We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden jewel”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Im not sure where Eliza M stayed but it certainly didn't sound like the same place that we stayed!! Pool,sheets, blanket, pillows etc. Were all very clean and smelled fine. Great view of ocean all the way around to smugglers beach from second floor balcony( room 17) plus the pool if you want to keep a half an eye on the kids. Kuerig single serve coffee maker in room with two regular and two decaf k cups each day! Microwave/ refrig combo unit tucked away nicely in one side if closet. Only con we could find was the in and out slow speed wifi. Basic "no frills" with a great location at a great price!! See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petroe1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    43
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
68
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The room was very dated and smelled of urine but I wasn't sure if this had to do with all the humidity or not. It was cleaned very well each day. The carpet always felt slightly moist. The property itself is in a nice spot. Beach right there, lounge chairs looking at the ocean. The pool was clean and maintained and the shuffle board court was used by my kids every day. But I definitely would not return. The room itself was depressing.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 7 - yuck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLoPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Dirty pool, very dirty pillows, you can smell blankets are not washed very often. Our son got a very bad rash on his head and face. When I took the pillowcase off to check, why our son woke up with rash, the pillow was terrible dirty.
Never ever again, don't go there. Is like putting your money in the trash.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELIZA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We spent 2 great nights at the Surfcomber in early June. Because it was still off season we were able to get a bargain rate on an ocean view efficiency. It had 2 queen beds, a little separate kitchen, a dining table and chairs, a bath with a tub/shower, and a dressing area with a large sink cabinet and closet area. We loved the second floor location which gave us a great view of the ocean. Outside our door there was a little table and 2 chairs, where we had our morning coffee. When we arrived, it was early and our room wasn't ready for us. No problem, it was sunny so we just relaxed on the cushiony chaises that faced the beach. For dinner we simply walked down the road to the Skipper Restaurant and Chowder House. The room was very comfortable. There was a slight musty smell, but once the windows were open, it went away. The shower had great water pressure. We didn't cook in the kitchen but it was handy for making breakfast and coffee and keeping our beverages cold. We slept well - no noise except for the sound of the surf. The only negatives the room decor was dated including the bedding and furniture. The musty smell was inside the dresser drawers and ended up on my clothes. But all very minor. We will be going back in Sept.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrippinAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here this past week. Every room has a beautiful view. No complaints when you fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. The grounds are impeccably maintained! Perfect for children to run and play! There are so many options for rooms too. Incredible, attentive, and helpful staff and management. You can tell everyone loves where they work. We will defiantly be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StacyMenhennitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our extended family of nine members stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend...in three rooms. We had six adults and three little children. We had an efficiency and coffee was not included in the kitchen. The other rooms, much less expensive, had coffee included in the rooms. Regular coffee is available in the office...not decaf. The location is wonderful...on the beach, and the rooms are spotless. The only problem we had was the outside temperatures at night dipped into the high 30's and 40's and there is no heat in the rooms. We were freezing. It was their first weekend open and during the summer months the cold weather does not pose a problem. Overall we had a terrific weekend without a speck of sun in the sky until we were leaving on Monday! We made lemonade from the lemons:)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaretl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, NH
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here for the second year in a row. We love this place. Nothing fancy but it's clean, the staff is very friendly and the view is incredible. The beach is literally right there at your doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EXLUNCHLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
591 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
388 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Property: Surfcomber on the Ocean
Address: 107 S Shore Dr, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfcomber on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing