We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Those who know, know”
Review of Longfellow's Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Longfellow's Pub
Price range: US$7 - US$17
Cuisines: Pub
Description: Fresh Cape Cod cooking specializing in Prime Rib.
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh Cape Cod cooking specializing in Prime Rib.
Millis, MA.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Those who know, know”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have never had a disappointing meal at Longfellow's. The food is very good and the prices can't be beat. A hidden gem that only the locals know about.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    25
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prime Time”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I heard, and read, that Longfellow's pub had the best prime rib on Cape Cod. So Saturday night I decided to give it a try. It was good: It wasn't great! It was better than some, but not as good as I had expected based on all the hype.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food- hole in the wall”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We went tonight to try something off the beaten path. The atmosphere was outdated but still clean. The prime rib was amazing, the fried scallops were to die for. The service was a little slow, but still a very nice and friendly waitress. The price was right too. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
278 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Better than starving”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

This place has been there for years so we figured they must be doing something right - but we can't figure out what it is. Average is too good a word for this place. When you finish eating and the hunger is gone, you are left with a "why did we come here" reaction. Find another place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just a little above average”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We saw an ad in the local paper for Longfellow's Pub and since we were going to be with another couple thought the restaurant would be a great place to meet. We even read other reviews which were all 5 stars and a few that were less. The price was right and so we went. There was only one other couple in the restaurant when we arrived around 5:30pm, so we were seated very quickly. Our friends arrived about 5 minutes later. There were specials listed on a board which the waitress brought to our table so we could make a decision. Three of us decided on the prime rib at $13.99 each. The other person asked for the swordfish for $11.99. The meals came with either a choice of salad or soup and a choice of potato. The salads came with a choice of dressing on the side, which is the way we wanted. Nice size salad plate. None of the vegetables were wilted or black. A good sign. The main meal followed. The size of the meat was something we have never seen before. A great portion (which we are still enjoying). And, it was extremely tender and each bite mesmerizing and more delicious than the previous one. However, now comes the reason for the 4-stars. We expected nothing less of the swordfish. The portion size was so small, you could barely see it on the plate. Also, the amount of fries were something that could be counted on both hands. It was like getting an empty dish. Very unappetizing to say the least and extremely disappointing when you saw the amount of food for the others at the table. We know we should have mentioned something to the waitress, but by that time the place was hopping and there was a line around the building. Yes, we would return. But next time we will know to ask about the portion size and what it will look like. No one at the table had ever seen anything so small served as a main course. This was certainly a young child's size---not for a grownup.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank governorstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longfellow's Pub also viewed

South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 
West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Longfellow's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing