We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love”
Review of Diesel Cafe

Diesel Cafe
Ranked #26 of 307 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: US$1 - US$30
Cuisines: Diner, Cafe
Good for: Romantic
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I do love the Diesel Cafe. I liked it more when they had the chicken salad with the grapes in it, but the current food is just fine. They have different artists' work up, which is great, and a photo booth that works sometimes and a new counter seating area in the back, which is great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LisaD47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great example of a coffee shop”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stopped in to Diesel to pass the time while waiting to go bowling. All we ordered was coffee, but it was delicious! We also played a few games of pool which was conveniently located further back into the building away from the crowd at the front. We noticed that the building is laid out in a way that allows louder groups to congregate near the front and studying and work groups to be in the far back (it is a long narrow shape). Looked like it would be a great place to get some work done!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My go to coffee shop”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Diesel is one of my favorite coffee shops around. The coffee doesn't even compare to others in the area, and I make special trips JUST to get it! May be a little expensive, but believe me, it's worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always crowded...”
Reviewed 8 November 2013


Very good coffee, pastries and sandwiches but it seems like recently I've never been able to find a seat even though it's a huge coffee shop. That's the reason why I stopped going even though I was a big fan.

Try your luck, if you can find a seat , it's a nice local coffee shop, great place to hangout.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Metropolis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn ME
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't miss”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The "hip" factor is an important feature, but there is nothing fussy or quaint at Diesel- just solid good food. Try the lox & bagel platter- amazing. Come early to get a table for brunch- the place crowds up with laptop coffee drinkers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diesel Cafe also viewed

 
Somerville, MA
 

Been to Diesel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing