We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed for one night at this location. The rooms are all close to the beach most of them with ocean views. The room was clean and updated. The place is overpriced simply because it right at the beach. Although the water is not that great. In my opinion, Cape Cod is an over priced destination. It is worth visiting and seeing but I would not save money all year to go there.
The staff at the location was great, they work very hard and are very helpful.
We used the outdoor and indoor pool and they always brought towels and any thing we need.
I would go back again at the right and lower price rate but I would certainly want to try others in different areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AcoCMHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

I was a little worried after reading some negative reviews here. We stayed for 4 nights with our three kids and really enjoyed our experience. The checkin process was fine, the front desk people the whole time we were there were very nice and helpful. The room was a courtyard loft and very clean and spacious. It did not seem worn or dated at all. Both TV's were flat screens. We definitely used the mini fridge and microwave alot. The "maids" were all young guys from (Turkey?) i think on student/work programs. They were always knocking on the door at about 9:30 ready to clean and service the room. They did a nice job. The indoor pool was a big hit with my kids when they had too much of the sun. The beach was nice too...never enough lounge chairs but what can you do...some people get out there ridiculously early and save them. Overall we had a great time at this property and would definitely come back for a vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Third time at this motel. It is right on the beach so that is great. When checking in had to wait for room to be ready. Was given last room next to street. Long walk to beach etc and I am not a spring chicken. Typically had to drive my car to other end of parking lot to haul my beach chair and umbrella to beach. Could just as well to thene to public beach parking lot to do that. Room was clean and it looked like a handicap room as bathroom was very large. Beds are very comfortable, but the price was reasonable in June... looked at booking again for July or August but price was too high.

Overall an okay place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a room close to beach if you are not able bodied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachLover29517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend booked this place for a girls weekend because it was right on the beach. All rooms are accessed through the outside, so you do not go through a lobby or hallways to get to your room, you park and then go to your door/room. We got a room with 2 beds for 4 girls. The room wasn't super large, but it was comfortable. There was a small little kitchen area with a refrigerator, microwave and sink when you walk in. A table and two beds with a good size closet. The bedding was nice, the bed was a bit hard though. The bathroom wasn't large, but I thought it was a good size. The sink vanity though was very tall, when you are petite and trying to brush and wash your face on your tippy toes was a bit awkward. But overall it wasn't bad. The room looked pretty clean too. Everything seemed to be updated too. There is no food, restaurant at the hotel.

There is an indoor pool and also an outdoor pool with a hot tub. The pool area was nice and they have towels there. The beach is right there next to the pool and the hotel provides some chairs. Get there early though, because by 10am the chairs are gone. It was nice that the beach was close and convenient. The area goes, private, public, private, public beach. Since there are some other hotels around and beach houses. The beach water was very warm around 74 in August. There were lots of shells on the beach and horseshoe crabs and you can walk in either direction down the beach and walk on the jetties. I didn't have much interaction with the staff, but they didn't seem bad and gave us extra towels when we asked.

There was one restaurant that we went to that we walked to from the Hotels called Skippy's wasn't bad. We sat at the bar, there is an upstairs and downstairs and there is an enclosed deck eating area.

If you want to get breakfast or do anything you will have to drive or get a cab. We went to Hyannis in a cab and including it tip it was $20. I liked the shpping area a lot in Hyannis and wished I had more time there, lots of places to eat there and hang out, drink, shop, etc. Route 28 for Yarmouth had mini golf and some shops too, but it's more of a drive there strip rather than park and walk.

Overall the stay was nice and I liked the area a lot. You are paying for the beach location. I did like the bedding, they had those down like comforters, I cannot stand the old school quilt like comforters so that was nice. The AC is a bit noisy, but it wasn't so awful I couldn't stay there.

Room Tip: The hotel is two floors so if you are worried about heavy walkers or kids banging, you may want to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyT148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here first week of August. Pulling up, location looked great. We had a loft suite but it was not ready at the check in time. Only had to wait 20 mins. So not too bad. First issue was garbage in bathroom was not emptied before we checked in. The outdoor pool right at the beach was nice but there were a lot of families, so didn't get to use it. If you want to get the lawn chairs for the beach, be there early. We were able to get 2 chairs at 9am, but by 10ish, all were in use. By end of our stay, we started to notice a few things. Light above kitchen did not work. TV was aggravating to work - TV would turn on but the cable would shut off and vice versa. Our last night there, we got back to our room late so no one was in the office to tell them that we had no toilet paper, and the holder came right off vanity. Also, be prepared to have a hold on your credit card for each night you are there. Waiting to see how long the hold will take to be released. I called the manager, but still waiting for a call back. Everyone seems to be complaining about the cleaning staff. Have to agree, we saw the same hair tie on the same stairs the whole stay. And one more thing, if you are on the 2nd floor, be prepared, there are no elevators. Need to carry luggage up.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gracie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

After saving all year to visit the Cape, we booked our room at Ocean Mist which advertised itself as a luxurious hotel at $ 385.00 a night. What a nightmare this turned out to be. This is just a quick list of all the terrible things we experienced, and no manager on duty to correct anything: no air conditioning in suite room, no wifi, very few tv channels, wallpaper coming off wall, bugs, toilet back logged, soiled pillow case, housekeeping did not remove trash, bathroom not cleaned, rusty coat hangers, clock didn't work, phone didn't work, the door did not lock, pool was closed, pull out bed had old sheets on it when pulled out, rail in bathroom broke..... This hotel looks good from the outside and on the Internet, but once inside it is a nightmare. Worst of all there was no manager on duty to fix anything and the hotel is run by a bunch of middle eastern young men that come over for the summer, and do not speak English. Save your money and stay at one of the more reasonably priced places on the cape.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Johanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed six nights in July. We had the loft suit. I agree with another poster that the cleaning staff is either not experienced and/or understaffed. Check in time was 2 hrs late. The reason given was due to "inspection". Our room was not very clean. Rugs were visibly dirty, the air grates had "fur" on them, the curtains on the slider were broker, hole in screen door, and the pull out couch bed sheets were not cleaned (used kleenex and stickers in it). Through out the week our room was inconsistently cleaned. Some days we would come back in late afternoon and the beds were not made and trash not disposed of. However the location is great, my daughters loved the indoor / outdoor pools. Come prepared the kitchen is bare bones - no pots/pans, dish ware, utensils, toaster, etc. Check in desk person was going "take care of us" at check out due to the late first check in. We could not be more disappointed with the response. There was no note for our original issue, they took a few bucks off, but said the manager would call us. They never did. In fact I don't think the manager was ever on site the whole time we there. At least it didn't feel like it. Would we recommend to our friends/family? Where the location is beautiful we'd recommend to check future reviews to see if service and management has stepped up its game.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
623 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
404 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Address: 97 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5148
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#7 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £96 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites in the heart of Cape Cod is located directly on Nantucket Sound with 300 feet of private sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views. Convenient to area restaurants, outlet shopping, specialty stores, historical sites, legendary antique shops, art galleries, and numerous outdoor activities such as golfing, deep sea fishing and biking, this oceanfront resort offers everything you will need for the perfect Cape Cod getaway vacation. The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel and Suites has reopened following a multi-million dollar renovation. All areas of the hotel will be completely renovated and updated to incorporate luxurious furnishings and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing