closing the vent in your room. We personally closed the vent in your grandson’s room per his request. Our guests who stayed at both rooms in the past were very happy. Many of our guests told us that they enjoyed the quietness at Bowers House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.3 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowers House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowers House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bowers House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Bowers Ave, Somerville, MA 02144-3002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowers House is a contemporary style, newly renovated, bed and breakfast. We offer free parking, private bathroom, free Wi-Fi, 32" LCD TV with cable, rooms with queen or king size beds, and other amenities. A couple minutes walk to the Davis Square subway station, Bowers House is two stops from Harvard Square, four stops from MIT, and a short commute to downtown Boston, Copley Square, Newbury Street, Symphony Hall, the Theatre District, the North End, and several museums and historical sites. Bowers House is also within walking distance to Tufts University. Bowers House is located in the center of vibrant Davis Square in Somerville, Massachusetts. Davis Square, named one of the fifteen "hippest places to live" in the United States by the Utne Reader in 1997, is home to cafes, restaurants, music clubs, boutiques, theatres, and much more. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Bowers House is your ideal home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing