We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handkerchief Shoals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Handkerchief Shoals Motel is one of the cleanest places we have stayed on the Cape. We stayed for 2 nights from July 24th til the 26th. The managers were very friendly and helpful. The room is a good size compared to some other motels on the Cape, although the bathroom is a little small, but overall the place is really a great place to stay. The managers even let our grandkids who live in Harwich come and use the pool with us. Could not have asked for more. With our grandkids living in Harwich we will stay there every time we come to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 140john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    93
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
101
95
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We chose this Inn because it is dog friendly. There's lots of space outside to play ball with our golden retriever. Our room is spacious and very clean and well kept. Handkerchief Shoals Inn looks like a standard motel, but it's truly a cut above. We are all very satisfied after a lovely visit today to Nantucket.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Located in Harwichport and convenient to Chatham and Orleans this is a no frills but very nice place to stay. The managing couple are pleasant and helpful and the room I stayed in was immaculate.
This was a a return visit and I will go back again the next time I am on Cape.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynguy34433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The owners could not have been more pleasant. The room was spotless and decorated with charm. Location is perfect. Will return for sure. The bed was a little hard for me but something I could overcome for a few days. Great Coffee and continental breakfast considering they do not have a kith hen. Loved the apple muffins. Pool was really nice and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

These owners should put on a clinic on how to run a motel. Friendly and professional - personable, without 'Groundhog Day' in your face B&B style. Nothing new or fancy to be seen (though they did have flatscreens), but immaculately maintained rooms, grounds and pool. Set below the road so no road noise and convienent access to beach (10 min walk without a lot of gear). Location also avoids some of the snarling traffic seen in spots on 28. Nice little picnic area on site and better breakfast than average continental. What more could you want at this price point? Hate to write such a positive review because I hope there's always availability for us, but felt we owed to the owners since TA probably drives some business for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

It was very clean and the owners were very friendly. We were going to the drive in movie in Wellfleet and they loaned us chairs. It was a great help since there were 4 of us. The location is great as well. It was very close to so many places we wanted to see

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is a typical motel on Rt 28. The location is not scenic, or particularly attractive so it's a place to sleep. There is a refrigerator, microwave in room, and a flat screen tv. Also, free internet.
The continental breakfast is coffee and packaged foods such as cereal, yogurt, prepackaged muffins, bagels and danish. Something fresh would have been welcome. Also, there's no seating for the breakfast, just get your food and leave. The room was clean, and there were sufficient towels. The mattress and pillows were not super comfortable though, and the AC barely kept up with the heat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Harwich
4.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
3.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
11.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handkerchief Shoals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handkerchief Shoals Inn

Property: Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Address: 888 Route 28, MA, South Harwich, Harwich, MA 02661
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > South Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Handkerchief Shoals Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are nicely appointed offering clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value. Free parking outside your room and breakfast included. The property offers a large outdoor swimming pool and cook out area with picnic benches and grills. Red River Beach is waking distance from the Inn just across the road down Deep Hole Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Handkerchief Shoals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handkerchief Shoals Hotel South Harwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing