We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay and very accommodating staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Egremont Village Inn
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice two-night stay at this Inn. The room was comfortable and spacious. This inn is nothing fancy but we would definitely return as we far prefer this over a chain hotel. The staff was very nice - in fact, they offered to wash and dry my white jeans that had gotten very dirty at a picnic in the rain the night before.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

The Inn was lovely and the interesting family that owns it were welcoming. Our room was teeny, other ones at higher price were more expansive. There is a lovely grand piano in a living room filled with music memorabilia.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandlawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We walked into the room and walked back out and got a refund. The room smelled horrible and was filled with flies and other bugs. One of the worst I have ever seen. We were in room 8, which is not attached to the main inn. The inn keeper told me the room next door had to be "debugged". Not worth the price, and it's in the middle of no where.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JaimeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The building was larger than I expected, but the first room we looked at was small. Fortunately there was another room available that was larger, quite comfortable, and quiet (although we were there when the band was not playing, and that might effect how quite the room would be.) The Breakfast was tasty and well presented. The coffee was good. Common rooms of the inn were quite spacious. The staff was professional, but not particularly friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob5021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Class reunion at Berkshire School, this is often the place to stay, friendly staff, okay breakfast, full bar and while we did not realize this is a music venue, somehow we escaped the music, room was lovely with all toiletries provided

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

At 11:10pm, I finally went downstairs to ask that the loud music playing below our $200 a night room be turned off. When I asked the manager if loud music was typical for a Friday night at the Inn, he responded yes. He then asked me smugly if I wanted him to turn it down. Cigarette smoke came through our windows from below well into the night. Not the quiet nice place it was intended to be for us in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas K, Owner at The Egremont Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2015

Point well taken and thank you for the feedback.
1) We have eliminated smoking by the entrances to the Main Inn and Carriage House.
2) We had a band who was too loud that evening. Most of the time it's just jazz but we made a mistake with that act, ALSO entertainment is moving to the BARN which we are currently getting ready for this season.

If you choose to return you''ll find us smoke free and peaceful.

I'm sorry you had a poor experience and we;d be happy to make it up to you.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Room was lovely, as was the building. At night, though, music is blasted on speakers very loud for a small group of local young people until late and it is impossible to sleep unless you demand that quiet be restored. Staff member in charge became sarcastic and rude when asked to turn down the music. This would be fine in downtown Manhattan or some areas of Brooklyn. If, however, the inn is trying to attract people for a quiet stay in the country, it is simply a bizarre way of running things. I would not recommend this place for anyone who's looking for a peaceful weekend in the Berkshires, until it decides whether its principal business is that of a country inn or a local bar.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Man_Hattan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Egremont
4.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
308 reviews
13.4 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Egremont Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Egremont Village Inn

Address: 17 Main St, South Egremont, MA 01258-9717 (Formerly The Weathervane Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Egremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in South Egremont
Price Range: £105 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Egremont Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as “The Weathervane Inn”, The Egremont Village Inn, a 12 room bed & breakfast, was purchased in 2012 by its current owners, and has been undergoing extensive renovations to restore the property. Currently, a 45-seat restaurant/tavern has been re-opened as part of the Main Inn and the Robbie Burns Pub, last operational in the 1980′s, and with the help of the community, is set to open in 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Egremont Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing