We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Infested with carpet beetles”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Rock Resort
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Infested with carpet beetles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I stayed here for two nights and it was a big disappointment. I thought as a sister resort of the Red Jacket properties it would be nice, but the property is outdated and needs some help! I must note, however, that the customer service here is great. I was able to check in early and even got my room changed with no hesitation from the staff (I was assigned the infamous poop room [see a traveler's review from July 2012] and didn't want to take any chances).

So, I got a "renovated" room by the pool but it didn't look that updated to me. The wallpaper was peeling, the screen to the patio door was ripped, and the curtains were dirty from squished bugs. The entire room was infested with carpet beetles. Squished bugs could be seen on the walls and ceiling. Not sure why the cleaning people didn't bother to do a better job of cleaning this.

The property where the hotel itself is is beautiful but it is removed from nearby restaurants/shopping. Not a huge deal if you don't mind the drive, but still, it's a drive. The best advantage is you have free access to the sister resorts, so we did spend some time at the private beaches which was nice.

I would have given this hotel an "average" rating but the beetle infestation really got to me. Get an exterminator!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hello voxine

We at Blue Rock apologize that you did not enjoy your stay here with us. I am a little taken back on your review of our newly renovated rooms as we have received such positive feedback. For the bugs, here on the Cape is a constant battle. Having screen doors going out to patio's and exterior entrances do give us a tough time. I thank you for your positive remarks about our team and have passed them along. I hope you visit the Cape again and give us another chance. If you ever have any issues please let us know during your stay as we are better able to rectify your negative situation.

Thanks Team Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    53
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
61
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed 5 nights in mid-August. Rate exceeded $200 on weekend. Room smelled like mildew, probably due to no exhaust fan in bathroom. Room hasn't been updated since 80's - single, formica sink in bathroom, dirty carpet, dirty bathroom, and thick dust on many surfaces. Doubt rooms are ever given a deep cleaning. Sheets and towels o.k. but did not replenish toiletries until 4th day including the soap bars! Old t.v., no in-room movies. Restaurant had limited menu but food good and service very good. No dinner and no room service. Atmosphere also shabby. I agree with earlier review that this isn't a resort - it is a par 3 golf course with a very dated motel. Use of sister property beaches inconvenient. Office staff very nice and helpful. Grounds beautifully maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Resort, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Hello susanburner

We are sorry to see that your stay with us was not up to par. I read that your room cleanliness was below expectations and wish you had notified us during your stay as we could of rectified the situation. I also saw that you where able to take advantage of our oceanfront properties but found the 3 mile commute a little too much. We have been currently updating our guest rooms and have not completed the project as of yet. I do thank you for your kind words about our office staff and will pass your review on.

Thanks Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012 via mobile

I wasn't expecting this would be this nice. The rooms are clean, a little older but still nice! We don't golf but the location was nice because it was peaceful and serene. There were plenty activities at this resort alone. They had tennis courts with rackets, outdoor pool, and more included. The staff is very helpful and friendly and you can get breakfast or lunch right there.
With the other red rock resorts, we went down to use their beaches and staff set us up umbrellas and chairs for free. Very nice

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skierandproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Hello Skierandproud

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are all happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great comments. Reading your review it's great that you where able to get down to our sister properties and utilize there amenities also. Our team loved reading your comments and hope to see you on your next visit.

Thanks, your friends at Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was my family's first trip to Cape Cod and we loved it in fact we are planning to go again next year. The accommodations were terrific and the greatest thing was that you can enjoy all the amenities of the red jacket resorts on the beach which were a quick drive away. The employees (front desk, property manager, waiter, etc.) were very friendly and always helpful with any of our family's needs they go above and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHF26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Hello SHF26

Our whole staff here at Blue Rock would like to thank you for the great write up. We're all happy that you enjoyed your first trip to the Cape and appreciate that you chose us. Also glad to see you took advantage of our 3 sister properties and enjoyed yourselves. Again the entire team would like to say thanks on your kind words about the staff. We hope you will visit the Cape again and choose us on your next visit.

Team Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockport, tx
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

The resort aka old motel is located in an old secluded neighborhood away from any restaurants. The rooms are small with very old beds. The bed was very bad on our backs. The stay and play package is not a value either as the golf course next door is not great either. There is one ice machine located outside of the office. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Hello Richard S

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and do wish you had let us know as we could have changed your room. Our property is nestled in a residential area right on our golf course and is quit. We don't have any restaurants in walking distance but there are many choices right down the road with in 1 and a half miles. As far as our golf course, it is a par 3 but was nominated as one of the best par 3's in the world by Golf Magazine in 2011. If more activity and restaurants within walking distance please try one of our 3 Red Jacket ocean front properties on your next visit to the Cape.

Thanks from the team at Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I have been going to Blue Rock on a Golf package for about 20 years. We have continually found our room clean ,the golf course in great shape and the staff fabulous. Jessica and Cathy at the front desk go out of their way to make us happy as well as Kevin at the bar. Looking forward to returning after Labor Day.

Room Tip: We like the jacuzzi rooms or the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueRockResort, General Manager at Blue Rock Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Hello Mike S

20 Years WOW!!! We at Blue Rock want to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time in writing your review. Jessica, Kathy, and Kevin also appreciate the great comments and glad they where able to accommodate your needs during your stay. We are also glad to see you while be visiting us again shortly.

Thanks, and have a great summer
Your Friends at Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed here on June 28th and June 29th in room 117. Many rooms were blocked for my brothers wedding (June 29th) and we had several family members and friends staying here for the wedding. We checked in Thursday June 28th after 4:00 pm. Upon entering the room (1st floor) it smelled very musty, just not good. Went into the bathroom and there was a big poop with lots of toilet paper, the toilet was clogged. Beyond disgusting. We were shocked and honestly could not believe how this could even happen. The beds were made and the sleeping area appeared clean. So either staff left a poop and clogged the toilet and didn't bother fixing it or someone was able to get into the room after the staff cleaned...either way not good. My husband went down to the main reception and requested the manager come to the room...he did with a plunger and cleaning supplies. He did apologize which we appreciated but at this point I really wanted to check out and go somewhere else. I really wish that we did. It gets worse...

By the time we checked out on Saturday our six year old had bug bites on her face, her arms and her legs. At first we thought that they were mosquito bites. Then Sunday more bites appeared, and even more on Monday...we counted a total of 31 bites on her. She was miserable. The mystery was solved Tuesday night when we found a bed bug on her bed, in our home! We put it in a ziplock and had it confirmed that it is indeed a bed bug. We called the hotel on Wednesday to ask them if they had any recent issues with bed bugs and a woman who answered said sternly- No. We sent the bug to a lab and we will need to have our house treated which is going to cost $2400.00 not to mention that we haven't slept well the past week and my daughter was miserable with bites all over.

If you are considering staying here, be sure to ask management about their cleaning processes and what type of inspections and treatments programs they have in place for pests, specifically bed bugs. Staying here has cost us a small fortune, not worth the money, the stress, or the discomfort!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Blue Rock Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Hello Michelle

Upon the whole team at Blue Rock I want to apologize upon your negative stay at our property. Our team is constantly trying to make our guests have the best stay possible and it seems we fell short on your vacation. I do recall assisting with you during your stay and really regret not being made aware of your daughter’s situation. Not that I may help your situation but we have inspected your guest room and can state that it came up clean. Again I apologize that your stay with us was not to your or our expectations. As you can see with our past reviews we constantly are trying to meet and exceed our guest’s needs and desires. If there is anything further we can help you with please contact us directly

Thank you, Blue Rock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
3.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
4.1 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 20 in Falmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
9.7 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
11.7 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Rock Resort

Property: Blue Rock Resort
Address: 39 Todd Rd, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-2069
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort features 44 comfortable rooms, suites and Club House apartment overlooking gardens and scenic greens. Great choice for families with young children and couples looking for the serenity Cape Cod has to offer. After a full day of sightseeing and activities, the peaceful charm of our Cape Cod resort is the perfect place to relax. Located on the award winning Blue Rock Golf Course, rated one of the "Top Places to Play" by Golf Digest. Blue Rock is a meticulously maintained par-3 golf course. Discover why golfers - and overnight guests - return time and time again to this lovely setting. Affiliation with 3 nearby beach front resorts with free access to beach, indoor & outdoor heated pools, spa, live entertainment,seasonal fully supervised children's programs and a variety of fun family activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Rock Golf Hotel South Yarmouth
Best Western South Yarmouth
South Yarmouth Best Western
Blue Rock Resort South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing