We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but very, very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Water on the Ocean
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I visited the property for two nights. I wasn't expecting much of the room itself. It was clean but very basic. It is ocean front, so it has incredible views. The disappointment came during the night. The walls seem to be paper thing, you can hear everything that is going on next door or outside. There was a wedding party the last night I stayed, and the guests decided to hang out outside, which it was exactly below or room. They were very, very noisy. After 11:00 pm I called the front desk twice to complain, but they did nothing about it. I had to go outside myself and asked politely to take the party somewhere else. Thankfully, they listened and felt bad, and they left. At checkout, the front desk asked me how was our stayed. I told her about the incident and didn't really acknowledge dthe issue. Very disappointing from what it suppose to be a well know resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

The management and entire team here at Blue Water Resort apologize for the active restaurant and lounge activity that you experienced during your recent stay. After reviewing your reservation I noticed we had upgraded you from your original Expedia reservation to a room with an ocean view. We certainly had a busy weekend and entertained guests from wedding parties to annual returning groups to social guests just like yourselves. We strive to keep everyone happy and unfortunately sometimes we fall short as not every guest enjoys the same thing. I would like very much if you could contact me via email at jverity@bluewater-resort.com so I can discuss the evening with you. Thank you for review and staying with us last weekend. John Verity General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Blue Water on the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Blue Water for the past 7 years. As a couple we stayed in a regular hotel room both ocean front and garden view. Rooms are a good size and nicely updated. The private beach is just steps away and both the indoor and outdoor pool are well maintained. Once we welcomed our twin girls a few years ago we started renting a family suite. The wallpaper in the bathroom and some of the finishes could stand to be updated but as a whole we love the family suite. We have two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and dresser and one with two twin beds and a dresser. Perfect for our family of four. It's extremely convenient and cost effective to have a full kitchen. We are able to do some of our meals right in our suite instead of having to eat out for every meal. We continue to be happy with the Blue Water each year which is why we come back every year. A great stay for families.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only really good view of the ocean from the room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les91178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent stay and nice review to follow. We have a tremndous location on the warm waters of Nantucket sound and offer numerous room options and tremendous guest service. The entire team takes great pride in providing a memorable experience to all our new and returning guests. Please come back and stay at Blue Water or any of our other six Red Jcaket Resorts now or in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We chose to visit this property after the "rush" of high season for a quick getaway.
The resort was really empty which was kind of nice.
The pool and Jacuzzi were so relaxing and the beach walks were well enjoyed.
They have great outdoor chairs with fantastic views and a very nice outdoor pool as well.
We opted to have breakfast at the Red Jacket(their sister property) and the service we got from Yeddy our server and the lovely hostess was EXCELLENT and the food was hearty and delicious. Amy at the front desk was super efficient and so pleasant, she really made sure to make our stay exceptional and she did especially with an upgrade which was very gracious.
The only discouraging factor was that our room wasn't really deep cleaned and the tables and fridge area was not clean but I think that was because it was not our assigned room to begin.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the 400 buildings(oceanfront)
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RitaJane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and also for pointing out all the items we offer here at Blue Water Resort on the ocean. Our team is dedicated to making your stay a memorable one. Please come visit us or another Red Jacket Resort in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Couldnt find a much nicer hotel than this. The staff was extraordinary. The breakfast was very good and reasonable. A little disappointed in the dinner, but with all the restaurants in the area there are plenty to go to. Breakfast was the most important to me. In and out and off for the day nice and early. The rooms were GREAT. Well kept, large, ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker and fridge all supplied. We did walk by a room that had a washer and dryer in it as well. Thought that would be a nice touch for families. Table and chair outside your door. Nice deck that had beach chairs as well as plenty of chairs on the beach. Request Ocean Front!!! Free wi-fi that had a great signal. We went Sept 19th so it was off season and wasnt crowded at all. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises. Highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trapezegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for your rcent stay and for taking time to review your recent experience here at Blue Water Resort. The team works very hard to make sure all our guests receive great service, outsatnding food and beverage and awesome accommodations! Hope to see you back again this winter in New Hampshire or next season at one of our Cape Cod properties!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My family and I returned to the Blue Water Resort for the second time this summer. Our stay was superb. From the initial check-in to the final check-out, the staff and the accommodations were superb. Our room, 102, had a wonderful ocean view from our own private deck. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with many flowering plants that are well maintained. The motel has both a heated indoor pool and an outdoor heated pool.

When walking the grounds and traveling through the building, we were always greeted by the friendly staff. They were eager to help in any way. The staff really made one feel that one was important. The motel is right on the ocean and having a large private beach area with lounge chairs and umbrellas.

The motel also has a restaurant in the building serving breakfast everyday and dinner on weekend nights. Again, the wait staff was very friendly and helpful.

Overall, this was a great vacation for me and my family. We are looking forward to returning there next summer.

TFE, Foxboro, MA

Room Tip: Rooms with numbers 101-104 and 201-204 face the ocean. Other rooms have ocean view, some limited.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

It is our pleasure to have folks such as you who truly appreciate the great things about our one of a kind ocean front family friendly resort. Our staff and manager's take pride in all we have to offer! We certainly hope you and your family plan to visit us again here on Cape Cod or in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire! Thank you for staying and taking time to send in your review of your most recent experience at Blue Water-Riviera Beach Resort's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It's listed on Trip Advisor as Blue Water on the Ocean, but in reality [on hotels.com and at the motel itself], the motel is dubbed Red Jacket Blue Water Resort. Like many "resorts" in Cape Cod and the Islands, this "resort" is really a 2 star motel. The rooms are quite dingy and old... mildew in the shower, and our room overlooked the trash bins. When you're paying $250ish a night, you expect, well, a resort, not an old motel with vinyl siding and a really dated motel room. [For example, I paid about this in high season in San Juan, PR, Cancun, MX, and Playa del Carmen, Mexico and all three were amazing, all-inclusive luxury properties.]

Anyway, here are the pros [already listed the cons!]:
-beach is really gorgeous, and the water is warm. It's definitely convenient to step right out on to the beach
-handy that towels, beach chairs, and umbrellas are provided, and there is an ample supply
-pools are nice and clean and you have use of the other pools on their adjacent Red Jacket property
-they are making a good effort to be resort-like in that there are activities provided for the kiddos, like a magician and other events: this is nice.
-all the staff we met were very friendly
-the grounds have lovely flowers and are well kept up

And if you're reading these reviews, Blue Water, you should consider the following improvements:
-scrap that awful vinyl siding, yuck
-clean up your rooms and update them so they don't look like the early 90's
-scrap that dreary music you have piping through the halls and into everyone's bathrooms
-clean up the public bathrooms, yuck.
Lots of potential, good luck!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Thank you for staying at The Blue Water-Riviera Beach Resort located on our own white private warm water sandy beach. we strive day and night to create a memorable experience for all who stay! Hope to see you return this fall or next summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Second time. If you're looking for a modern spa experience, Blue Water is not for you. If you're looking for a place on the water where your kids can run around like you used to on vacation-this place is for you. Outdoor movie nights, music on the beach. Heated in/out door pools. An amazing relaxed atmosphere and excellent staff-each one friendly than the last. Good restaurant. The rooms are 70s, but clean. Great Mid-Cape location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnQDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John V, General Manager at Blue Water on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We thank you very much for your recent stay and also for taking time send in your review. Our properties all have wonderful locations with beautiful grounds, pools and beach front access. We certainly hope you and your family return soon to one of our popular Red Jacket Resorts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
1.0 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
611 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
383 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
319 reviews
13.3 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water on the Ocean

Address: 291 South Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5845
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £85 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water on the Ocean 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 feet of private sandy beach on the warm waters of Nantucket Sound, Blue Water is the ideal resort for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or an extended family gathering. The resort boasts 113 guest rooms and cottages, most with patio or balcony featuring stunning ocean and garden views, including Jacuzzi accommodations. Offering food and beverage services in the dining room and lounge, as well as catering for private parties of up to 75 people. Also, our popular beachside Cabana Bar & Grill serves food and drink favorites during the summer season. In addition to the private beach, resort amenities include indoor and outdoor heated pools, jet ski rentals and banana boat rides, basketball court, putting green, and game arcade. Kids’ Klub, a supervised children’s program is offered during summer season along with a full complement of family activities, including hermit crab races, kite making, sand sculpting contests, swim instruction, Wii tournaments, bonfire nights, fun clowns, magic and pirate adventure weeks, and musical entertainment throughout the summer season on a complimentary basis to resort guests. Open from late April until late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Blue Water on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Water On The Ocean South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing