We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Iyo Bistro

Iyo Bistro
Ranked #207 of 304 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Grill, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Somerville's Davis Square, Iyo Bistro is serving up some of the best fresh roasted coffee, pastries, authentic falafel, charcoal grilled plates & sandwiches, and of course, their famous frozen yogurt.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
211 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I was excited to try this place since you can make your own waffle and top it with a choice of many different yogurts and toppings. However, the waffle mix tastes worse than Bisquick and has a real chemical taste. The vanilla yogurt I tried was incredibly sweet with no real taste except sugar. I topped it all with fresh fruit which was, of course, delicious since it was the real thing! So, a great idea, but in need of higher quality ingredients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs work”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

i was hopeful, as i am whenever a new coffeehouse opens, but the coffee here was nothing special, meaning it was as bitter and poor as the stuff over at Diesel. Like drinking catchers mitt runoff. i've come in a few times, and the pastries were old and not very good, when they had them at all. i won't be returning..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burrlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tasty self serv fro-yo”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

In addition to delicious self serv fro-yo with lots of toppings, very nice atmosphere... exposed brick and a gas fireplace in the front area. Romantic, actually, which is not what one expects in a fro-yo shop. Front room is typically filled with college-twenty-somethings on their laptops. If you have a group of kids that want to make a ruckus, there is a back room, with a floor to ceiling chalkboard and colorful chalk to entertain them.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brigit-Saule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Soft-serve yogurt with buffet of toppings all self-serve and weigh it at the end. This place got me through the summer. I'd walk here almost every night for dessert. Now it's winter, and I haven't been as often, but I hear their waffles are amazing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank emmalou812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip!”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

If you're in the Davis Square area you've got to try iYo. For a frozen yogurt shop it has a lot of atmosphere and wifi to boot! It's self serve frozen yogurt with all the decadent toppings you need. Lots of flavors to choose from and the staff is cheery and helpful. I'll be back soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Iyo Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Iyo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing