We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“smokehouse indeed”

Little Red Smokehouse
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“smokehouse indeed”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

wow, this is one of the best places I've eaten. The food is freshly prepared and exactly what your looking for if you came for the name. They have pulled pork chili that is super. pulled pork nachos that can be shared with at least 4 people. burgers are incredible. they have a chicken salad sandwich with craisins and nuts that I have a habit of getting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    47
    20
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hingham, MA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“In the land of the blind, the one eyed man is king”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Everything here is Ok. The ribs came out just warm, the collards are sort of bland, the beans and rice were a little over cooked, and the sauce could use some heat. However, much better than any alternative in the area. So, do want Ok barbecue?

Helpful?
1 Thank beeweehingham_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bedford, Massachusetts
1 review
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I drove for almost an hour in the snow hoping to get some good barbecue, What we got was poorly seasoned food that reeked of liquid smoke. My wife liked her cornbread and the poutine I ordered as appetizers were okay. But the rest of the food was lousy. My wife got the St Louis ribs and I got a 3 meat plate of pulled pork, brisket and chicken. Her ribs were tender yet had no seasoning, her mac and cheese had no taste. When I got my plate I couldn't tell the difference between the pulled pork and the brisket, and the chicken was dry. All of our meats had a Styrofoam aftertaste that I attribute to an overuse of liquid smoke. The service was okay as we were rushed in and rushed out in less than 45 minutes. The restrooms were filthy with overflowing trashcans. Needless to say we will not go back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exactly what it sets out to be”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you're looking for fancy waiters and tablecloths, this is not the place you want. But if you're looking for great food at a good price, in a casual atmosphere, the Little Red Smokehouse is it! There's a reason you'll have to wait an hour if you show up at peak times - a wide variety of meats, sauces, and beers, served by courteous, pleasant staff in a convivial atmosphere. It's about a 30 mile drive from our home, but we're still regulars there. Fine for couples, kids, friends... probably not pets, though it can't hurt to ask<g>. Give the 'Smokehouse a try - you won't regret it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larry5b6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Morsel”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We went for lunch & the weekday lunch specials were delish @ a great price. Will have to go back for dinner & drinks. Only wish that there were more options for vegetarians as my daughter does not eat meat & she'd be very limited on choices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulld0g5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Red Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Little Red Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing