We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Front Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
367 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Ocean Front Delight”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent a week in the spring and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The location was perfect for visiting the Cape. We could easily go in either direction with Ocean Club as our base. The rooms were spot on clean and the staff was freindly and helpful. renovation was completed recently and having two TV was convenient. We had just enough room for leftovers because you relly can't cook in the room and there are so many good restaurants nearby. We would return next opportunity.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    93
    27
    7
    17
See reviews for
139
156
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Super clean, newly rennovated, quiet and beautiful ground, very friendly staff.
The salt water swimming pool water is just perfect. The indoor pool and jacuzzi area is nice and warm. Free wifi, wonderful fitness room (bigger than regular hotel chain), activity room is cozy with free movies, The deck's view is beautiful, the beach is clean and beautiful. We love it so much, that we reschedule our trip to stay 1 extra night in this place.
We will definitely come back, and highly recommended. We wish they offer complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to the brazilian steakhouse "Brazilian Grill" off the Main street, 16 minutes from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoshLu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peabody, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Went down The Cape for a 1 night stay to celebrate my sister's birthday.
When we checked in we were nicely surprised at how clean and comfortable
The room was. Very nicely done with a bedroom and separate area w/small table and chairs, small fridge, and microwave, even small sink and coffee maker. Beach was very nice, though too cold to swim, but nice to walk. Beach was so clean it must be beautiful in the summer!
Front desk people were very nice, and helpful. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Get 2nd Floor Room, pretty good view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy8204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stateof NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Having walked by the property numerous times, my husband and I stopped by last spring and were given a tour. We liked what we saw and thought we would give it a try. As you can tell by pictures it has been recently renovated. The room we had was on the second floor and had a side view of the beach, which was wonderful. Our unit had two rooms divided by pocket doors. You enter into the bedroom (the mattress looked new, but it was not comfortable) and walk through to the living area. There was a working electric fireplace, sofa sleeper (for 2), table, chairs, refrig. microwave, small sink and a tiny balcony. It was perfect for the two of us and would have been OK if we brought two of our children. The room was very clean and not a hint of mildew or mold as another reviewer mentioned. The bathroom was spotless. One hint--in the cold weather keep the door open so that it doesn't get too cold! Staff was pleasant and engaged in friendly conversations. The pool area was disappointing. The room was quite cold, but we were in the midst of a snowstorm. We were not able to see the beach as the windows were all steamed up. We wanted to sit and read but because of the condensation, all of the tables and chairs were wet and water was dripping so we went to the common room and sat for a bit to watch the ocean. We tried again to go to the pool, but the water was on the cool side. The pool is on the small side. With no place to change in the pool area, it was uncomfortable to go through the covered walkway back to our room in a wet bathing suit! It seems like a good place to go in the summer if you have little ones who may want/need to go from the beach to the room a few times. We would consider going back in the off season, however, but it would be hard to pick between our usual spot with a great pool area but not on the beach or here being able to enjoy the beach just steps away, outside the window.

Room Tip: Try for an ocean view room, if possible on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KandA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The Ocean Club on Smugglers' Beach has renovated all their rooms and considerably upgraded its decor and services. The location in South Yarmoth, MA is excellent to easily access most points on Cape Cod, and the cost is most reasonable for the high level of service you receive. High recommendation!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This was the second time I had been there, and have been very impressed on both occasions. Our room was quite small but well equipped, and as other reviews mentioned the decor is simple but nice, I particularly liked the little fire. The kitchen area was very small but had every thing that you could want.

The pool area is very nice, but be warned that the water can be a bit cold. We would go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at78rpm
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I met up with my brother and his family, along with some additional friends, to spend New Year's Eve and a few days before and after. Check in was easy and friendly. The room was fairly small, but adequately arranged to make maximal use of the space. Our fireplace, an electric one, worked -- however, every now and then, for no apparent reason, the lights in one section of the room would go out. I learned that I could go down the hall and reset the circuit breakers for my room, which I had to do multiple times. Didn't make me feel too comfortable about the wiring.

It rained heavily the day we got there, and water coursed into the room from the front wall, which apparently had a leak. We dried it up with a few towels; the staff offered to give us another room, but the rain had in the meantime changed to snow, so we demurred.

The location is excellent: right on the beach. The pool is likewise excellent, and somewhat larger than we usually see. This would be a great place to stay in the summer. In the winter, a short walk through an unheated plexiglass tunnel, about 25 feet long, is a cold one from the pool to the exercise room.

There is no restaurant.

Hallways are quite narrow, reminding one of a sleeper car on Amtrak.

My biggest complaint is the bedding. Sheets were cheap, and the pillows were terribly uncomfortable: foam rubber, and quite stiff. Bring your own pillows.

There is no kitchenette as such, but there is a very small sink (exactly one foot long, five inches across, and ten inches deep.) There is a coffee maker, a microwave, and a mini-refrigerator. At the beach end of the first floor there's a family room, with an adjacent kitchen for cooking. It must be shared, so don't expect to have it always available.

The hotel is perpendicular to the beach, so no rooms have an ocean vista.

Overall it is a decent place to stay, minus the electrical and bedding issues.

Room Tip: Room 10, on the 1st floor, is farthest from the ocean; room 30 is closest, and actually has a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank at78rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
580 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
3.9 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,066 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach

Property: Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Address: 329 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Club On Smugglers` Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Club Smugglers Beach
Ocean Club On Smuggler Beach
Smugglers Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing