We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Smoke Free like advertised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Water on the Ocean
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Don't stay here if you are not a smoker. We booked here because it was advertised as a smoke free resort. True, you can't smoke in the rooms but you can smoke just about everywhere else. We could not sit on our balcony or even open our windows because the people above and next to us were smoking up a storm. I called the front desk to find out if this was allowed and all they said was the rooms were smoke free and I should "politely" ask the other guests not to smoke on the balcony. What a rip! We decided to go sit down at some tables on the patio and of course within 2 minutes a whole table of smokers joined us. We then went to sit on the lounge chairs overlooking the ocean and once again we were flanked on both sides by smokers. We didn't even try to go to the pool. The only safe place to sit was on the beach with a stiff breeze blowing. We've stayed at many smoke free resorts and none of them allow smoking on balconies!

Another problem was with their housekeeping staff. First they arrive at 8am expecting to get in to clean. The first morning I put a do not disturb sign on the door since we had arrived late and hadn't had a chance to unpack. We ran out to breakfast and when we returned there was a sign saying call us if you want to be cleaned before 2pm. Since we were fine with not getting cleaned that day, we left the sign on the door and went out for a few hours. Upon return, the sign had been removed and our room cleaned. Because we were not yet organized, the housekeepers had to move our stuff around which I found extremely unsettling! Never again for this place!!!!

Room Tip: Non Smokers Beware!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Blue Water on the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was clean, location was perfect, and the beach was beautiful. The weather didn't cooperate, however, but I would definitely return. We had a king-size bed with living space and 2 TVs. Decor was lovely, bed comfortable, and grounds very well kept. The beach has chairs and umbrellas for use. Since our stay was after Labor Day, it was quiet. Parking lot does get full, but the hotel owns another property adjacent to it, which may be able to handle the overflow.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

The staff and management of The Blue Water Resort thank you for your recent stay and for also taking the time to send in your review of our property and the customer service you recieved.It is our goal each and every day to strive to exceed our guest expectations. The beach side location is one of the many reasons guests return. The food and beverage options and friendly polite staff are also something our company works hard to provide. We hope to see you back next season and remember to visit our sister resorts The Fox Ridge and The Red Jacket Mountain View in North Conway NH .Once again thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Paid $450 per night for a family room which was supposed to accomodate 4 adults and an 11 year old child. Received a room with two singles beds, a cot and a pull down "double" about the size of a single. Worst sleep I've had in years. We arrived after a long trip from the UK at 6pm at night but we couldn't get into our room because the door was stuck for 1 hour during which time we had to hang around the door waiting on workmen. Staff lacked training. Paper thin walls. Facilities need updated. Just not worth the money, over $2,000 down the toilet. This hotel would give Butlins a bad name.

Room Tip: Family room means two adults and up to two small children max.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Good afternnon and thank you for your recent stay and also for taking the time to send in your review. The room in which you were assigned did in fact have an electronic key problem and we apolgize for that. The staff is and has always been very well trained and professional. I will attempt to contact you as the General Manager so we can speak in person. Thank you for your visit to The Blue Water Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We decided to pay big bucks and stay at a 'premier' resort. Boy were we disappointed. We tried checking in at 3:50 p.m. and were told check-in time is 4:00 p.m. I believe the room was ready, but I think they just wanted to make a point that we had to wait until 4:00 p.m.
We reserved an ocean view room and paid a premium for it. We were told that they had an ocean view room for us on the 1st floor, but when we arrived it actually didn't have an ocean view because it was too low. Our 'balcony' was a small slab of concrete with 2 old, faded plastic chairs. Nothing like the pictures! We were also told that we would have to check out and check in to another room the next day. What an inconvenience! We had to pack all of our stuff, stay in our room for over an hour until the wait staff came and moved our things to the new room. The other room was slightly nicer on the 2nd floor, but still underwhelming.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ndgounaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for your recent review of our property. We utilize these reviews to take a good long look at our operation. Your points may or may not be ones that we can fix quickly. Our buildings are of a design that was popular when they were built. We are currently in the process of designing all new facilities that will be modern and have potentially better ocean views. With regards to the room move you experienced those are never easy for you or the staff, we apologize if it was an inconvienence. We hope to see you back at one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at the Blue Water resort and would highly recommend this location. The pictures do not do it justice! The beach was steps away from our room and the view was spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed the variety of activities that were offered each day and found the staff to be very welcoming and accommodating. A special thank you to Heidi at the front desk; she set the tone for our stay and made us feel like valued guests.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canada583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at The Blue Water Resort. Our beach side location and endless list of ongoing activities make it a great family choice. The goal for our continued success is to strive daily to exceed our guest expectations. The management and staff appreciate your kind remarks and also thank you for reviewing your experience overall. We look forward to your return and ask that you take a look at our other six Red Jacket Resorts located on Cape Cod and in the White Mountains of NH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This resort is a nice place for families to stay on their Cape Cod vacation. I was traveling with another adult for a short seaside vacation Aug. 16 - 19. The location is great - off of the main road (Route 28) but still close to all the attractions and restaurants. The grounds are very nice, lots of flowers and - of course - it has its own beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas are available for all guests and the sand is nice and clean (compared to public beaches). There is a pool next to the beach (needs some refurbing) but was clean and inviting on hot days. A beach bar serving food and drinks is right next to the pool/beach and was busy in the evening hours! A band played songs one night on the beach and there was a party like atmosphere which was fun.

But remember - this is a FAMILY resort. Tons of children of all ages - lots of activities for the kids. I could hear the children running through the hallways at night - but it quieted down by 10 pm or so.

Our room was nice and clean. Nothing special. A tiny balcony was attached with 2 chairs but it was too small to sit out there comfortably. I used it for drying my swim suit and towels out.

Warning - there are no elevators at this resort. If stairs are a problem - make sure you request a ground floor room. One morning around 7:30 AM the smoke alarm in the hallway of our building went off and we had to quickly dress and get out of the building and wait for the fire department. It was a false alarm thank God.

Parking is a challenge at this resort as there are not enough spots for everyone. There is an "additional parking lot" across the street - but that was often filled up too! Parking spaces are tiny - making getting in and out of the car challenging at times.

Overall - it was a nice family resort in a beautiful location. I felt it was overpriced - but we stayed during the height of summer season - so I wasn't surprised. But I guess I expected a little more for what I payed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoralExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Resort was beautiful. We had an ocean front room. Woke up to the sound of the ocean every morning. The grounds, beach and pool area was very clean. They keep this place very groomed. They have beach chairs, umbrellas and towels for your convience. Breakfast was great. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room had two double beds, very comfortable, flat screen tv, dvd player, i home clock radio and ipod dock. We had a balcony to watch the sunsets. Plenty of towels in the room. My kids love this place and we will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seabreeze001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
614 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
386 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
319 reviews
13.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £77 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views, including Jacuzzi accommodations. Offering food and beverage services in the dining room and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beachside Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools, jet ski rentals and banana boat rides, basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing