We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Place. Don't Stay There”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunes Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Norwood, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Place. Don't Stay There”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We just got back from two nights at the Dunes Motor Inn in S Yarmouth. It was disgusting! The bedspreads were filthy, the blankets were all ripped and grimy, the towels were all old, skimpy and stained. There were cob webs all over. The pillows were lumpy and old. The beds were very uncomfortable. The continental breakfast was a joke! It consisted of bagels, bread, cornflakes, and raisin brand. When we got butter from the bin there were five tubs that were already open and half used! They actually try to reuse the butter tubs that were half used! We also found bugs in our room. When we brought them over to show the very unfriendly and not helpful couple that ran the place, they did not seem to care. The just spoke to each other in their native language, how rude! The wifi did not work and the hair dryer in our room did not work and the cord was all moldy!

Room Tip: Run for your life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    32
    16
    15
    16
See reviews for
40
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I woull not stay here again.. my main complaint is having to be quiet when your in the pool area!! how the hell can you be quiet with kids? I never stayed in a hotel where you were told no screaming? I think the owners don't want to rent to families with kids but cannot say so because it would be discrimination.., their rules are ridiculous!!! In the pool area they have a sign "no drinks, No food, NO SCREAMING!!! Really come on get with it owners.. I can understand drinking and food a bit cuz some people can be disrespectul and leave a huge mess. And then you go to their contenental breakfast and they have a sign stating that they do not want you to bring the food back to the room!!! Ridiculous!!! I ignored that and took the food back to my room and wanted to see if they would try to stop me!!! All I have to say is just find another place to stay there are plenty of hotels that at least aknowleges their guest!!! and also you get what you pay for... The rooms are outdated and oh be careful if you ask for extra towels, extra towels is 1.. If I wanted 1 I would have asked for an extra towel with no S on the end of it...

Room Tip: Do not get rooms on the opposite side of the office because they are horrible..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acookie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duneshappy, Owner at The Dunes Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your feedback. We are very much a family friendly place despite what you have written and not a true reflection of our intent. We have been forced into placing a sign that asks our guests to keep the noise down due to the fact our neighbor directly behind the pool has filed a lawsuit for noise coming from the pool area. As absurd as that may seem to you it is the fact reality we are dealing with. If we completely ignore the issue and cater to our guests as we do we would lose the case and more importantly lose our business. As we continue with this tough battle we are trying to strike a balance on the level of noise. I have kids and know that they are never quiet and especially when in the pool on vacation. I get it. Sorry for the poor experience and hopefully the outcome is favorable and we can allow our guests to enjoy themselves while on vacation with their kids.
Best
Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these South Yarmouth hotels

WEYMOUTH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The manager gave us a room w/king size bed (as favor) which was a queen. The room was disgusting. Smelled bad as soon as you walked in the door, the bedskirt was ripped & ragged, the spread was stained & gross, the sheets didn't match & were old, stained & worn. It had a filthy small couch that smelled bad.The shutters were broken & could not close correctly, the rug was horrid, all stains, I would not take off my shoes. We called & told we wanted another room & it was questionable that we would even stay. The next 2 rooms the wife showed us, same condition. We had been here 2 years ago on the other side & it was pleasant & clean, not fancy but clean & the location is great. We kept telling him we wanted the side we were on before, he didn't want to give it to us because it was 2 beds, kept telling they were all the same,I think he was saving it for families. Finally we were given a decent room, 2 beds, clean bedspreads, a table & 2 chairs. He was so nasty to us he never spoke to us the 3 nights we were there. My husband would go down for the continental breakfast for coffee & he had to walk by him, he wouldn't lift his head or say Good morning. When we dropped off the key, again he kept looking at the computer like we weren't there, we said Thanks & he never responded. He was so mad, this is how we were treated & we paid the bill! This was so wrong, we stayed & ignored them, didn't even ask for more towels even though we needed them we made do. Everything was skimpy. No soap 1 day! The ONLY good thing about this place is the location, that's why we stayed. We will not go back. By the way, the place had 30 rooms, probably 10 were filled, we didn't take a family room. Price we paid wasn't worth it. I believe these are different owners than 2 years ago, they were not at all like these 2 people.

Room Tip: If you really have to go here, do not go into any rooms opposite the management office. Stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

great location. Very clean and well kept. The staff was helpful. the only complaint was that the mattress was old. My husband left his watch in the motel and they shipped it back quickly without any problems. I would recommend this motel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay with my Girl Scout troop and another leader. Jack and his wife were gracious hosts - allowing us to use their breakfast room to eat our purchased lunch due to pouring rain. Once the weather improved we saw how great the location was to the beach - literally a 3 minute walk to a small but nice sandy beach. Pool was clean and refreshing as well. We like the fridge in the rooms and extra towels were no problem. As others have stated, this is not a fancy place and the bathrooms are probably original plumbing, but it is extremely clean, very quiet, with good comforable beds. Perfect for our group on a budget!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanfromHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Great location, off noisy horrible 28 on a quiet residential street two minutes from the beach and around the corner from a wonderful back road where we walked and biked every morning. If you like fancy, this is not the place. But it is clean, well maintained, has a pool, surprisingly comfortable beds, all necessary amenities in the room (refrigerator, which we liked), micowave, etc and Jack and his wife are very pleasant hosts. So, overall, if you are looking for value, this is the place.

Room Tip: There are two levels. We were on the first level, which we found convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMillerSpeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This location is great! Just a short walk from the beach. We did have a full size fridge in our room and the whole kitchenette is really good to have. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathroom was very old and the water temperature was very hard to control making it hard to shower. The water in the pool was not the cleanest luckily the beach is right there but the pool area itself was very quiet and clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samba265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parkers River Resort
Parkers River Resort
#14 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#18 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunes Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunes Motor Inn

Property: The Dunes Motor Inn
Address: 170 Seaview Ave, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5147
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Dunes Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunes Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dunes Motor Hotel South Yarmouth
Dunes Hotel South Yarmouth
The Dunes Hotel
The Dunes Motor Inn South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing