We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay...owner terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surf and Sand Beach Motel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My boyfriend and I have been coming to this motel for 6 years now and we have had a great stay each time. The location, grounds and rooms are excellent as well as the front desk staff. I can't say the same for the owner of the property. She was exceedingly rude to my boyfriend when he was trying to help someone out, had a bad attitude not only with him but other guests on the property. It is for this reason he and I will NEVER stay there again. It's too bad because we both look forward to coming to that motel each summer. We will definitely find another place to stay but the Surf and Sand will not get anymore of our money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Surf and Sand Beach Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great views Upgraded rooms lobby and Common area are being refurnished All new furnishing.I Would recommend this motel highly Front desk staff Robert and Pat were very informative on places to see and restaurants to eat at

Room Tip: second floor balconies have the best views of the manicured grounds and ocean views
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank caper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was a nice hotel right on the ocean. Very large room with kitchenette, microwave, coffee maker, stove top and small fridge. Very good price during off season making an ocean front room very affordable. Rooms were clean and location is excellent. My only complaint was no wifi so I could not use my tablet to read my morning paper.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you want front ocean views, an efficiency apartment and friendly staff, definitely stay here. Every room overlooks the ocean. The scenery is like unspoiled old Cape Cod. Most of the rooms have been refurbished with new baths, new kitchenettes and new furnishings.
Muffins and coffee are served mornings in the common room. A two storied building with patios on the first floor and balconies on the second floor. The location allows for plenty of walking and biking by the beach and the Bass River. It has an outdoor pool on the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The view is amazing, I wish I could have stayed longer. The rooms are clean and super cute! The beach is right outside your door. The lobby and the exterior of the hotel is not that appealing but it won't matter once you enter the updated room. We loved having a kitchen and it too, was updated with granite. Great price for the view!

Room Tip: Stop at a grocery store before going there because it's far and the main road is busy
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerriLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have been staying here for numerous years now, and this is the best location to stay. We stay for 2 weeks so the kitchen is very helpful for long and/or short stays. The rooms are clean and well kept, whether it be an old one or a upgraded one, and all are oceanfront with a great view. The grounds surrounding the property are also well kept. The staff are wonderful. They are always very friendly and helpful. The location makes it easy to get to so many places very easily. This is the place to stay while on the cape

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CandyReisterstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The hotel is older so the lobby is a bit run down, but the room have been upgraded, new paint, furniture, etc. The room is large and had a great little kitchen for longer stays. We found the room to be very clean and pretty. The hotel is built so that every room has an ocean view. The hotel is not far from Rt. 28 so to get to restaurants and other shops was very easy and convenient. We had a room on the 2nd floor so had a balcony versus a patio. We loved being able to sit and watch the moon come up over the water with a glass of wine on the balcony and the sun come up in the morning. We were able to go for a walk on the beach as access is just a few steps away. As has been noted, the cell signal is practically non-existent and there is no wifi but if you're there for a romantic weekend, that may be more of a benefit than a negative. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf and Sand Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf and Sand Beach Motel

Address: 277 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £115 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Surf and Sand Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a secluded stretch of private beach directly on Nantucket Sound offering a vacation distinctly different from most Cape Cod resorts. Sit back and relax at your own pace, basking in the warm Cape Cod sun 'til your heart's content; or stroll along the shore gathering shells at sunset. Stake claim to one of the beach chairs on our extensive lawn or poolside while you catch up on your reading; or if the kids beckon, build castles in the sand or play a challenging game of shuffleboard... without ever moving from your home by the beach.We hope that you enjoy your stay with us. Whether your here for a family vacation, a family reunion or to celebrate the union of two in matrimony, we want to be of service.When the mood strikes, you're just minutes from the many popular activities which dot the landscape in the Mid-Cape area. From museums and history to antique and gift shops... miniature golf to whale watching, you'll set your own pace to enjoy the many activities for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Surf and Sand Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf And Sand Beach Hotel South Yarmouth
Surf And Sand Beach Motel South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing