We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old "Mill"arvelous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Mill

Old Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Old "Mill"arvelous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having dined at the Old Mill for over 20 years, I must write to congratulate the owner and host, John, on his continued success in providing a wonderful dining experience in the Berkshire mountains. From the minute you step into this "Old Mill", you are warmly welcomed. Given the no reservation policy, you may find yourself asked to wait in the cozy nook of a bar that adjoins the tavern like restaurant - don't despair, this is also a highlight of the night. The bartender, Adrian, delights with stories and fantastic cocktails - you are almost sorry when your name is called and you have to depart this warm environ in which you've surely made more than one new friend. Stepping into the dining room, the wide plank floors and ochre colored walls invite you in for a comfortable and casual evening. The standard menu fare is certainly not standard in taste and it's further augmented by a listing of specials each eve. You can't go wrong on anything. We had double lamp chops cooked to perfection, filet of sole and a roast duck with a delish cherry complement. Plan now to save room for dessert - the best profiteroles in the Northeast are plated here and if you're more of a straight ice cream type, the coffee ice cream sundae is divine. The crowd is a little on the gray haired side but don't let this sway you away - the spot is terrific and absolutely worth a visit! Plus, Sinatra in the background is a winner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryKay519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    29
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
245 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent food, attentive service in a quiet and pleasant setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Two couples for dinner. Reservations not accepted. We arrived at 6 p.m. (early) on a Monday night. Plenty of room. Seated at a very nice table. About half the tables were occupied when we left after 8 p.m.

Service quick and attentive and pleasant. Water quickly poured. Drink orders taken. Drinks of average size. Three cocktails. All fine. Bread delivered and replaced quickly when requested. Good quality french bread plus ordinary breadsticks. Served with olives and a spread of indeterminate contents -- but good. Not butter. Maybe cheese.

Appetizers were all good. Two had the duck patee -- a mousse texture and loved it. French onion soup was good. So was chopped salad.

Two had veal chops, both cooked as requested. Served over delicious and buttery Yukon Gold potatoes. A pat of herbed button on top of the grilled chops. Very good size chops. Two had liver with bacon and french friends and liked it very much. No desserts. too full.

Restaurant was nicely decorated -- country but not cutesy. Table cloths fresh and pressed. Quiet room which is greatly appreciated. I expect they are very busy at the end of the week and on weekends. Only dinner service. Lunch/brunch discontinued in September 2013. Total bill was $115 per couple including two courses, one drink, tax and tip.

Recommend. We will go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We came here on July 4th, a bit early since they don't take reservations for a party less than 5. The outside is nice, charming, with all the tuberous begonias blooming. We were seated promptly. The seating area was spacious but the atmosphere intimate at the same time. Our appetizers (grilled eggplant & tomato, mussels) and entrees (tuna special and Bombay style jumbo shrimps) were excellent. We did not have dessert since we do not eat dairy products. The courses were served in a timely fashion, not rushed or too slow. The waitress seemed a bit inexperienced but OK and the busboy was actually quite helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
338 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Post Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our Innkeepers recommended this restaurant and we are so happy that they did. A very nice location on the river, very nice menu for food and wine. Very comfortable and one may be seated in a choice of rooms - the smaller one we were in was perfect and one can also request a window overlooking the river.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We travel to the Berkshires frequently to visit family and this is our favorite restaurant. We have been dining at the Old Mill for 30 years. Most recently, we visited on Memorial Day Weekend. Although the restaurant was quite busy with weekenders, graduations, etc. it did not disappoint. We were welcomed warmly by the owners and they were very gracious with our two elderly parents who are over 90 years old and do take time getting settled. Our server was efficient, professional and warm. The food was outstanding, as usual. I had an asparagus appetizer that was superb. Both my husband and I had the short ribs which was a "special" and it was just that, extra special. Everyone at our table had a different dessert and they were all fantastic. We had a glass of the featured Tuscan wine for $10 a glass. I was a generous pour and the wine was outstanding. I can't wait to return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paintermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mill also viewed

 

Been to Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing