We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkers River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkers River Resort
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

After reading some of the nastiest reviews about this place i was almost tempted to cancel my trip to Cape Cod, only to get there and realize that some people have nothing better to do then be horrible to others...we we're so well treated, it's super clean and our families had an amazing time, and yes it's not the biggest rooms, but super cozy! we will return again for sure...

Room Tip: If familly trip ask for suite or double bed room, for more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csilveira72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
957MichaelF957, General Manager at Parkers River Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank yiu very much. We are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    15
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and I were travelling to the Cape for a family reunion. I couldn't find a room in our usual hotels. I read the reviews on here and thought that overall they were good reviews so I was excited to try somewhere new. My husband was not so excited. My first clue that should have warned me was that when I called for a reservation, the owner offered us a $20 discount if we paid cash upon check-in instead of charging it to my credit card.

We got to the hotel and paid our bill. We received our keys and the guy behind the desk kept talking about his "boss" who was the owner. I later found out that he was actually the owner. He told us that we got a great room. We got into the room and the broken air conditioner in the wall and a window AC that also didn't work. It was blowing warm air. We left to get a bite to eat and when we came back, the room was still warm. It was actually cooler outside even though the outside temperature was 96 degrees. I went to the office where the owner was checking in another couple. At the end of the cash transaction, I realized that he charged the couple $105 for what I was told was the same type of room. Once the couple was out of the office, I told the owner that the AC did't work and he said he'd be right over to check it out. He came over an hour later and said the only thing he could do was offer us a fan to blow the warm air around. There was no other room he could move us into since there was no vacancy. We tried to find another hotel, but couldn't so we were stuck there.

On another note, the room was too small for the furniture. The bureau had five drawers. The top one wouldn't close becuase the weight of the TV made the top bow and prevented to door from shutting (cheap furniture) and the others wouldn't open because they were wedged between the couch and a bedside table.

All in all, a bad stay. This hotel is definitely off my list.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here in July based on the other high reviews, but it certainly fell well short of our expectations. Stayed in a queen sized room. Tried to pull out the couch, but the room was so small it wouldn't even extend all the way out, before it hit the queen size bed, which made the pull out useless. The one section we were able to pull out was full of crumbs inside of the vouch making it pretty obvious that the couch nor the sheets had been cleaned in a very long time. There is a grassy area with lounge chairs, but everything there is cheap Christmas Tree shop plastic patio furniture and the place seems to cater to alot of long-term stays, almost all of whom are smokers. No fitness center, no outdoor pool, no flat screen tvs. Overall it was a pretty terrible experience, my wife and I will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilroy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
957MichaelF957, General Manager at Parkers River Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
We sincerely apologize that you found your visit disappointing. We keep our housekeeping to the highest standards, so we are not sure where you encountered crumbs. The outside patio furniture is comparable to any found at motels in our area. Our website does not advertise that we have an outdoor pool, fitness center or flat screen TV's.
We hope you retur to experience the simplicity and warmth of Parkers River Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Small, charming and Cozy place, with indoor heated pool and hot tub, which my kids loved. Plus fenced in grass area and barbecue grills. As if not enough, it is just about a mile away from the beach. We got it all for an affordable price, and it was worth every penny spent. We definetely want to go back.

Room Tip: Enjoy this summer at Parkers River Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
957MichaelF957, General Manager at Parkers River Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you for words. We are happy to know that you have a such nice time with us. We will be honored to have you again in our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We found the quality of service starting with the staff when we checked in, to meeting all of our needs through our stay up to our departure a superior effort by all. The central location allows easy and close access to everything the cape has to offer or just stay put and enjoy the indoor heated swimming pool, hot tub and fenced in picnic area. We plan to revisit the cape cod area several more times this year and will come back here to enjoy the people and place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
957MichaelF957, General Manager at Parkers River Resort, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you! We would love to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
246 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed here mostly because of the 9 previous excellent reviews. Were quite disappointed. Our room was clean, but smelled markedly of mildew and the plastic air freshener left on the table between the beds. There were no drawers, no luggage racks, and no place to open or luggage except on the beds. One of us used the armoire and single shelf therein, and the other used the kitchenette counter and cupboards. There was a small fridge, a microwave, and a coffemaker, which would be handy, but had we used them, we would have had to move luggage every time. There was a small table and two chairs jammed between the foot of one bed and the wall adjacent to the bathroom door, not wide enough to use for luggage, but OK for maps, books, and so forth. Otherwise, our double room was entirely taken up by the beds, with only about a foot on either side.

The mattresses were OK, but far from especially comfy. If the sheets were Egyptian cotton, it was in the archeological sense only -thin and flimsy, like the pillows. The manager did provide extra pillows when asked.

The bathroom was clean and the towels thick and soft. The shower had plenty of pressure and hot water, but the drain didn't work well, leading to ankle deep water. The bathroom sink plug was broken, and the metal part was left on the sink. There was no shelf or ledge for toiletries at all - the closed toilet lid served.

Housekeeping was marginal. We had to ask for plastic glasses for the bathroom when we got there.The tub was never rinsed out - leaving more hairy scum every day, due to the horrible drain. Soap scum on the sink was never cleaned. The towels were replaced every day, even though we hung them up as directed to save on wash. On our last night there, we came back to our room to find that it had never been cleaned or made up at all. The manager apologized, but that was it.

Bring your own shampoo - they provide the cheapest, harshest, most heinously perfumed variety. There is no clock or ice bucket in the room, and the lighting is either dim bedside lamps or glaring track lighting.

There is free WiFi "in the lobby," but there is no lobby - only the tiny office, where they apparently sometimes have breakfast, but it was always locked when we were there. If the weather is good, you can sit on a bench at the edge of the driveway, but if not, you have to sit in your car.

Captain Parker's Pub, just up the road, has excellent food, and the chowder is indeed fabulous. Cape Cod Creamery has wonderful ice cream. The Pancake Man has good breakfasts, as does Bonatt's in Harwichport.

If you are going to the beaches, you'd be better off to stay in Brewster or Easthan - less driving. We didn't find this place "cute," "charming," or "adorable," but rather cramped and drab - not a resort in any sense of the word.

Room Tip: Choose another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travveller95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This was a great place to stay on Cape Cod. It's centrally located on the cape, so it isn't too far to anything the cape has to offer. There were three beaches just minutes from the resort. The manager and owner made us feel very welcome. They were both helpful as we planned our itinerary each day. My kids, age 10 and 13, LOVED the very large enclosed pool. We all enjoyed the hot tub and fenced-in picnic area. We stayed in unit 18 which had a full kitchen. It had been recently renovated and was very clean. We stayed in four different hotels/resorts while in the Cape Cod/Boston area, and this was our favorite.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth86L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.3 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkers River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkers River Resort

Property: Parkers River Resort
Address: 759 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkers River Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Parkers River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkers River Resort South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing