We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time and Still the Best”
Review of The Escape Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Escape Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Location is perfect for us during our annual June visit. Traffic is pretty light on the cape, so we love staying at the amazingly clean Escape Inn. You can get to either end of the Cape in under an hour, making it a perfect home base. The owners Michael and Holly are really friendly and accommodating. The rooms are always spotless and the property is well taken care of. You can tell the owners have a very high priority on keeping the place clean. The only negative I can think of is that you can hear some noise from the room above or below, depending on which room you are staying in. One night, the couple below us did a very late check-in (around 2 am) and woke us up with all the noise (doors opening/closing and some talking). The rest of the nights, we barely heard a peep out of them. There is a nice big screen TV with about 40 channels, which worked out well to watch the Hockey game on NBC in HD. Next door is the top rated Ice Cream place (a must visit) on the Cape. Location is great and we don't look to stay anywhere else on the Cape.

Room Tip: The rooms on the far end of the Inn are single floor, so you wont have to worry about noise. Call/Bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDave1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were on Cape Cod for a family wedding and our normal place to stay was booked. So, finding that The Escape Inn had rooms available, we booked 3; one for ourselves, and two more for our son and daughter-in-law and another couple. Just getting out of the car was all that it took to know that we made the right choice. The buildings and grounds are impeccably kept and the office and breakfast area were welcoming and warm. And to top that, owners Mike and Holly are top notch greeters.
Now to the room itself. There are beautiful wood laminate floors and from the bed and nightstand to the bathroom and fixtures, everything was so new looking and spotlessly clean. We were on the first floor of a two story unit and there was hardly a footstep heard from above. That speaks volumes as it's not uncommon to hear creaking floors from above at some other establishments.

The blinds are not room-darkening and there are no drapes to shield the bright outside lights from illuminating the room. I read that Kathy K. had the same observation and I agree, once the eyes are closed it wasn't an issue. But if you prefer a darker room, Mike and Holly supply eye shades, along with ear plugs, in a basket under the nightstand. The air conditioner is one of those free-standing / vent through the wall units but don't be at all concerned when you see it. It works very efficiently and what I really like is that the fan stays on even when the compressor cycles off. That way the sound is for the most part constant as opposed to those really annoying units that turn completely on and off.
Although we didn't have the time to enjoy it, the pool and deck chairs looked quite inviting. Next time we'll be giving that a try in the warm weather. On our way out the door to the wedding, owner Mike walked by and noticed a small weed coming through the decorative wood chips. He stopped, brushed aside the chips, extracted the weed, and brushed the chips back. That's just one example of the care that they take.
One suggestion that will not at all affect our rating is to find a way, if possible, to install a soap dish and handrail in the shower. We don't (yet) need a handrail for stability, but stepping into an unfamiliar tub is more reassuring with something to grab on to. For the soap and shampoo there's only the edge of the tub.
The Escape Inn is now our favorite place to stay when we visit friends and family on the Cape.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2fortraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My new husband and I stayed at the Escape Inn for most of our honeymoon and it was absolutely perfect. The room was beautiful, crisp, simple, and so very clean. I have a lot of allergies and had zero problems during our stay, especially with all the windows bringing in fresh air and the hardwood floors. We found the area very quiet at night and slept soundly in the most comfortable bed. Michael and Holly were incredibly warm, accommodating and helpful in setting us up for a relaxing stay and giving us tips and ideas for touring around Cape Cod. We have never felt so at home away from home! We already can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Such a beautiful room! Well done. Michael and Holly are wonderful innkeepers. Helpful, accommodating. Room was clean. Only issues...blinds do not keep out the light. Each room has a bright light outside that keeps the room a little too lit up for my taste. Hubby reminded me that once his eyes are closed, he doesn't notice! There is road noise and next door noise. I always wear earplugs, so I slept just fine in the very comfortable and cozy bed. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very nicely renovated hotel in a central location! Clean, large rooms and a nice breakfast. It was a great value! Owners are very friendly and helpful! Seemed interested in their guests and how they could help to make the stay a good one!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor so you don't have to hear the footsteps from those above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This small hotel is located close to the main tourist spots on Cape Cod (Provincetown is about 1.5hrs away). It is located off the main road and across the street from a popular ice cream shop.
The hosts very kind and helpful.
The room has only venetian blinds so be prepared to be up early due to the sun ( hosts have put eye shades in the room for your use, but curtains would be great.
No coffee or tea making facilities or fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 49909Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay! The room had such a wonderful clean smell and it was bright and cheery! The hosts Mike and Holly were so friendly and made you feel very welcome. It was a great value, we will definitely be back. We are already looking ahead to book our next date!

Room Tip: We had the end unit, room #14. We would recommend it! Three sides of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
12.4 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
3.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,276 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,148 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
821 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Escape Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Escape Inn

Address: 1237 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Best Value Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £70 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Escape Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Escape Inn is a newly renovated Cape Cod hotel conveniently located in South Yarmouth, MA. A charming hideaway providing guests with an exclusive, relaxing and intimate stay. With easy-access to the mid-Cape’s stunning beaches, active nightlife, distinctive shopping and historic surroundings, The Escape Inn welcomes you to the shores of Cape Cod with convenience, style and ambience. Whether simply passing through or enjoying a longer vacation, we know you’ll leave feeling refreshed and rejuvenated … making your stay truly an Escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Escape Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Jonathan Hotel
The Escape Inn South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing