We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical day at Magic Wings”

Magic Wings Butterfly Conservatory and Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical day at Magic Wings”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our fourth visit. We took our 92 year old Aunt and the expression on her face when we entered the greenhouse was worth the drive. We picked the perfect afternoon, it was quiet and not too hot. Our aunt said she would like to work there it was so wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    96
    11
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This place is absolutely beautiful and peace full. It was exactly what I expected and more. I dragged along my teenage boys which complained until we went in. They ended up having such a great time and even met girls their age, they talked about the butterflies. The boys enjoyed their visit more then they thought they would, they thanked me for the experience and we did some bonding.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaronsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little tropic in NE”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

My kids LOVE it here! We stop in once a year and have a good time.This time we stoped in the fall and it was so warm.The butterflies are beautiful.We grab a bite at Monarchs-the restraunt-and go to back in for a bit.Of course we'll be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great respite for the winter blues”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is the place to enjoy the winter doldrums. Walk into a tropical paradise. Kids and adults will enjoy. It is a bit pricy, but I think worth the price. We don't eat at the onsite cafe opting for a sandwich at one of the local sub shops.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Truly Butter! A butterfly worth seeing.”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

When you enter the first room, there is a great display of various insects. Some interesting, some yucky. All worth looking at.

Then, you go into a really hot room where the butterflies reside. Also, some there are some turtles. The butterflies are friendly and the various colors confirm that this is a very diverse collection.

It is a little nerve racking to make sure you do not sit on a butterfly on the benches or step on one.

The turtles are curious but do not get too close.

After you are done, you have the feeling of insects crawling on you and if you are visiting Massachusetts in the summer, the good news is you will have more bugs crawling on you once you step outside.

The staff is happy to interact with you and take pictures for you.
The overall visit is peaceful and enjoyable and kids love it.
Wheelchair use is not a problem but you cannot bring strollers in.
Overall, I thought the price was a little high but worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripnexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Wings Butterfly Conservatory and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Magic Wings Butterfly Conservatory and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing