We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great food and beers”

Orleans Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Orleans Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 307 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Red Line
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always great food and beers”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Been here a few times with the gf and we are in love with this place. Besides the wide selection of beers, the food here is so good. The oysters, nachos, fish and chips, and fish sandwich have all been amazing. The lobster mac and cheese though was ok...It was good but we wished there was some more lobster in it. And the bar is on the smaller side so we have never been able to actually sit down there. We really do like this place and my gf said it has improved in the past year or so.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RIfratboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always crowded i don't know why”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

i've been to this restaurant in the past, maybe 3 years ago or so, and it seems every few years i decide to give it another chance, especially since i walk by it every day and there are always people there. What am i missing? i always think, so i decided to give it another try with my wife.

And i remembered why i don't come here. The hostess was very accommodating and sat us quickly even though it was very busy, but things went downhill from there. My wife asked to return her marguerite due to strange taste, which was met with scorn but eventually done, replaced with wine. Her burger had to be returned as it came to our table underdone, and when returned was overdone. The server hated our table and let us know with service more fit for a self serve gas station. My meal was not objectionable, but not great, either. It's a sports bar, and so is noisy with only average quality food and rushed service.

i won't be back for another few years..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burrlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good to go to between meals”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We went around 4pm so the.only.thing that we couldn't order were the entrees. What is on the menu at that time are the appetizers, Pizzas, burgers and sandwiches. I ordered the house burger med rare and it came out medium which isn't that big of an issue for me. It was amazing, the pinnaple and jalepeno sauce that was on it was great and the meat was nice and jucy together with the iced tea it was the perfect thing for a hot summer afternoon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good place to eat”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

On my own and needing to find a open friendly place for an evening meal the Orleans fitted my needs perfectly. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food well cooked and tasty, the wine from a wide selection just right. The only thing missing was the ability to produce a coffee, just something they do not do. Overall a good place to eat and good selection to pick from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun evening at Orleans with varied dishes”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I took my college age daughter and 2 friends out to dinner at Orleans - and first should say the the total bill for the 4 of us was not too bad, given the appetizers, entrees and drinks we ordered (for those over 21). They offer lots of standard stuff like burgers and pizza, but we went a bit further afield with Baja fish tacos, butternut squash ravioli (very rich and creamy) and Thai chicken wraps. We were seated in a comfortable banquette and it was early, so it wasn't crowded or noisy. Our only hitch in the evening was that one of us ordered something that came with ingredients she was allergic to, but as soon as she realized it, she told the waitress who took it away and let her re-order from the menu. The re-order took a long time...but that is not the restaurant's fault, and they did handle it cheerfully and competently.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orleans Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Orleans Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing