We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, friendly staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean room, friendly staff, great location”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We recently enjoyed a three night stay and found the owner to be very friendly and helpful with many suggestions of things to see and do in the area. The rooms are not fancy but they are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The pool and grounds with picnic tables are lovely and perfect for a family get away.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdhamilton23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    94
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
102
96
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I have just returned from spending three lovely nights at Handkerchief Shoals Inn. In a word: Excellent! Super clean room, reliable housekeeping, nice pool, picnic area, nice continental breakfast, quiet location a few minutes' drive from everything the Cape has to offer. Quick walk to lovely Red River Beach. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Coffee in the room was a nice touch. Looking forward to returning in the fall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quiet and near the breakfast room & picnic areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Spotless, updated, spacious, awesome king sized bed, complimentary light breakfast, good location, nice owners. Nothing fancy but very clean and reasonable. Very close to Harwichport, which is adorable and the nearby beach is very nice as well. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathpetk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a large group so we had two rooms. The rooms were clean as well as the rest of the motel. The pool was perfect for all ages. Breakfast was fine although nothing hot- bagels, yogurt, pastries etc. It was not a place where you could hang out for an afternoon but certainly somewhere that we enjoyed taking a short break during the day. It had a convenient location right on route 28 but was still nice and quiet. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eoin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my children after seeing TripAdvisor reviews, which are spot on. Clean, quiet and family friendly. Nice pool, too. For budget-minded traveler, this is a great value. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on next trip to the Cape.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank hojmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great location In middle of mid-cape on Nantucket Sound on a less traveled part of Route 28, conveniently located between Harwichport and Chatham. A really clean, old-school motel, the kind I remember as a kid before everything became a corporate chain. Rooms were spotlessly made up every morning; each one has its own air-conditioning unit; Red River Beach is 1/2 mile walk away and free to visitors (provided you walk on and don't drive); water is like 75 degrees on the sound (as opposed to 55 at Wellfleet!!!); pool is equally well-maintained and goes 9 feet deep, great for real swimming. My 12 year old daughter loved it. If you're a family on a budget, you can do no better than this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueR62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This is a well run, very clean family motel. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms, which was great, and looked very new. There is a nice pool there, and the place is located a short walk from Red River Beach, a long, clean, beautiful stretch of beach. Located close to Cape attractions, restaurants, and bike paths. Continental breakfast is a nice touch too, and the maid service excellent. All was good here

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank beak49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Harwich
3.8 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
4.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handkerchief Shoals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handkerchief Shoals Inn

Property: Handkerchief Shoals Inn
Address: 888 Route 28, MA, South Harwich, Harwich, MA 02661
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > South Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Handkerchief Shoals Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are nicely appointed offering clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value. Free parking outside your room and breakfast included in high season. The property offers a large outdoor swimming pool and cook out area with picnic benches and grills. Red River Beach is waking distance from the Inn just across the road down Deep Hole Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Handkerchief Shoals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handkerchief Shoals Hotel South Harwich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing