We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunes Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The room for 4 is very big, there's a walking closet and another cabinet that wasn't clean enough to put my stuff inside, though. The owner, not the kindest, asked us a couple of time if we needed new towels and the room to be done, is that a question to make? The bathroom is old-style, small. The swimming pool is very small and, maybe was the bad weather, it seemed not very clean. No laundry machines. Wi-fi only in the ''lobby'' or breakfast area, that was a bummer. Breakfast was included, but there were only: bread, cereals and bagels with coffee/milk/OJ, no eggs nor meat neither fresh fruit.
Location is good, very nice and quiet neighborhood, close to restaurants (but you need the car) and at walking distance there's a nice little beach.
We forgot some stuff at the hotel, they didn't bother to call us and ask if we wanted that mailed, we realized that too late, when we were back to Europe. It is not bad , but there are so many hotels around that probably you can find other better choices.
PS: sheets were so humid when we arrived that seemed wet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laSabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Dunes was a very good choice! We arrived at 10:00am and were able to check in about 10:30. It is literally .2 miles to the beach with free parking! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Definitely a trip back there soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We were driving late night around South Yarmouth looking for a place to crash. Many local motels did not have a live attendant. These guys were up and available and came through at the important time. No thrills motel yards from the beach. Can not beat this when in need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Misha1v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife Linda and I stayed at The Dunes Motor Inn for six nights recently. The location could not be better. We could use our bicycles to go every where and virtually forget about the car.

Jack and his team where fantastic providing excellent service and continental breakfast!!
Beaches are within walking distance; Dunes Motor Inn is located on a nice quiet side street off Route 28 in South Yarmouth.

Thank you, Jack we will definitely be back on our next trip to Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our extra needed sheets and pillows(for our third in the room) were noticed to be coming from what I found out later was called a "staff room" .The employee sat in there watching tv. It was setup like one of the regular rental rooms. All of the staff were of Indian descent and had poor English speaking capabilities. I slipped on bathroom tub and sustained broken tooth and when I asked the desk manager who owned the hotel, he said he did not know. No problem for them to figure out how much I owed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

If you want Cape Cod Style this is the place to be - very clean - older bathrooms, comfortable beds, phone, refrigerator, microwave and AC. I had the most relaxing weekend with my 12 year old. The Beach is right down the road. The Pool was very clean, the lounge chairs very comfortable. The Best part was the employees - Jack and his team are very professional and courteous. Very attentive with their continental breakfast as well. I have been in the industry 25 years and would definitely recommend this diamond in the rough - Thank you Jack!! You are a true gentleman!!

Andrea and Sophia Manni

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We went on memorial weekend and unlike many others they had everything ready and great. The pool had been tested and certified.The rooms from the outside look like a basic motel room but inside they clearly have been update with very luxurious bedding and accessories.the bathroom could have been in a upscale hotel.You usually dont expect much when they say there is a "breakfast" at the motel but this was very nice complete with waffles.

The key to the pleasant atmosphere was the family who managed the place who prioritzed service.It was about a 8-10 miniute to the beach. Despite the fact it is a motel, it is in a totally residential neighborhool It must have been grandfathered in which is lucky for you as there is no traffic noise at night as in many motels.

Room Tip: If you dont mind stairs, choose an upstair room and enjoy sitting out on a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Point Hotel
Cape Point Hotel
#7 of 20 in West Yarmouth
497 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#12 of 21 in South Yarmouth
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5147
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £38 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing