We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what it is and a useful airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Overall not a bad place a low-mid budget hotel.

It is clean and the wireless internet is free and breakfast adequate as chain hotels go.

The deal for the parking is good. Can leave the car there for $5 a day. Useful and cheap option to stay and park. If were doing an overnight in a hotel before the flight anyway, this options saves you money in not having to pay the high parking fees. Just leave the car for $5 a day (for max of 10 days at this rate) The shuttle will take you to the airport and pick you up to take you back to the car.
This option certainly beats the extortionate rates of other hotels in the Boston and airport area.

Staff a little mediocre, but nothing awful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
There are newer reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 824 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed in La Quinta to enjoy Boston for a few days, but didn't want to spend a fortune on hotels.
Unfortunately, la Quinta is not the best place to explore the city from. There is a shuttle to the nearest MBTA station but only once per hour. Otherwise it's 15 minute walk through an unpleasant area.
The staff is grumpy, the breakfast is 'standard' in a far too small area. Rooms are clean and well equiped, though. So with good managment and a biT more money spend, it has potential but for now, a big disappointment, certainly for the $ 175/185 we spend per night.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fryske67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Utica, New York, USA
1
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Normally stay at the Holiday Inn Somerville. but this time, it was about $100 more than it is usually. We were unaware of this hotel until trying to find something cheaper. For some reason, it never popped up in the usual searches. It turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The room wasn't spacious, but big enough for 2 people and being gone all day, it did the job for sleeping. The bathroom was a little small. Large people might find it an annoyance. The parking lot might be a problem if the hotel is full (I assume you would just spill over to the 99 Restaurant next door). In our room, while the A/C was more than adequate, it seemed to blow on you in bed and if you set the thermostat for fan all the time and then readjusted the temperature, you had to set the fan again. It was just an annoyance. We will definitely stay here again, easy to get to, right off Rt 93 (watch your arrival timing though, traffic can be bad).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Honestly, when my mom chose this location to stay the night before our flight out of Boston Logan Airport I was not very happy. But surprisingly we slept wonderfully in the king suite, the best was extremely comfortable with great bedding and pillows. The decor is dated but it was clean and comfortable. I'm a picky traveler but I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelwTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotels near downtown were just too pricey, so I branched out a bit and stayed in the La Quinta. Actually considering the free parking, nearby restaurant, and reasonable drive to downtown it was a good deal.

The first room I got was really a neat looking room with a well set up desk and a view from 2 corner windows. The windows overlooked a highway, but the noise really wasn't noticeable. However, the air conditioner conked out and after 2 attempts by the staff to fix it we finally convinced the desk clerk that we needed another room. The next room wasn't as interesting as the first, but the air conditioner worked. The decor was pretty new and the room was very clean.

The bed was large and comfortable.

The room was quite bright with large windows and it only took about 2 seconds to figure out the light switches (not always the case).

The workspace/desk was great. lots of outlets and good lamp. when you have 2 phones, a camera, a laptop and an Ipad all of which need to be charged up there is no such thing as too many outlets.

The TV was big and worked well.

The hotel had a little dorm fridge, but it was big enough for a hotel.

Wifi was free and worked OK.

The bathroom was surprisingly small for such a nice room and big hotel, but it was clean and fully functional.

The hotel had a nice breakfast room and surprisingly given the size of the hotel, it wasn't completely packed.

If you are coming to Boston and don't mind a little drive to downtown, this might be a good choice.

Room Tip: we had both our rooms on the 6th floor. quiet and less traffic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaDave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed one night following a long train ride. Though short, the hotel served us fine for the one night

Hotel provides free shuttle on the hour so we took advantage of it both ways - getting picked up from the Subway station and getting dropped off at the airport. Aside from the unwelcoming shuttle driver who picked us up, we had no issues whatsever - shuttle was on time, quick and such a convenience, not to mention cost savings.

After getting in late, we were able to have a reasonable meal at the 99 Restaurant located right across the parking lot.

Room was fine - spacious with 2 queen beds (although a little on the soft side), a fridge, and standard bathroom with sink separate from shower/tub. As the sink area was separate, bathroom could have used more towel racks by the sink. Wifi worked well.

Complimentary breakfast was basic, but enough to start your day. Items included hard boiled eggs, waffles, cereals, breads, yogurt, fresh fruit, and typical beverages (no hot items).

Check in/out was quick and easy with friendly staff. Lobby was clean and welcoming.

For the short period of time we spent at this hotel, it served our needs and was good value, relative to other airport hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreamingBanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Albany, New York, USA
11
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in Sept. 2013; quick check in, very clean halls, and room. The room we had[209] was directly above front door. Heard no noise whatsoever!!! Extremely clean!! Great rate for Mass General patients, great breakfast too!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Boston/Medford
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Boston North
AC Hotel Boston North
#1 of 2 in Medford
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
3.2 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#6 of 20 in Cambridge
127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Address: 23 Cummings Street, Somerville, MA 02145
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range: £86 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Boston Somerville
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
La Quinta Somerville
Somerville La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing