We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Ok Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Location, Ok Property”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Yes, the location is phenomenal and right on the beach and the small pool was nicely heated. The rooms are just ok. Clean but fairly dated with the smallest bathroom possible. The beach towel process is insulting--for over $300 per night, please don't make me leave a $5 deposit per beach towel. Private balconies would be nice but we did not have one. Lots of cigarette smokers staying here on the lower levels causes a constant waft of tobacco smoke on the upper levels. And the hotel encourages smoking by leaving ash trays all over the place. The hotel staff was friendly. We stayed last year next door at the Ocean Mist--rooms there are far nicer as is the pool and hot tub. But Surfcomber was more relaxing and less of a "scene". I booked here based on the great TA reviews and feel a bit duped. We'd come back but not sure in the end if it's worth the cost and hassle of having to book so far in advance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    44
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
71
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Surfcomber. The room was relatively small, but quiet and clean. The staff were friendly, the pool heated, and the beach area not crowded despite it being a weekend in July. It's centrally located in South Yarmouth so it's near Hyannis and all the restaurants and shops spread across Yarmouth, but be prepared for a 45 minute or more drive to Chatham and beaches beyond that area, depending on traffic.

The only drawbacks are:

- They quote the rate as double occupancy and then charge $10 extra per child. So if you have two kids with you, the daily rate will be $20 above the listed room price. I've never had a hotel charge extra for two kids before in a room with two double beds.

- We booked a regular room, which indicated an ocean view from a shared balcony. What this really means is a room off the wing perpindicular to the beach and you can (sort of) see the ocean from the walkway in front of all first floor rooms. But in their defense, the ocean is literally steps from that walkway so you don't have to go far to enjoy an ocean view. And if you get a room on second floor, the view is better. However, they state that kids under 8 aren't allowed to stay on the second floor.

Green Features: There are recycling bins everywhere, even in the rooms.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfcomberontheocean, Manager at Surfcomber on the Ocean, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello,

We are glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay at the Surfcomber. I apologize if there was any confusion about our rates. You are correct in that the rates are based on double occupancy and each additional person is $10 per night. Included in this charge is a cot or crib if needed.

Regarding the ocean view rooms, yes, the rooms on the second floor typically do have better views, as do the rooms closer to the water on the first floor. The oceanfront rooms and the rooms with private balconies offer the best ocean views.

We hope to see you and your family again in the future.

Kind regards,
Team Surfcomber.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was one amazing place. Great location great staff from front desk to pool manger and everyone in between. Housekeeping and young boys taking care of the grounds were hardworking and delightful. Mia was my favorite. Hardworking kind funny helpful and efficient! Tree should be one of her at every resort. The location can't be beat. On the beach, pool and yard games in the grounds. Rooms have amazing views refrigerators coffee makers and microwaves. There is nothing missed, they even have trolleys fir you luggage, I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for acing floor when possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deniseglenridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way up the Cape. I wish we'd known this is where all the young drinkers stay and party. Two very loud groups were up until 2 a.m., broke into the pool, partied on the outdoor balconies and beach. Staff didn't do anything when we complained nor offer us a discount. Much better options just up the beach. Unless you're 21 and into keggers I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tressa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stickbug, Manager at Surfcomber on the Ocean, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We sincerely apologize for the experience you had at the Surfcomber. We pride ourselves on being a quiet and peaceful family and couple focused small hotel. Unfortunately we cannot know in advance the intentions of every guest who makes a reservation. That said, we are sorry our staff did not resolve this issue to your satisfaction. We do hope you give us another chance should you be traveling back to the Cape in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place is PERFECT for a family with kids. It feels like you have a private beach and pool all to yourself. Service was impeccable from the 1st moment we arrived until we left. The property and the rooms are maintained to perfection. All the food and activities are within 2-3 minutes driving. We are definitely making this a yearly family trip tradition that's how much we loved this place!!!

Thanks Guys!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for 3 nights for some R and R during the middle of our driving holiday and was pleasantly surprised at just how much I enjoyed it there. You're slap bang on a private beach with sun loungers and if that's not for you, there are more around the heated pool or on the lawn.

Everyone we spoke to was friendly and chatty, the room had lots of space and it was only a short drive to restaurants and shopping. The whole complex was clean and well maintained with staff out in the early hours tidying the place up. Reception has beach towels they can loan you and I even learnt how to play shuffleboard with the equipment they lend out for free!

The only issue we had was with the lock on our door; it wouldn't lock or unlock from time to time. However.... This was no problem for the maintenance man and he replaced the lock right away dropping all his other jobs. Great service all round, and thank you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emmylou302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Surfcomber on the Ocean. Great location and had everything we were looking for. The room was spacious and had a microwave and frige. The bathroom looked like it was just done over. Great pool and being on the ocean was my favorite part of the place. It is not huge which made it easy to get around from the parking lot to the beach. The staff is very friendly. Just a short drive to Rt.28 for shopping and many restaurants. Looking forward to another vacation at the Surfcomber.

Room Tip: For the extra money next time will get a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisebabe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
392 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Property: Surfcomber on the Ocean
Address: 107 S Shore Dr, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfcomber on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing