We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded our expectations! BEAUTIFUL, Accomadating & simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

MY husband and I stayed at CAptain Farris house for our 5th year wedding anniversary. From the moment i booked our stay Nancy was so accomidating. She helped me to find and book a couples massage for us and her recommendation was top notch! We were completely blown away by the whole experience. The Inn is so beautiful, quite and quant. We stayed in Russell''s Hideway and it was everything i hoped for an dmore. Far exceeded any expectations. The staff at the INN was AMAZING! I cannot say enough about this place. My husband and I plan to come back every year for our anniversary and we know exactly where we are staying! We have recruited some family members and passed on the good word. We are in LOVE with this place. If you are looking for a gorgeous, quite, accomendating place with excellant staff look no farther than the Farris House. The rooms are comfy and clean. You can tell that NAncy takes pride in the Inn. HIGHLY recommonded

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Star, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of us and for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your couples massage and your stay. It was truly our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for choosing the Captain Farris House and for recommending us! We hope to see you again next year.
Best,
Nancy & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed for an overnight at the Captain Farris and we highly recommend it! We stayed in Room 6 on the second floor- beautiful sitting area in a separate room, comfortable bed with super soft sheets and blankets. Bathroom was very large, great shower and water pressure. Inn is quiet; great location on the Cape- Delicious breakfast - gorgeous fruit salad, homemade apple pancakes and syrup. Plenty of coffee and juice and a delicious blueberry muffin. Staff is super friendly! Fresh cookies in the afternoon. Beautiful sitting room off the main entry. We had a lovely stay! Great value for your money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review of us. It is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again sometime.
Best,
Nancy & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I booked this b&b becuase of all the raving review on trip advisor, and i was not disappointed. It was prettier than the pictures show, with a nice large yard and beautiful rooms. The common area was larger than i am used to, and unlike other B&B's you have access to the kitchen, to keep your leftovers or microwave some popcorn.
the innkeeper, Jann- was welcoming and friendly. Even though she is filling in there, she showed a pride in keeping the inn, as if it was her own. She prepared great breakfasts, and checked with us in advance to see if we had any special dietary needs.
We stayed in Room one on the first floor, with access to the front porch from a side door, and a private bathroom.

the linens on the bed were exceptionally soft and cozy

the town itself, although small, has some things you can walk to from the b&b, and there is a cultural center right across the street with art exhibits and other things going on. there are several restaurants within walking distance, and if you are up for it, the beach is a scenic 2 mile run (4 miles round trip)

i was here on business, but i would suggest this for anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry we weren't here to meet you personally. Jan is a our interim innkeeper for the month of May and our guests have enjoyed her as well as her wonderful breakfasts. We hope to have you back when you can spend more time with us.
Best,
Nancy & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

There is no need to look any further for accommodations while visiting on the Cape! This is my 3rd time staying at Captain Farris Inn. Located in the middle of Cape Cod, you can catch a ferry to Nantucket or Martha's Vineyard in Hyannis ( about 15 minutes ride to boat), shop the boutiques, thrifts, consignments, and eat dinner at the many good restaurants from family fare to high end up and down the Cape.
Captain Farris Inn is run/owned by Nancy. She is a gem! Her attention to detail is impeccable! The rooms are spotless, with private "spa like" bathrooms and are very spacious. We stayed at Russell's Hideaway each time. Breakfast every morning is a delight from the smell of fresh brewing coffee to the baking of muffins. Each day is a new experience, from home made Belgium waffles with fresh fruit, to egg casseroles individually made. Nancy's staff is wonderful and a delight! Always smiling and willing to accommodate her guests, you will not be disappointed with your stay. I guarantee that you will want to come back again and again like me!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adventuregirl1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Gina and Anita is was so wonderful to see your smiling faces walk through our door again! We love seeing our many returning guests year after year, and we so much appreciate all of you. We hope your birthday was wonderful Anita. Our breakfast room is a bit quiet without you! Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write your kind review of us. Have a wonderful summer and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best,
Nancy & Michael
PS: Gina, don't forget to call us with any "news" ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the Captain Farris Bed & Breakfast to celebrate our anniversary. Upon my request, there were amazing chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine with a pink rose waiting for us as we entered our room. We stayed in the Irma Farris Suite and it was a beautiful, elegant but comfortable room. My wife especially enjoyed the powder room portion of our bathroom. Nancy made us feel right at home as soon as we arrived. We had access to a fridge full of cold beverages, hot tea, coffee, amazing chocolate chip cookies, chips, popcorn, etc. everyday, as she welcomes the guests to help themselves. In the morning, if you want coffee before breakfast is served, just peek your head into the kitchen and she'll gladly brew a fresh pot! The breakfasts were so delicious and looked amazing, so much so that we took pictures of our plates. The house is beautiful, warm and welcoming. There's even a Dunkin Donuts within walking distance!
There is no doubt me and my wife will be staying at the Captain Farris again! We will be recommending this B&B to friends and family!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ejsupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review of us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your room and your stay. We missed you at breakfast on the day of your departure but we were happy to fix you a breakfast to go bag! Have a wonderful summer and we hope to see you again soon.
Best,
Nancy & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is one of the nicest B & Bs we have ever stayed in. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast is amazing, and the owners are extremely accommodating for whatever you need. The entire inn is immaculate. The rooms are large, well appointed, and with private baths. We had to leave early on the day of departure, and because we would miss breakfast, Nancy left us fresh muffins and juice to take on the road with us. The inn is centrally located on the Cape which makes easy driving to any of the area attractions. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valerie46093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you so much Valerie for your nice review of us. I miss seeing your smiling faces each morning! I am happy to hear you had a nice visit and I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best,
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I had a stay in Aunt Liddy's room. This immaculate inn is amazing in many ways. The decor is so beautiful I had to take a million pictures with my iphone. Our room had a four poster bed that was stunning, fireplace fun and the linens were gorgeous. It was so immaculate, I had to ask if it was brand new!! The inn was complete and we felt like we were staying in a home as lovely as our own. The breakfast was delicious and we were so comfortable we will be back. Thank you Nancy for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: The website is perfect and pic any room they were all gorgeous and call Nancy, she will help!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cheryl I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capt308, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Thank you so very much for your kind words and for taking the time to write your review of us. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our bed and breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best,
Nancy & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
12.1 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
6.8 mi away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#4 of 10 in Brewster
567 reviews
8.5 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Inn at Cape Cod
The Inn at Cape Cod
#3 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
305 reviews
4.4 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
882 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 308 Old Main St, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £135 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth. Each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable, all with private baths. Most of our rooms have double Jacuzzis,fireplaces and walk out decks. Each morning enjoy our seasonal full breakfast served at your own table for two. Afternoon teas and cookies and evening cordials also included. We are located close to beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, fine and casual dining, shopping and all that Cape Cod has to offer. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing