We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant property on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 November 2013

In a "late season" visit to the Cape - we got to stay here in the last week before they closed for the season. Very few people were staying here, so it was very quiet. Lovely grounds which were still being cared for while we were there. Had an ocean facing room on the 2nd floor with a nice sized balcony. Room was comfortable, as were the beds. Office staff were extremely accomodating. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PK12033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Although we had cool and rainy weather, we enjoyed walking the beach, sitting out on the lawnchairs, playing shuffleboard, and driving to see the sand sculptures and eat breakfast nearby at a wonderful bakery serving the biggest donuts, croissants and muffins I've seen. Great room and so handy to have a fridge and toaster and small table and chairs in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank florida078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent the long weekend at the Surfcomber and had an amazing time. The property in general and our room in particular were immaculate. Beautifully kept flowers were a lovely splash of color around the grounds and it was great to be right on the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful in providing us tips on sights to see in Cape Cod. I also really appreciated the fresh hot coffee in the office every morning - a nice touch. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatherineSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I've lost track of how many times I've stayed at Surfcomber now. I love it here. The staff is always helpful, friendly. The rooms are always kept nice and clean. it was awesome to enjoy some summer like weather in the fall. I can't wait for my next trip in the spring. Thanks SC for another great visit to CC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShineRM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked this motel for a girls weekend online after seeing the pictures on Trip Advisor and reading some of the reviews. All of the reviews seemed to have the same theme, it was a great place. When we drove up we noticed that the hotel grounds were immaculate. Upon inspection of our room #17, we could not believe the view of the beach and ocean (all the ocean front rooms were taken). The room was sunny, clean and even had a Keourig coffee maker, small frig and microwave. We loved the location so much we spent most of the time sitting outside on the chairs provided and just looking at the beach. On the Friday night, we were treated to a spectacular show by the Harvest Moon. It rose big and orange and beautiful. Everyone was taking pics of it. Everyone we met had been staying here for years and had nothing but good things to say. We will be coming back also! The office staff was very helpful even printing out some menu's of places to eat for us. We witnessed the chamber maids even cleaning up above the outside doors with brooms.....wow! All in all a wonderful relaxing time smack dab on the ocean, what more could you want?

Room Tip: Room #17 had one of the best views there. Not oceanfront but side view all the way down to Harwich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This motel has it ALL! This was my 2nd visit in 6 years...the second time was just as wonderful as the first time. I look forward to my 3rd, 4th and subsequent stays here. I cannot find one thing to complain about...location, cleanliness, staff, amenities...they are all top shelf! If you are visiting Cape Cod book your room here!!!

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs...be sure to book a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunPlacesToCheckOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Surfcomber for two nights with two other family groups. Living close by to the Cape and having, in the past, owned a house at the Cape for years, I was never in the need for a hotel. And asking locals is worthless since they also have never stayed in hotels. So started researching, and Tripadvisor and all the travelers who take the time to write reviews steered me right! Checked in on Friday before the rest of the group arrived and was greeted warmly by Matt, who was working the desk that weekend. He couldn't have been more helpful with restaurant suggestions as plans kept changing to fit the group's needs. Found the room to be clean, large and just what everyone said it was going to be. Beautifully maintained property, right on the beach. It is not a large property, and that was even better for us. When our three days ended, none of us were ready to leave and all agreed that it was just perfect. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvan-studio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
411 reviews
2.3 mi away
Green Harbor on the Ocean
Green Harbor on the Ocean
#4 of 20 in West Yarmouth
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Address: 107 S Shore Dr, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#4 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £71 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfcomber on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing