We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loud music and cigarette smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Egremont Village Inn
Reviewed 1 June 2014

At 11:10pm, I finally went downstairs to ask that the loud music playing below our $200 a night room be turned off. When I asked the manager if loud music was typical for a Friday night at the Inn, he responded yes. He then asked me smugly if I wanted him to turn it down. Cigarette smoke came through our windows from below well into the night. Not the quiet nice place it was intended to be for us in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas K, Owner at The Egremont Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Point well taken and thank you for the feedback.
1) We have eliminated smoking by the entrances to the Main Inn and Carriage House.
2) We had a band who was too loud that evening. Most of the time it's just jazz but we made a mistake with that act, ALSO entertainment is moving to the BARN which we are currently getting ready for this season.

If you choose to return you''ll find us smoke free and peaceful.

I'm sorry you had a poor experience and we;d be happy to make it up to you.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Room was lovely, as was the building. At night, though, music is blasted on speakers very loud for a small group of local young people until late and it is impossible to sleep unless you demand that quiet be restored. Staff member in charge became sarcastic and rude when asked to turn down the music. This would be fine in downtown Manhattan or some areas of Brooklyn. If, however, the inn is trying to attract people for a quiet stay in the country, it is simply a bizarre way of running things. I would not recommend this place for anyone who's looking for a peaceful weekend in the Berkshires, until it decides whether its principal business is that of a country inn or a local bar.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Man_Hattan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

How can anyone reach you? I'm local and no one ever answers the phone, I've called a dozen times to book rooms for out of town guests or to ask about the restaurant since it seems you're always changing whether you serve dinner or not Impossible to reach anyone!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Mattie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We just returned from a magnificent weekend in the Berkshires. We stayed at the recently renovated Egremont Village Inn, in Egremont Massachusetts. I will not mention the gleaming hardwood floors, the charming rooms, the game room replete with pool table, chess table, dart board, puzzles and games, the tall pine trees, the sunshine streaming through the windows in the dining room, the New England landscape, the scrumptious food, the beautiful walk past open fields, a tree farm, alpacas and llamas grazing in their coral, the New England homes, in pristine condition going back to the Revolutionary War.

Let’s talk about the innkeeper, Sara Keene and her family. Sara was married to Christopher Keene (1946-1995), longtime conductor of the New York City opera. Christopher’s musical talents have been passed on to his children and grandchildren. There is a Steinway grand in the music room. Every night we were treated to an evening of music, ranging from modern compositions to Christmas carols and sing-along popular music, all professionally executed by spirited and talented musicians. There were piano players, guitarists both in-house and imported. One can’t help but be drawn in to the conviviality and celebratory spirit that permeates the Egremont Village Inn. Think of the Egremont Village Inn not so much as an Inn or a Bed and Breakfast, but rather as a musical spa.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I came up and stayed for a weekend last winter. It was during some of the recent renovations and improvements. The owners were very accommodating. My GF and i had a great stay. The grounds are gorgeous. Can't wait to see what it's like after the reno. Headed up there this weekend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Inn is very pretty and the small room we stayed was cozy, although very small. We have seem to arrive in an unfortunate day, the inauguration of the Inn's restaurant. The owners were still nice, but seemed busy with something else. I had asked if there would be gluten free options available for breakfast and they were nice to buy me some granola, but the breakfast itself was disappointing. I was expecting eggs and something warm (specially after reading the reviews here), but there was just yoghurt, some berries and granola. They didn't have breakfast tea (only the more mild black teas), and this was also a bit disappointing. It wasn't a bad experience at all, but it wasn't fantastic. Also, there is a lot of noise because of the restaurant. They have live music and this goes on directly bellow the rooms, and it seems like the piano is just beside you. By the time we booked, we didn't know there would be a restaurant on site, otherwise we might just have chosen another place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay_Bee_410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick K, Manager at The Egremont Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Jay_Bea_410,
Thank you for visiting us at The Egremont Village Inn,
We do apologize for the circumstances of your most recent stay, and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Please contact me directly when your travels bring you through this way again. Sincerely, Nick K., Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

A wonderful find in a beautiful part of the US. Clean, friendly, inviting with so much to do from the doorstep or to see by just sitting on the porch. Thanks to Sarah, Tom, Gigi, Darden and all staff for their gracious hospitality. Dan & Suzie (plus on on the way!), UK

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Egremont Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Egremont Village Inn

Address: 17 Main St, South Egremont, MA 01258-9717 (Formerly The Weathervane Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Egremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Egremont
Price Range: £100 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Egremont Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as “The Weathervane Inn”, The Egremont Village Inn, a 12 room bed & breakfast, was purchased in 2012 by its current owners, and has been undergoing extensive renovations to restore the property. Currently, a 45-seat restaurant/tavern has been re-opened as part of the Main Inn and the Robbie Burns Pub, last operational in the 1980′s, and with the help of the community, is set to open in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Egremont Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing