We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip - Home away from Home”
Review of The Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Escape Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business Trip - Home away from Home”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I'm so glad I chose to stay here vs the typical chains I stay in when I travel for Business. The Inn is clean, bright and cheerful. The free breakfast and wi-fi was ideal. I would recommend the Inn to other Business Travelers who are tired of the typical chain hotel room and ambiance. The Inn Keepers Mike and Holly were terrific hosts. The value, cleanliness and service can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    78
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
149
288
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Escape Inn in early October for a four day exploration of Cape Cod with good friends. We couldn't be more pleased with our choice. The Inn is actually an old motel that has been completely remodeled and updated by the current owners, Michael and Holly. The rooms are very clean and bright with hardwood floors, new baths, comfortable beds, and furnished with attention to little details. The modest price includes a simple but ample and nourishing breakfast. Michael and Holly are Cape Cod experts and provided us with plenty of eating recommendations as well as directions for our daily outings. The Inn is well located for exploring since you can travel west from it to Hyannis, Wood's Hole and the ferries to Martha's Vineyard and Nantuckett; or east to Chatham and Provincetown. The best part of staying at the Inn, though, are the Inn Keepers - Michael and Holly. They are super friendly and helpful and just fun to talk with. Mike F

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nclandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have stayed here three times there in the past year and each time a clean comfortable room and very pleasant hosts.

Cannot say anymore other than if you are not on the water than this is where you stay. Only a few more weeks left before they close for the season so get there soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHampshirereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We actually stayed there in May 2012 but I never got round to writing a review and TA won't let me backdate so far.
The rooms were absolutely newly renovated. Tasteful, light and large.
That gets the most stars.
Breakfast was good, not sure about the plastic plates etc though.

The biggest drawback has to be the location, which we expected to be more quaintish Cape Cod style and not by a busy main road along supermarkets, petrol stations etc.

The couple were very friendly and helpful and take, quite rightly, great pride in their place.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We just stayed there this week. The place was so peaceful and beautiful. It was like staying in a little beach cottage. The room was super clean, and the owners were fantastic. You are so close to the beaches and great places to eat. We will be back there again. “Quaint and Cute” is the best way to describe this gem in Cape Cod!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

After reading great reviews of Escape Inn on the internet, we felt we'd discovered a gem. From the welcome check-in by Michael to entering our room for a 3-night stay we were not disappointed. The room was bright and fresh as expected. You won't find a cleaner room that was well stocked and cheerfully decorated in a seaside theme. A light breakfast accompanied by friendly conversation with our hosts, Michael and Holly, added to the pleasantness of our stay. Their recommendations for restaurants and activities didn't disappoint either. This is a small, personal operation, so I hope there is room for us the next time we travel to the Cape.

Room Tip: You must use stairs to access the 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed there for two nights and enjoyed both of them very much. Molly & Mike are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful so that we felt good from the very beginning. The rooms are equipped with everything you need and have a lot of lovely details. Even that the motel is close to the main street you will have an quite relaxing sleep. On top they serve a small breakfast with fresh fruits and yummy cake. We actually planned to stay only one night but after a night in Provincetwon we came back to enjoy the beautiful motel for one additional night. If you go to Cape Cod, try to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausisnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
3.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
758 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
4.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#4 of 22 in Hyannis
1,260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Property: The Escape Inn
Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing