We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“INFESTED with Earwig Bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“INFESTED with Earwig Bugs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our bathroom was infested with earwigs! They're brown bugs, about one inch long, with antennas, and look sort of like ants, except that they have large pincers on their end. A quick Google search told me they are mostly nocturnal, which explained why we saw only one or two during the day, and well over a dozen at night. They also apparently like damp, wet places, which is probably why they seemed to love our bathroom so much. So every time one of us would walk into the bathroom, you'd have to check for earwigs first. And they were everywhere: on the floor, on the walls, on the door, climbing up the sink, in the bath tub. The last morning I even found one on my washcloth and another in a bath towel. Ick! It ruined my entire stay at this motel! I mean, who wants to sit on the toilet, wondering when the next bug with pincers on its butt is gonna come out from hiding? There were just way too many of them. Every time we found one, we'd flush it down the toilet, only to find a few more of its friends the next time we were in the bathroom. Since these bugs are nocturnal, perhaps the staff is unaware how bad the infestation really is, or that there is one at all.

I was also concerned by the hole in the wall I found hidden behind the night stand. The hole had a bunch of wires sticking out if it, and the wires appeared frayed and damaged. Looked like a fire or electricuation hazard. Which was unnerving seeing as my bed sheets were only six inches away from these wires. And if a young child was in the room, it would be very easy for them to stick their little hand behind the nightstand and touch the wires. Not safe!

The bed was very uncomfortable and lumpy, as were the pillows. The towels were as dry as sandpaper, so consider bringing your own. Also, there was not enough room on the towel racks for the towels to dry, so they would always be damp the next morning. (Perhaps contributing to the earwig problem?)

The metal around the mirror in the bathroom as well as the shower curtain rod both had rust on them. That also really concerned me. Rust in a hotel room is simply not acceptable!

To the housekeepers' credit, the room was very clean. Well vacuumed, and the refridgerator and microwave were spotless. I felt comfortable using them.

They did have a pool, which we wanted to use one night when we came home around 7:30, but unfortunately we found the pool already locked, even though there was still a good hour or two of daylight left that we would have liked to enjoy outside.

To their credit, the owners were friendly, and this hotel was much cheaper than most others on the Cape. It is also in a good location. But between the earwig infestation, the hole in the wall with the wires sticking out, and the rust in the bathroom, I won't be back. And I definitely wouldn't recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riri228, General Manager at Handkerchief Shoals Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear A.S.
It would have been nice of you to inform us of your concerns while you were here at Handkerchief Shoals.
We believe you may have had one or two earwigs in your room during your stay, earwigs are highly unlikely to "infest" any indoor location. Earwigs love living in the dark moist area of the woods and plants which surrounds our property and usually only try to venture inside on occasion when outside conditions are unusually harsh. They are attracted at night by light however and may have been attracted to your bathroom light, but that in no way would mean this hotel is infested. That's just a mean thing to so wildly proclaim on an internet review. Wouldn't you think another guest would have mentioned it in all the preceding reviews? You were here for 3 days and did not mention a thing to anyone. We would have gladly moved you to another room while we investigated your concerns. No other guest from any other room has ever mentioned so much as even seeing an earwig and I'm sure you were not the only guest up at night.
As for the wires, they were from the old hotel phone system and we were unaware that a previous guest had pulled the plate out of the wall leaving the phone wires exposed. It is being fixed today.
We know that not all of our rooms are perfect yet, but we are constantly upgrading and repairing any problem we find because we truly care about giving everyone a clean and comfortable stay.
Thanks for mentioning the cleanliness of the room but we really wish you had expressed your other concerns to us while you were here. That's when we could have made your stay much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    94
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
96
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked two rooms for two nights while in Cape Cod to attend a wedding. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Checking in/out was easy and convenient. t's a great, affordable place to stay when visiting Cape Cod.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed in mid April with my kids, the rooms were spotlessly clean. Room's had a mini fridge and microwave very convenient when traveling with children. Very accesible, close to restaurants. The hotel is very well kept and definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 16 or 15 they connect, great for families and are kind of separate from the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Sparkling clean room, no complaints what so ever. Brand new bathroom was very nicely done, all amenities at finger tips-nice towels. Even had an ironing board and iron! Good size room, we stayed in a queen room. Owners very nice and helpful. We will definitely come again. Perfect location to be on the Cape, close to restaurants and beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AR D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in mid-May at the Handkerchief Shoals. Though the motel was only at about 50% capacity when we were there it was noticeably quiet and the grounds were gorgeous. The pool looked nice (too cold for us to swim) and they are very close to a beautiful beach down the end of Deep Hole Road.

In the room the bed was great, the TV had plenty of channels, and everything was very clean. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raftman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

AnnejMarie and Joe are great people and a great management team. Some of the bathrooms have been updated on the left side of the building very nicely I may say. Always clean and quiet and nearby all our attractions. Always accommodating to our needs. What else can I say! Try it you'll like it. But remember its a motel not a hotel!

Room Tip: My sister and I go for girls weekend so kids activities don't apply. No restaurant on the premi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
786 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a great place to stay. Our room was immaculate as was the bath. I always try to inspect a room before checking in and I was immediately impressed with the appearance of the room. There was a large flat screen tv, a microwave and refrigerator. I have a bad back so I really appreciated the very comfortable beds. Stay here and you'll be so glad you did. I would go back here again and have recommended it already to friends who will be going to the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaragwen270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Harwich
3.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
4.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handkerchief Shoals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handkerchief Shoals Inn

Property: Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Address: 888 Route 28, MA, South Harwich, Harwich, MA 02661
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > South Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Handkerchief Shoals Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are nicely appointed offering clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value. Free parking outside your room and breakfast included in high season. The property offers a large outdoor swimming pool and cook out area with picnic benches and grills. Red River Beach is waking distance from the Inn just across the road down Deep Hole Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Handkerchief Shoals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handkerchief Shoals Hotel South Harwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing