We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best jerk north of Negril”
Review of Jerk Cafe

Jerk Cafe
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Description: Chef Shrimpy’s Jerk Cafe serves delicious Jamaican Jerk Style Caribbean food daily in South Yarmouth, Massachusetts on Cape Cod. The Jerk Cafe is like a Jamaican oasis where Chef Shrimpy creates his own famous Jamaican Jerked Chicken and Jerked Pork dishes using his own secret combination of traditional Jamaican spices and special grilling techniques every day.
Restaurant details
Description: Chef Shrimpy’s Jerk Cafe serves delicious Jamaican Jerk Style Caribbean food daily in South Yarmouth, Massachusetts on Cape Cod. The Jerk Cafe is like a Jamaican oasis where Chef Shrimpy creates his own famous Jamaican Jerked Chicken and Jerked Pork dishes using his own secret combination of traditional Jamaican spices and special grilling techniques every day.
North Clarendon, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best jerk north of Negril”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Every summer we return to the Jerk Cafe at least twice during our 2-week vacation. Ya mon, this is some of the best Jamaican jerk chicken, pork, shrimp and steak going. The veggies, rice and beans and fried banana fritter sides are spot-on delicious as well. Chef Shrimpy certainly knows how to bring the sexy back to Cape Cod. Go there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lizinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden gem for cultural Food”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I was a little thrown of the I saw they only served Jerk food. Coming from an area that has a full menu of Jamaican items I didn't this would turn out well. If you are one the likes a real spicy jerk taste with out the over saltiness this is the place to go. I would just saw used the container of season they give you and eve ask for extra. Shrimpy who is the chef personally came to our table to ask about our meal. Nothing fancy for inside seating but the atmosphere, music, and service helps you to overlook it. By the way try the watermelon smoothie it is excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrobert349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing better”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

No matter the occasion we go to see Chef Shrimpy. Eat in or take out he is always there singing to reggae and banning on some pots. He is so nice and so our his daughters. The food is amazing. We eat every last morsel including the fried banana dessert. We tell anybody.. GO HERE for the best food around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Caribbean Food on the Cape!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The food was amazing, the frozen drinks were yummy too, and chef Shrimpy knows what hes doing! Looking forward to going back to the Cape so we can come back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank katandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm welcome to the Cape”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Lovely tasty food is served with friendliness and humour in this informal cafe. Very memorable dining experience and great balance of flavours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jerk Cafe also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Jerk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing