We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice less expensive "Boston" option” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice less expensive "Boston" option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice Holiday Inn in a northern "suburb" of Boston across the Charles, close to Cambridge. The area surrounding the hotel is a bit seedy. We felt relatively safe walking during the day but definitely did not at night. Not a hotel to stay in if you like to walk to local restaurants or sites...Dunkin Donut and an Asian restaurant across the street. Fortunately there is a restaurant in the hotel. We ate only breakfast which was ok but service was horribly slow and disjointed.
Restaurant also serves as a sports bar with 3 large TV's - looked nice.
Located about 1/4 mile from an orange line T station .... and there are cabs available at the station (which we used at night). The fact it is relatively close to the T makes it a nice choice if you don't want to spend a fortune on a hotel in Boston proper. They advertise a shuttle service to the local area but you have to schedule and they were all booked up while we were there on a weekend. Shuttle is small. WIFI is available but spotty and you have to connect in the lobby. Personnel are nice. Room service was prompt (better than the restaurant). Service excellent - hair dryer not working one morning and repairman was there in less than 5 minutes to fix it.
Rooms are excellent - newly renovated. large, airy, clean, great bathroom and shower - as nice as some of the more high end hotels. Housekeeping very good.
Would recommend if you don't mind using T or taking cabs and are not interested in a hotel with surrounding sites and restaurants. Cabs to Cambridge area or North End run around $10+. Best option from the airport is the Blue T line to the Orange Line.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Indygogo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Indygogo11, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us last month. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our proximity to key area destinations. Also thank you for your feedback about your dining experience in our restaurant. This review will be shared with our team as a service learning opportunity. We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    198
    77
    25
    9
See reviews for
142
97
21
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I had a business meeting in Boston a couple of weeks ago, and had a hotel all set up downtown. When I arrived I realized that I had made a mistake on the dates, and the entire city was sold out. The manager at the hotel spent 20 minutes calling around, and he landed on this Holiday Inn. I'm here to tell you, I could not have been happier that they had a room available, and best of all, they weren't inflating the rate 1000% like all the other hotels. The young lady on the phone was amazing and told me to come on in. I ended up staying for two nights, and found the hotel to be surprisingly nice, with a great staff. I'm in hotel sales and am very objective about what a hotel delivers on, and what they say they are. The room was well done and looked fairly new. I had dinner in the lounge after my arrival and the bartender was wonderful, although clearly he had too much going on and had to run to/from the kitchen often. I would say the hotel is a bit remote, but it's only about 10 minutes to downtown. The only thing I was very concerned about was the internet. As a business person it's so important to have good Wi-Fi and this was not the case. If you need a hotel in this area, you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David52555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are always so pleased to hear when our guests enjoy our hotel, and reading from someone who is in hotel sales, makes it even more special. It is so nice to see you stayed with us two nights. Thank you for staying with us we hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Hotel is satisfactory in all categories, no complains. Room was large and convenient - good quality TV and furniture was very functional. Small refrigerator helps as well. Bathroom OK too. I found it to be a good value as other hotels in Boston are way more expensive. Sure there are better hotels, but comparing to price this is the good bet. I did not use a shuttle to Boston, but is a popular addition to their service. Breakfast was good enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecexo_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear IgorOku,
Thank you for your review. We are a great value when staying in the Boston area, and have some great amenities, like our shuttle and free parking.
Thank you for staying with us, it is greatly appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel met but didn't exceed my expectations. Everything you would expect from the hotel of this kind was there but nothing extra. Reasonably close to the T/Subway, some decent dining options nearby. Would recommend if you need a good and comfortable place for a reasonable price to stay but if you're looking for memorable experience I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Hello Denis L,
Thank you for your review. Although we are pleased you enjoyed your stay over all, we would like to always exceed our guests expectations. If you wouldn't mind contacting me directly at 617 628 1000 whenever you have a minute I would love to hear more about what we could have done to exceed the expectations for your stay. Thank you again for sharing this with us, and thank you for staying with us, it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were looking for a hotel within walking distance of the subway, and found this hotel that was 3 blocks away, and we got a discount as well. The hotel was nice and modern, but wifi was a bit spotty, and the area around the hotel was a little run-down. Once you entered the hotel premises, it was fine. Since we got the room for a much lower price than all other hotels we looked at in the Boston area, plus the room was very nice and clean, and the hotel is very conveniently located for people who don't have a car, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poorni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We are a great location, and very convenient to downtown Boston. We really appreciate you sharing this feedback with us, and for choosing us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Was looking for a place to stay for under $125 before taxes, and found a promotion for this hotel. HIBH was only 5-10 minutes outside the north end of Boston, and the free shuttle service was fantastic and speedy. Cabs from North End after shuttle hours was only about $10 as well. Stayed with one other adult in the standard single King Size bed room. Very spacious and clean! Ceiling to floor windows overlooking Boston. Came with a complimentary breakfast for 2. Service was fine. If another promotion or deal rolls in, will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernest E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Ernest E,
Thank you for your perfect review! We are thrilled you found us to be a deal and met all of your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon.
Thank you for choosing us, it is greatly appreciated. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here one night which was OK. we toured Boston day of and next day so location was good as we had a car. We walked to dinner and I was a little leery of the area and definitely would not walk outside after dark. Rooms were OK but it was hard to get it dark enough inside
Did not eat here as it was overpriced

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We value our guest's feedback. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay and our location was great for touring Boston. You did mention a few items you were not pleased with and we will definitely look into these, and I apologize this was your experience. I hope you will definitely consider us next time you are traveling to the Boston area.
Thank you again for sharing this with us. Enjoy your summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
1.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Address: 30 Washington Street, Somerville, MA 02143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Boston-Bunker Hill is located just 2 miles from downtown Boston and 4 miles from Logan International Airport. Our complimentary parking and scheduled shuttle service to area mass transit sites Sullivan Sq. & Museum of Science as well as Harvard and Kendall Squares in Cambridge, make us an outstanding choice for our guests. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all guest rooms to help keep you connected and informed. Our location is central to: The TD Banknorth Garden, home to the Boston Bruins & Boston Celtics, Boston s historic Freedom Trail, Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox and our many museums makes our location Boston s best choice for value. Easily accessible to all of the area universities & colleges including Harvard, MIT and Tufts. Our hotels central location serves the adjacent communities of Arlington, Charlestown, Chelsea, Everett and Medford. Whether you are traveling on business our leisure, our 184 spacious guest rooms offer the services and amenities to make your stay comfortable. All our well appointed guest rooms feature complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. The associates of the Holiday Inn Boston Somerville look forward to providing our award winning service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
Holiday Inn Somerville
Somerville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing