We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Warm and Welcoming Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Water on the Ocean
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Warm and Welcoming Resort”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Just returned from another stay at the Blue Water Resort, part of the Red Jacket Resorts, in South Yarmouth, Massachusetts, following an annual golf outing with a great group of longtime friends. Our resort of choice: The Blue Water. The Blue Water has been our choice for accommodations for the past many years, too many to count, for a variety of reasons.

LOCATION:

The Blue Water is situated Mid-Cape so that travel to anywhere on Cape Cod is convenient. From this location, one can take advantage of all the activities the Cape has to offer. Beaching, golfing, biking, water sports, dining, shopping, trips to the islands, whale watches, harbor tours, antiquing, visiting historical and cultural sites, touring the National Seashore etc., are all popular Cape Cod activities. The resort is very close to Rt. 28 which is a main thoroughfare, filled with a multitude of restaurants. The resort is also not far from Hyannis Center and Hyannis Harbor.

BEACH:

The Blue Water is an ocean front resort with its own private beach on Nantucket Sound. The beach is picturesque, and the water is very gentle, with little or no surf, and a very gradual incline along the sandy bottom. It would be an extremely safe beach for families with children. It is a great walking beach as it is about a 25 minute walk from the borders of Bass River and the fishing pier, to Parker’s River which define the beach length. This beach is also good for shelling. Many rooms have balconies that directly overlook the water, sand, and dunes; beautiful to look at any time of the year.

ROOMS:

The Blue Water offers a variety of accommodations from standard motel rooms, to efficiency units, suites, and cottages. All units are extremely clean and well cared for. While this is an older resort, it adds to the property’s character, and is beautifully maintained. The grounds are well manicured with pretty lawn areas and attractive plantings. Each type of accommodation has an outside sitting area. Our group particularly enjoys the efficiency units, “Edge of the Sea”, with their balconies that provide an ocean view – they are just steps away from the sand and water. These rooms are extremely comfortable, sleeping three, with a roomy bathroom, fridge, sink, microwave, and coffee maker. There is a pleasant sitting area right outside of these units with grouping of tables and chairs in a lovely lawn area overlooking the ocean. There is some parking available adjacent to these efficiency rooms which makes it very convenient.

AMENITIES:

The Blue Water has an indoor heated pool, whirlpool spa, sauna, very attractive outdoor pool overlooking the ocean, along with a delightful sun deck facing the ocean. A restaurant, breakfast room, and cocktail lounge with scheduled live entertainment on Saturday night is also on site. During the high season there is added live entertainment. There is also an in-season children’s program.

SERVICE:

Service, with real warmth and friendliness, was outstanding from the front desk staff, waiters/waitresses in the restaurant, bartenders in the lounge, clerks in the convenience shop, maintenance workers, etc. Kudos to the management team and staff for making service and customer satisfaction their top priority. Their staff hospitality is appreciated. It is indeed a pleasure to be a guest at this resort.

MISCELLANEOUS:

The Blue Water is open from late April to October. There are some special packages with discount rates available off-season. Cape Cod definitely has appeal year round, and each season has its offerings. Do drop by a Cape Cod Visitor’s Center, in various locations, to find out all the Cape has to offer.

To conclude, through our stays, we have found that the Blue Water certainly has its share of repeat customers. Our group is testimony that outstanding, hospitable service, an inviting atmosphere, and customer satisfaction are very much valued. THANKS BLUE WATER! We are already looking forward to our visit next year.

Room Tip: "Edge of the Sea" rooms are very comfortable with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank School's Out 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for your recent stay and submitting your review regarding your time spent with us at Blue Water. The staff and management team do everything in our power to insure that our property and service are exceeding your expectations. We value the fact that you chose our property over the numerous other resorts that Cape Cod has to offer. This year we have refurbished our dining rooms and some of the cottages and rooms. We also opened a new Market Place which caters to our guests for additional items you may need while visiting. Please join us again this season and when in New Hampshire please check out our two resort properties in North Conway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    90
    38
    22
    6
See reviews for
108
80
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Needed a getaway, decided to drive to the cape. Found this place driving around to the beaches. Rooms a little outdated, but clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and gave many recommendations on where to go for Dinner and gave me very good directions. Well worth the drive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the oceanfront the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Excellent location. You are right on the beach. Service is very good. Rooms need little update but we were hardly in the room. My kids loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sri1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. The management and staff strive daily to be polite, friendly and have the guests as our priority while they are on the property. We continue to make improvements to our buildings, pools, restaurants and offerings every year. The summer season will kick off in late June and we look forward to serving our new and returning patrons. We hope to see you and your family back at our resort before the season is over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

When they say "on the water",they are telling the truth! You could surfcast off the balcony!
I found this gem by mistake while traveling out of town...
The staff are really cool,drinks are cold,view is one of the best and the rooms are nice/updated/clean.
I travel alot and this place was worth it ,totally beats the cookie cutter hotel chains I usally find!
Given their location ,summer has to be crazy book early!

Room Tip: Balcony ocean view is the spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTTopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Our thanks for staying at Blue Water Resort. The entire management team and staff focus on details to enhance each and every guest's stay. The location we have is tremendous and we strive to exceed expectations. In season we offer a full schedule of children and family activities and boast having the finest white sandy private beach on Cape Cod. Please come and stay with us again and we would like you to know about our six other Red Jacket Resorts. Each Resort has the same goal of taking great care of our visiting guests.Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, ME
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here with my husband and our small dog. I don't mind paying extra for the dog, but when I do I expect that I will not be housed in rooms that are substandard for the facility. If I choose to stay at a place where I do not have to pay for the dog, then I am willing to be more flexible on this point, but the Blue Water charges a pretty hefty pet fee, and then you are put in a room that smells, is dark and dank, and reminds me of a chain motel I would find pulling off the New York turnpike. The only place to walk your dog is across a busy road in a parking lot. Don't bother to complain. They give you some song and dance about having to make ALL their patrons happy....I guess they just want some happier than others. I would not call them PET FRIENDLY. Pet tolerant at best. I have driven coast to coast several times with my dog, and this is probably the most expensive UNPLEASANT pet experience I have had. They should stop taking pets, because they only want the extra money they get for it. My dog hated it here. And so did I.

Room Tip: Don't take a pet there if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Augusta_MEJRTlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our resort. The review is not consistent with the information we have in our records. I will point these out for reference and for other guests to read and take note. The pet fee which you stated was large was 25 dollars at the time of your stay well below any other resorts in our area. The Blue Water Resort opens each year for the season during the last week of April. The room you were staying in was a pet friendly room that was renovated in the spring of 2011 and you were the first registered guest of our season to occupy that particular room. The description you posted does not match the room and again we want other readers to be aware of some very misleading points you posted. The management and staff take great pride in operating our resorts and strive by the hour to give our guests and their pets the finest accommodations and service available anywhere. The resorts were for many many years not pet friendly establishments, how ever we decided a few years back to change that and welcome pets and their owners with open arms and provide excellent service and comfort to all. The guests who do travel with pets are welcomed with a clean dog bed, and package containing some pet gifts, clean up bags, a map for walking areas, and a bowl for water and food. It is our pleasure to continue to welcome all our guests and provide them with a memorable , comfortable and unforgettable stay . We certainly hope we cleared up and misconceptions the review you posted may have caused. The Blue Water Resort will open for the season on April 27th 2012 and we would very much like to see you and other pet owners back for another great season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Location for getting around the Cape was excellent and being right on the water a real plus. Was not pleased with the suite we had -- not for $275 a night for our first two nights. It had very outdated furnishings -- 1990s bedspreads and drapes, and furniture that was old and uncomfortable if you just wanted to hang out on a rainy day. A renovation for this type of unit would be in order -- especially get rid of the frayed carpeting and put in tile. It would give it a feeling of being clean and welcoming. The staff was most helpful when asked, but I was disappointed that the lobby area was not disability friendly and my being in a wheelchair made it difficult to do business at the front desk when needed. No ramps for entering or exiting that area from the parking lot. Probably would not recommend to friends given the price we paid for the week.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jkbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for your recent stay and your review. The resort is constantly being updated to keep it up to our standards. We have future plans to potentially rebuild these buildings completely. The location is tremendous and offering a private beach and pristine grounds have always been a priority for our company and we will continue this tradition. The challenge for us is to keep our older facilities in excellent condition so our guests can enjoy the natural beauty and numerous services that we offer our guests.
We hope you retrun to one of our seven Red Jacket Resorts in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Booked for 5 days and have been here 2 days already and everything is just perfect..Location, very very hard to beat...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIVBEACHBassRiver, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you for staying with us here at Blue Water Resort. The report you sent is shared by numerous loyal guests who return year after year. Our job is insure all our guests experience our resort as you and your family have. We hope to see you back next season at one of our five Cape Cod Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
580 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,206 reviews
13.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Property: Blue Water on the Ocean
Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views, including Jacuzzi and pet friendly accommodations. Offering food and beverage services in the dining oom and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beachside Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools, jet ski rentals and banana boat rides, basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing