We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Perfect”
Review of Olde C Dogs - CLOSED

Olde C Dogs
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: May all who enter as guests... Leave as friends. Olde C Dogs is committed to providing our friends with quality home made meals and great service. From our hearty breakfasts to our signature sandwiches, lobster rolls and hot dogs you can grab and go to the beach or back to work. We use fresh ingredients and prepare everything in house, from scratch. We take great pride in offering our friends fresh, homemade meals in a welcoming environment. We are family owned and operated and have established a loyal customer base. Come visit us today, you'll be happy you did!
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Take out with coffee counter inside and a couple of picnic tables outside. Outstanding lobster rolls. Tap root beer from Maine. Chowder from Cap'n Parkers.

1  Thank ArtF_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

We came in 10 min before close - that was NO problem! Nice chatty owners, we got a Delish Clam chowda and big fat lobsta roll! Hmmm. Service was awesome and they took extra good care of us treating is to a few sweets and good stories. Can't wait to come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is a small breakfast/lunch restaurant that cooks to order, and it's worth the wait (not really that long). Had a great grilled cheese sandwich--with a veggie twist. Partner had the last chicken salad of the day--it runs out quickly I guess. They also have homemade donuts.

2  Thank russojl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have been vacationing at the Cape for 14 plus years.
We were excited to see the reviews on Olde C Dogs as we always love trying new places.

Here's the scoop:

My husband ordered the grilled cheese with tomato and bacon
but when our order was delivered, it was missing the tomato and bacon.
He asked the woman about it and she said... "Here keep that,
we'll bring you a new one." Several minutes later a 2nd woman brings him a plate with tomato and bacon on it!!! (Not a new sandwhich) What!?! Did they think he was going to shove this in his already cooled off grilled cheese? Weird!

I ordered the much anticipated lobster roll. I thought
the portion size was nice. Wasn't overly generous
but not wimpy either. I loved the way it looked and the fact that it wasn't drenched in mayo. However, then I
took my first bite... Bummer! The lobster was cold and had
a strange acidic lemon flavor. I've never had lobster
that tasted like that before. It wasn't terrible but it certainly wasn't what I hoped for either.

My son ordered the Mac and Cheese Grilled Cheese which he devoured! He loved it!

My daughter ordered the kids Mac and Cheese and thought it was lacking flavor but she liked
the twisty noodles and ate it all. She was disappointed as she thought the kids meal came in
a beach pail with a drink and cookie. Apparently, there is an upcharge for this which we would have gladly paid had it been offered to us.

Overall, the ladies running Olde C Dogs were friendly and welcoming. They could use another set oh hands though, especially in July. The gentleman behind us in line walked out because of the wait time.

As I said, we really wanted to LOVE this place but unfortunately, we will not return. With so many fabulous food places on the Cape, it'd be hard to justify a return visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VacationingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Owner at Olde C Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Lori-we are greatful for your feedback, and mentioned that in our response to you when you posted this same review on Yelp on July 2. I don't believe you have returned since then, but if you have please let us know when you visit so we can take care of your needs. As a family owned and operated business we always appreciate your feedback. It is the height of our season and we are sorry that your grilled cheese order was not prepared correctly. While we try our hardest to grill to perfection, we are human and do make mistakes. Our menu does state that any of the kids meals can be served in the beach pail, but as it is at an additional charge, we do need to know you want one it at the time of ordering. Our signature lobster roll is traditional Cape Cod lobster roll which is served as a cold salad. If you would prefer a hot lobster salad, please request that when you order. We pride ourselves on not overloading with mayonnaise or fillers, however we do prepare the lobster with lemon. As a small shop, we make everything from scratch, so while things do take time to serve, we are also more than willing to accommodate your requests. We do hope you will take the time to come back the next time you are in town and we will be happy to give your child a beach pail on the house with their next order. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for take out. Ordered a hot dog and 2 chowder hounds $6 ea. which was a hot dog and cup of Captain Parker's clam chowder. Took so long to get during a slower day, I'm not sure how long you would have to wait if they were real busy. Thought maybe they went to Captain Parker's to get it ! Loved the combo and chowder was excellent . Hot dogs were tasty with grilled roll, better then all beef variety, but nothing special. Definitely a mom and pop place, good if you have the time and don't mind small dining area, a few tables outside.

2  Thank Backibandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Owner at Olde C Dogs, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are so grateful that you could spend part of your vacation with us. As a family owned and operated business we always appreciate your feedback. It is the height of our season and we are sorry that your food took longer than anticipated to be prepared. There are no slow days for us during the summer. As a small mom and pop shop, we make everything to order, so while things do take time to serve, we are also more than willing to accommodate your requests. We do hope you will take the time to come back the next time you are in town. Thank you for your business and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do our best to improve upon what our customers tell us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olde C Dogs also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing