We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience, Convenience, Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf and Sand Beach Motel
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Convenience, Convenience, Convenience”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Over the last 17-years of travelling to Cape Cod for family vacations, with friends and girlfriend has brought me to one overall conclusion...this place is full of over-priced, crappy hotels/motels. It is simply impossible to find anything of real quality in this area of the States...there are no Ritz, there are no Hiltons, Hyatts, InterContinental....nothing of any "normal" quality. But I understand why....every place is packed....why provide service, hire additional staff, clean the property, price rooms reasonably when the hotels are packed anyways...from a business sense there's just no need to do it. So with that in mind, please remember that I am reviewing this hotel by Cape Cod standards....not by any "normal" America standards.

The best way for me to give this review is to provide the good and bad.

Good:
Large Room
Kitchenette with all the utencils
Large bed
Good bathroom with strong water pressure in the shower.
Free parking
Easy access to the beach.
Nice lawn area with grills.
Good working A/C in each room

Bad:
Even the upgraded room looks outdated.
The property needs to be re-painted and fixed.
Pool looked dirty.
You can't check-in before 3pm and have to check out at 11am.
Price with taxes is just outrageous for this level of accomodation.
Noisy if staying on the first floor.
Small TV, non HD

So there you have it....this property is very old and needs a lot of updating but I have to say that it can't be beat for the convenience. The beach access is easy, the lawn is great, and the ability to grill food is just perfect. This ain't the Ritz (although they charge Ritz prices) but after going to the Cape for 17 years I have to say that this place is the best house in a bad neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor open up to the lawn which is very convenient but you can hear people walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    13
    9
    18
See reviews for
37
39
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have rented rooms here for several years. The only reason was the location. The customer service has always been extremely poor. They barely clean and you are lucky if your room receives service the next day! Even there staff complain that there isn't enough help to keep the place clean! The Fourth of July was extreme windy this year. We like to cook out in there grill and just spend time with our family! Not only was the front desk unattended at 8:00pm but the trash was blowing all over the place. Then it was time to go to bed! Absolutely the worse stay I have had ever. I did a medical mission in Haiti and it was more comfortable there! The beds were which is very hard old beds, two of us could not stop itching through the night! Had to leave early this place is being run into the ground! Even there "new rooms" are unacceptable because of the filth! Beware traveler. The owners/few website designer is notified with each poor review! Then they write a positive review. None of the positive reviews are accurate! We all 20 of us will not travel here again. But will go to the red jacket! We're customer service exists!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tjferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

Milford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Beautiful view from the panel windows and walk-out door of the ocean. grounds are well manicured and clean. Rooms are modern,clean and spacious. What a great place to stay with just steps away from the private beach. They need better pillows,but this traveler would stay again

Room Tip: Since all rooms are oceanview, select first floor for convinience to the ocean and outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodergong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We had our wedding ceremony at Surf and Sand Last June and everything was perfect. The rooms were clean and the grounds were beautiful. You can't beat the location and the rooms are all reasonably priced. We really lucked out with this property and don't regret bringing our friends and family here for a reuniting weekend. Every room as an oceanview and we'll definitely be coming back in the future.

Room Tip: 1st floor renovated rooms are the cheapest and you can walk out right to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton Ma.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

You don't know what to expect at this place. It seems its all in who you deal with at the resort and on the phone. First off when booking I tried to get a 1 night booking on a Saturday night in late September. I was trying to book 3 rooms to join guests who had booked 4 other rooms. I was adamently told by a young woman several times there was a 2 night minimum on weekends so I did not book the rooms. The person I spoke to was not customer friendly and left a bad taste in my mouth. I figured we would go meet the rest of our party on Saturday and find a place to stay when we got there as it was not high season and did not see a problem finding a room. A week before our weekend another family member called and had NO problem booking 3 rooms for 1 night and stated the older woman on the phone was very nice. Also found out when we got there that half of our group had to book 2 nights and half got the 1 night.
The other unknown is the condition of the rooms. Ours was one of the worst. The fridge was a piece of crap had trouble keeping it closed. No microwave and the bathroom was gross. We were able to see a variety of rooms as we had a large party there and if you book here you want to ask for a newer room for sure as there are big differences.
Lastly do not book here if you are having any kind of gathering with a group unless everyone goes to bed at 9 oclock. We were playing cards at 9 pm in the common area and told we needed to be quiet. There were no lights on outside in the evening so it was obvious they do not encourage any kind of activity in the evening. Makes for a pretty boring atmosphere.
In closing I have to mention the beach. Great views but when you get down there is is covered with loads of seaweed. The other resorts and the rest of the beach was good except for our spot. No rakes available to even clean an area for yourself. I will not stay here again but would certainly check out the Blue Water next store. More lively and much better upkeep. Hopefully this place will work on their customer service which is terrible at least to the women. The men in our group seemed to be treated much better by the young girl at the desk. Go figure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank beachbum925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This place was great. We did have a older room but no worries. Everything worked fine. Nice little kitchenette for cooking. Coffee pot, small fridge. Dishes and dish towels and soap provided. Bathroom could use some updating but everything worked. Lots of hot water. Staff was excellent. No problems at all. They were very pleasant to deal with. Grounds were maintained and the pool was great too. Nice coffee and muffins in the morning. The updated rooms were nicer. I did peek in and looked at a empty one. All in all our 5 night stay was very pleasant. Would go back again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I think you need to ask for a updated room. Some have been done over. We did not have a flat screen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chicaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We arrived on the cape to find our room at another resort was filthy and as we have a two year old this would not do. We spent all evening searching for somewhere with an opening and finally found surf & sand at 10pm. We told them we couldnt afford to pay two hotels so we were going to just deal with the other place for the night but Gail told us she felt so bad for us we should just stay the night. We thought she was being nice. We later found out it was all a trap.

Our first two days on the beach were great but on our third day we returned to the room and a note was on the door. When we went to the office they told us we were supposed to be out at 11 and they were going to call the cops on us. We showed them the paper we had written for them in their file that requested a 4 night stay. They admitted their mistake and told us we could move to an upstairs room at no charge. We felt that was rude for us to have to change rooms but we acquiesced in order to not cause problems. Upon picking up the new key they told us they were now charging us for the new room. They denied ever offering a free room - the first night Gail "felt bad" or the last day when we were so rudely asked to leave despite it being their mistake. When we commented that they were going against their word they started yelling, repeatedly telling us "we don't need you people at our establishment", and harassing us about calling the cops. All while we were gladly packing up, interrupting our childs nap and moving out to help them!

The people who run this place should be ashamed of their business ethics (or lack thereof). I have never been spoken to with such disrespect and I teach inner-city youth as my profession! Do yourself a favor an stay FAR away from the people who run this money trap!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Confio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf and Sand Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Beach Motel

Property: Surf and Sand Beach Motel
Address: 277 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf and Sand Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a secluded stretch of private beach directly on Nantucket Sound offering a vacation distinctly different from most Cape Cod resorts. Sit back and relax at your own pace, basking in the warm Cape Cod sun 'til your heart's content; or stroll along the shore gathering shells at sunset. Stake claim to one of the beach chairs on our extensive lawn or poolside while you catch up on your reading; or if the kids beckon, build castles in the sand or play a challenging game of shuffleboard... without ever moving from your home by the beach.We hope that you enjoy your stay with us. Whether your here for a family vacation, a family reunion or to celebrate the union of two in matrimony, we want to be of service.When the mood strikes, you're just minutes from the many popular activities which dot the landscape in the Mid-Cape area. From museums and history to antique and gift shops... miniature golf to whale watching, you'll set your own pace to enjoy the many activities for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Surf and Sand Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Surf And Sand Beach Motel South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing