We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice reno work on this older property! Love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The renovation work on this clearly older property is stellar. Super modern fixtures and the tv set up in the room was amazing- a HUGE tv on a full motion mount made our trip very relaxing.I have stayed in many, many 'fancier' hotel chains and this was far better than many rooms I would pay double or triple for. The night auditor that checked us in the middle of the night was very kind and helpful. The room type and location of the room that was requested was exactly what we received. The Bath and Body Works bath products smelled amazing and my husband and I all in all loved our stay here during a stressful relocation process.

As far as negatives, I will say that we had a massive spider dangling over the bed when we walked in- not a huge deal because we caught him but it was unnerving. Additionally the night auditor told us there were ice machines on every floor- but after checking I found them only on odd number floors. The lobby upon check in had some dead crickets and trash on the floor- not exactly the best curb appeal considering how nice the rooms are!

This hotel is worth it, and deserves more respect than a typical Holiday Inn might garner. The management clearly tries very hard to make the property successful and a haven for guests. I would put family or friends here without hesitation, and would welcome a chance to stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors have a sweet view of downtown Boston!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Stormycakes,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed our renovation and had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. I do want to apologize for the couple of hiccups you did experience, a spotless guestroom and knowledgeable staff is our constant goal, and I have shared this with the housekeeping and front office teams for review.
The greatest compliment we can get from any of our guests is to know they will recommend us and come back! Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

The room, was spacious but the soap holder should be install in front of the showel wall not the left side of the of the wall. MY left elbow was hit on that soap holder when I was taking a shower the first day I arrived and I was in pain for more than a day!!


  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Julian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Julian O,
Thank you for your review. I have shared your comments with our Chief Engineer, so that he may look into placement of the soap dishes in our guest rooms. We appreciate you letting us know about this, feedback from our guests is vital so that we may improve. Thank you for staying with us.

Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel to be close to Tufts and because it was a reasonably affordable option. The hotel was typical Holiday Inn. If you are planning to visit Tufts, it is about a 15-20 minute drive away. The immediate neighborhood around the hotel is not inviting, so, you will want to drive if you don't want to eat meals at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50Continental_Drift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hello 50Continental_Drift,
Thank you for sharing with us feedback on your stay with us. We are very close to Tuft's and a great value. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Arrived here having booked two TWIN rooms (two beds per room)- you guessed it, they place us in doubles (one big bed per room). After several rounds of 'musical rooms' we end up with the best they can offer - not nice at all. One of us has to sleep in a 'fold-away' bed, all we get is a pile of sheets placed in the room - we have to make this bed ourselves. Wow.
During the process of looking for twin rooms, the receptionist was one or two notches above outright rude, the process of getting checked-in resembled how I imagine arrivals are in a boot-camp. Not in the least bit (meant to be) pleasant.
Rooms were very noisy - frequently woken up by road noise (mainly trucks).
Tried the restaurant, once - never again. Our daughter (14 at the time) said she preferred to go hungry than to eat whatever it was on her plate. Skipped breakfast here because of that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Nossi,
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for your stay not exceeding your expectations. I will share your comments with our entire team so that we can review and improve based on your feedback. We have completely renovated our restaurant since your stay, and also have a new Chef with some great new menu items.
I do hope when you are back in the Boston area you will give us another try, so we have the opportunity to win you over.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel fulfilled my criteria in choosing a hotel: cleanliness, comfortable bed, indoor pool, reasonable price & free parking. Apparently, this combination is so hard to find in the expensive city of Boston. I am glad to have found this place right outside of Cambridge & will be returning soon. Metro station was just a few blocks away & only 3 stops to the center of Boston. My kids were amazed by the hotel's activity center with a basketball court, billiard, foosball, rock climbing wall & a movie screen; all indoors, next to the swimming pool. I was most impressed by the firm, comfortable beds & room furnishings that resembled a 4-star hotel. The hotel's only restaurant served average food, but the friendly staff & Kids-Eat-Free offer made it a good deal. I had a low expectation out of Holiday Inn in general, but this place deserves high praise.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinWitKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for your great review! We love our hotel, and when guests such as yourself give us such high praise, we are so grateful. I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed our hotel and found out what a gem we are when staying in the Boston area. We look forward to you coming back to visit us again soon!
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My wife booked a room here to celebrate my birthday. We traveled with our 5 year old son. It was am amazing experience.

The manager upgraded us to a suite for my birthday, and also sent up champagne and chocolate. These are touches that simply don't happen in every hotel. I can't thank the staff enough for making the weekend so special.

We have stayed here twice before and enjoyed the convenience that the hotel provides, but the improvements that have been made really put it over the top. My son loved the new sports deck. He could not get enough of the heated pool, rock wall, and basketball court. He wanted to go the pool area as much as he wanted to go into town for the Children's Museum and Aquarium.

The free parking and shuttle service are also a big draw for us. Hotels right in Boston charge so much for parking. This hotel is easy to get to, and has a big parking lot. We took advantage of the shuttle both of the days that we stayed. It was on time and conveniently dropped us at the Aquarium or Quincy Market. We also called for a pickup to bring is back to the hotel. It is an incredibly convenient amenity.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. It will always be our go to place to stay in Boston.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Wtb33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Wtb33,
Thank you for your amazing review! It is truly our pleasure to provide great service to our guests. We were thrilled to help you celebrate your birthday, and we're delighted you had a memorable experience with your family. What an honor for us to be your hotel of choice when visiting Boston--Thank you! We will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The Holiday Inn appeared to be a decent place to stay.

The buffet was horrible although we ordered dessert and it was delicious... no big deal there is plenty of food in the city of Boston.

The shuttle drivers were late every day that we used it... not a huge issue.

HOWEVER, I accidentally left my bathing suit in the bathroom Sunday morning. I called Monday morning. I spoke to the housekeeping manager and she said that the woman who cleaned the room did not find a bathing suit... unacceptable.

I will never stay here again. I'm complaining to everyone that will hear - travelers beware!!!

Room Tip: top floor was quiet 9th floor specifically. Do you really want to stay at a place where your items...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Hello Regine N,

I am so glad we were able to locate your bathing suit from our laundry and return it to to you! We know what it is like when you lose something, and getting it back is priceless, especially a bathing suit. I am sorry it took us a day or so to track it down, and you had to go through a little bit of panic that you had lost it forever. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,026 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill

Address: 30 Washington St, Somerville, MA 02143-4446
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range: £101 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Boston-Bunker Hill is located just 2 miles from downtown Boston and 4 miles from Logan International Airport. Our complimentary parking and scheduled shuttle service to area mass transit sites Sullivan Sq. & Museum of Science as well as Harvard and Kendall Squares in Cambridge, make us an outstanding choice for our guests. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all guest rooms to help keep you connected and informed. Our location is central to: The TD Banknorth Garden, home to the Boston Bruins & Boston Celtics, Boston s historic Freedom Trail, Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox and our many museums makes our location Boston s best choice for value. Easily accessible to all of the area universities & colleges including Harvard, MIT and Tufts. Our hotels central location serves the adjacent communities of Arlington, Charlestown, Chelsea, Everett and Medford. Whether you are traveling on business our leisure, our 184 spacious guest rooms offer the services and amenities to make your stay comfortable. All our well appointed guest rooms feature complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. The associates of the Holiday Inn Boston Somerville look forward to providing our award winning service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
Holiday Inn Somerville
Somerville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing