We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service and convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service and convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This hotel is not anywhere near major attractions in the city of Boston. However, if you are driving to the city, it is a convenient place to stay, because the hotel is a 5-minute walk from the T station, and you can travel easily to the city center from there. The rooms were clean and spacious. But what is outstanding about this hotel is the helpfulness of the staff. I have never experienced the level of personal attention that I received from two members of the desk staff here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajeswari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Rajeswari M, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that our team's service delivery was above your expectations. The hotel is just 3 miles from the major Boston attractions and we have a shuttle to get you there. Please inquire about this complimentary service next time you visit and avoid the traffic and parking fees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    198
    79
    26
    9
See reviews for
142
97
21
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We enjoyed our nights at the hotel, no noise and everything nice and clean. Nice pool area and facilities.

Since the hotel is not near any big road the noise level was at its minimum. Near Bunker Hill and 20 mins by car from everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Fabian R, thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you spent some time in the Sport's Deck and found our location to be quiet. We know navigating the streets can take some time especially when it is rush hour. I just wanted to let you know that we have a free shuttle service for our guests within a 3-mile radius of the hotel so next time you stay let us do the driving for you. We look forward to seeing you again in your travels to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

We enjoyed our stay there. The room was really nice and the bed pretty comfy. We were bummed a bit about the pool closing so early though (10pm). There's a metro station about 10 minutes of walk from the hotel. The neighborhood seems a bit rough, with empty alcohol bottles laying around and stuff, but I never felt in danger at all. The breakfast buffet is worth it, but anyways you won't find a lot of thing around the hotel for breakfast. Basically, it's a nice place to sleep at but there's nothing around of it.

Room Tip: Nothing specific about the room and the overall location of them, to my knowledge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
David C, thank you for the "5-Star" review about your recent stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and spent some time unwinding in our Sport's Deck. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Dover, VT
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked this hotel sight unseen via a different website. I was nervous, especially for the price, but when we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised. The area of town was a little sketchy, but we encountered no problems.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meckle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Meckle75, we really enjoyed reading your review about your recent stay with us. We like that we were able to exceed your expectations when you arrived at our great property. I wanted to let you know that the surrounding area is safe to stroll around and we are excited about the up and coming plans the city has for this side of town. We hope that you come back to see us and look forward to telling you about the future of East Somerville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Very nice room and lobby but like other hotels with full restaurants they won't even throw you a free muffin. Had to find a Dunkin Donuts for something reasonably priced. Not into a 12 dollar breakfast plus a drink and tip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Chief1961 thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate your feedback about our breakfast. Being a full service hotel breakfast is not included in the room rate, however we do offer great package deals that would get you in the restaurant for a great price along with our complimentary lobby coffee. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will look into the great deals we offer when making a return trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, ME, United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We traveled to Boston from Maine with our kids and grandkids for some fun at Legoland, Freedom Walk, etc and chose this hotel to stay in because of it's location to Legoland. When we arrived we were a bit concerned because of its location. The area around it is a bit scary but once inside the lobby was lovely and welcoming, the sleeping rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. The front desk folks where nice and accommodating but didn't offer more than you were asking for. The next morning we went to breakfast at the on-site restaurant. No one greeted us for a while, then someone tossed us in a corner behind a large group which meant a waiter could not see us and it was a while before the coffee came. The food was good but our waitress barely spoke English. The buffet was not offered (though we would not have eaten it if it had). The hotel shuttle took the kids to Legoland and us to the Freedom Walk and it was nice they have this service. Our driver was like a taxi driver in New York. Oh he has a job to do in that traffic. All in all this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Glinys407 thank you for sharing some insights about your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel an took advantage of our shuttle service to get you around. We are going to use your review as a coaching tool for our food and beverage team. We look forward to your return when you come back to the Boston area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Room Type: King plus sofa
Rate Paid: $179 per night
Reason For Stay: Event

Overall Average Score: 8.2/10

Location - 8/10

Close enough to downtown to be convenient, but far enough away to offer free parking and a reasonable rate. Cab service to downtown is $7-$15 depending on traffic. The area around the hotel didn't look spectacular in terms of dining options.

Room Design and Condition - 9/10

The room was very clean, other than an issue with the door mechanism which had a small oil leak that was dripping onto the door and rug. The beds had a headboard with two outlets on each side, much appreciated. Plenty of desk space.

Room Amenities - 6/10

The bed was serviceable. Plenty of towels but not the best in terms of softness. Sheets and duvet are comfortable and clean. Standard toiletries. Medium sized refrigerator. So why a 6? Very possibly the worst wi-fi in a hotel I had ever seen. If you could connect to it, it was horribly slow, to the point where I ended up using my hotspot instead.


Hotel Design and Layout - 8/10

Standard. The outside color scheme is a tad dated (hence my title), but inside is comfortable and roomy.

Amenities - Non Club - 11/10

They redeemed themselves quite a bit from the wifi here. The pool area is exceptionally nice for a Holiday Inn, having not only the pool but game tables, a small rock climbing wall, basketball area and movie screen (Saturday night is complimentary movie night). There are carafe's of infused water in the hallways, a nice if small fitness room as well.

Club Room - NA

Hotel Staff - 7.5/10

Generally speaking, the staff was very good, friendly and professional. Housekeeping did a very good job.

Dining - NA

Comments and Notes:

About my rating system. Points are awarded on a scale of 1-10, where 7.5 is met expectations. Expectations WILL vary based on brand and location, the Waldorf Astoria will be held to a higher standard than a Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loonbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Loonbeam, thank you for the review about your trip to Boston while attending an event. We are pleased to see that our design and facilities met all of your needs. We know how important outlets are to our business travelers so we have placed them in key areas of our guestrooms. The Wifi experience that you had was not the at level we would like to see described in a review so we have implemented a solution to get this fixed so getting some work done and streaming movies will be fast. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerville
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston - Cambridge
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Boston Cambridge
1.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill

Property: Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill
Address: 30 Washington Street, Somerville, MA 02143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel Boston-Bunker Hill is located just 2 miles from downtown Boston and 4 miles from Logan International Airport. Our complimentary parking and scheduled shuttle service to area mass transit sites Sullivan Sq. & Museum of Science as well as Harvard and Kendall Squares in Cambridge, make us an outstanding choice for our guests. We offer complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all guest rooms to help keep you connected and informed. Our location is central to: The TD Banknorth Garden, home to the Boston Bruins & Boston Celtics, Boston s historic Freedom Trail, Fenway Park, home of the Boston Red Sox and our many museums makes our location Boston s best choice for value. Easily accessible to all of the area universities & colleges including Harvard, MIT and Tufts. Our hotels central location serves the adjacent communities of Arlington, Charlestown, Chelsea, Everett and Medford. Whether you are traveling on business our leisure, our 184 spacious guest rooms offer the services and amenities to make your stay comfortable. All our well appointed guest rooms feature complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. The associates of the Holiday Inn Boston Somerville look forward to providing our award winning service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Boston-Bunker Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
Holiday Inn Somerville
Somerville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing