We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new MA. home away from home!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morrison House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morrison House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Somerville B&B and Inns
Alachua, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My new MA. home away from home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

There are so many positive things to say about Morrison House that I almost don't know where to begin. First off, let me say that from the moment of my arrival, Ron greeted me and made me feel right at home. He is a wonderful host and takes great pride in his business and his home. I arrived in the afternoon and made myself a mug of green tea. I was able to take it up to my room and was provided with a tray. Ron makes it his business to make sure all his guests are comfortable. No amenity is omitted. There are water and wine glasses in each room. Cold water containers are in the fridge,There are french press carafes for easy coffee preparation and breakfast is absolutely exquisite. Linda bakes scones that melt in your mouth and believe me, I had trouble eating just one! The house is very quiet if you need R & R. I I enjoyed the first snowfall of the year and savored every moment. I am a transplanted Floridian so I really savor the snow.. . It snowed all night and that was lovely because I was too pooped to go out anyway. I think that Morrison House is a great value for the money and I give it a perfect TEN!

Room Tip: Every room is fine. I stayed in the small "Bunny Room" as every room has a theme. Shari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicksgirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelGeekBoston, Owner at Morrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Wow, what a warm and thorough review. We hope that we see a lot of you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
23
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

What a nice, warm, and friendly place to stay! Very convenient to Tufts and the T. The house was spotless, and the cat made it so homey. Breakfast was fresh and overly filling. Ron and Linde were very knowledgeable and gave us excellent information. I'd go back in a second.

Room Tip: Ask Ron and Linde, they will make your stay perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet44122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelGeekBoston, Owner at Morrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank-you for the wonderful comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
274 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Somerville is a lovely area. It has a small-town feel, but is very conveniently located for the subway with easy access to the rest of Boston. The Someville Theatre is a short stroll away, as are lots of great bars and restaurants around Davis Square..

I was in a large downstairs room. It was very comfortably furnished. Breakfast is around a communal table, so if you have to be feeling social, but the other guests while I was there were a friendly and chatty bunch, and I actually spent the my last day there wandering around the area with a fellow guest while waited for our planes. We walked over to Tufts University, about 15 minutes' stroll away. They happened to be having an open day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed for one night while the owners were away, and their relatives were stepping in for them. This worked perfectly well. After some trouble with the internet booking (2 nights were booked instead of one), we called and everything was sorted out immediately. We had a nice arrival, the room and the whole place were very cosy and very clean, everything was really well organised. Breakfast was great, it was nice to sit around a big table and chat to the other guests. We also appreciated the free cooled water bottles and the leftover blueberry scones on the table the evening before. The location is quite far out, but just 2 minutes walk from a T-station, so still great for exploring Cambridge and Boston. Wishing we had had time to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuckwithsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelGeekBoston, Owner at Morrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
I'm so glad that my sister and her husband were able to take good care of you while we were on vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondacks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were welcomed by the beautiful garden and then by our hosts. The room and bathroom were spotless and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and we had interesting company to chat with. The library was at the corner. Davis Square was steps away with many choices for shopping and eating. The Red line was convenient and we actually walked back from Cambridge instead of taking the Red line. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelGeekBoston, Owner at Morrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We never saw our hosts. The door was opened for us by another guest, and we were left to find our own way to our room. It was not a welcoming experience. We had no instructions
about where to park, and had to guess at which spot was intended for us and hope that we would not be in anyone's way.

In the morning, despite getting in very late, we hurried to be at breakfast at the specified time, only to find a self-serve breakfast, and a note saying that the hosts were at church. I understand that hosts need to balance their life and their duties as a host, but it seems especially odd to be to be entirely absent on a Sunday morning when you run a bed and breakfast.

Worst of all, there were no place settings left for us at the table at breakfast. We had to search around for plates and glasses, and one of us ended up using a plastic fork and spoon because we couldn't find another clean set of silverware.

We felt as though were crashing at a stranger's empty house, searching around for a place to sleep, rummaging for food and silverware, not having any idea where to get what we needed. I would have preferred a hotel stay if I knew I would neither be hosted nor fed anything more than coffee, boiled eggs and baked goods picked over by other guests.

After our stay, I wrote the host an email expressing my displeasure. The response I received was defensive and unapologetic.They implied their absence was our fault for changing our arrival time. They claimed ignorance about why we had no place settings. They seemed unconcerned about any of my complaints. I never felt the hosts cared about my experience, but they certainly had no problem taking my money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelGeekBoston, Owner at Morrison House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Here is the letter that I emailed to the guest after she sent me her complaint.

Dear xxxxxx,

I'm very sorry that you didn't have the experience here that you were looking for.

We are a very small operation, just my wife and I, and there are times when both of us are out for one reason or another. Saturday evening we were at a friend's birthday party and didn't get home until late. And, both of us have church music gigs on Sunday mornings, so that one day a week breakfast is unhosted.

Why there were no place settings for you, I don't know. It is likely that some of our guests who wrote us a note and said they didn't want breakfast changed their minds and ate anyway.

I believe that you had originally planned to arrive mid-afternoon, and we would have been able to greet you at that time. You did phone, but, as I said, we had an evening engagement. I should have called you back and explained the situation. Please accept my apology for not being as communicative as I should have been.

We are set up for unattended arrivals with a detailed note on the front door about how to let yourselves in, a sign in sheet and a map of the house on the stand as you walk in the front door, both of our cell phone numbers, and an explanation of the features of the house left on the bed.

Again, I'm sorry you didn't have the experience that you wanted, but I hope you can understand our perspective as well.

Sincerely, Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here for a weekend visit to Somerville in March 2012. Morrison House is an easy walk to Davis Square, where there are lots of great restaurants and access to the T if you want to head to Boston or Cambridge. The B&B was immaculate, the room small but very comfortable and the owners friendly and helpful. Breakfast is at a large dining room table where you get a chance to chat with the other folks staying there. The food was great as was the conversation. We will certainly return.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcbmw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.6 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tria
Hotel Tria
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morrison House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 221 Morrison Ave, Somerville, MA 02144-2017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homey, quiet B&B in hip Davis Square, only two minutes walk to the subway. Convenient to Tufts, Harvard, MIT, and the entire metro-Boston area. Big-screen TVs and high-speed computer access included. Continental-plus breakfast with fresh fruit and gourmet coffee/tea. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing