We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
282
15
6
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
15
6
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfasthomemade cookiesb and belopement packagecape codport wineamazing hostsfrittatahouse is beautifulnew englandbreakfast was amazingeach morningsitting roomgreat bedbelgian wafflesa wonderful staygas fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We stayed at a few different places on our honeymoon. The CFH was by far the best mix of accomodations, service, and ambiance. Our three nights there will always be unforgettable. They thought of everything...from wifi to restaurant menus with directions to videos and brochures. Nancy and Michael were marvelous hosts and they gave us excellent referrals for things to do in the area. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank bjam_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

My stay in Aunt Lidia's room at the Captain Farris House could not have been more perfect. From the owners, Nancy and Michael, who made me feel like family, to their staff who were cheerful, friendly, and helpful, to the wonderful home-made breakfasts, to the grounds in the fall in New England. And I have never stayed in a cleaner or more comfortable B&B. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Lumenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

The Captain Farris House is by far the best Bed & Breakfast I have ever stayed at!! The rooms are tastefully decorated and so warm and cozy. The jacuzzi was wonderful and the bed was so comfy. This was a definitely a great call for a little R&R.

The staff was warm and friendly and of course breakfast was delicious!! We had such a wonderful weekend here and look forward to coming back for many more weekend getaways!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank LMP74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

This is the best Bed and Breakfast my husband and I have ever been to. The rooms are very private and big with a gas fireplace and a jacuzzi. In the morning they serve at your own private table a three course breakfast such as a homemade muffin, fresh fruit cup and a hot main dish. We go there twice a year and have looked forward to our weekend getaways for the past five years. This is our home away from home and have no problems sleeping in their king size bed with the most comfortable linens. The owners are Nancy and Mike and they make you feel at home. In the afternoon they leave homemade baked goods with tea or coffee in their garden room which is so nice to come back to after being gone most of the day.
They also have movies and popcorn to take up to your room if you want to stay in at night by the warm fireplace . Or they recommend and have menus of some great resturants to try . The best part is every shop or beach or dinning is within minutes. We highly recommend this great get away to any couple that needs run away for a few days..

Barbara and Frank Lee
Barrington RI

7  Thank BarringtonTilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2008

Stayed here for three nights; never introduced to the hosts although we guessed that the host-on-a-short-fuse who told us where to find hot water one evening was Michael. Also, found out by accident that one of the women in the kitchen in the mornings was the other host. Never asked how we were; how the room was etc - just found the key where they left it and did it ourselveds.

Breakfast nothing special but lots of fandango. First a muffin. Then, later, a fruit cup. Then later, maybe pancakes or something. No bacon, eggs or anything like that. We thought that was strange as the breakfasts are hyped on the website.

We had a room (Russells Hideaway) which was boiling with no aircon available, and which directly opens onhto the kitchen where the breakfast was being made at 7.30 am amid loud talking and banging of doors. Judging by the reviews, other bedrooms are a better option. After a wonderful stay in Boston with great breakfasts and quiet rooms, this was a disappointment. ALso, NOTHING TO DO in South Yarmouth - would advise staying nearer Chatham and being within easy reach of the whole Cape.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank remillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captnfarris, Owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2008

Regarding our guest remillion from England, we were very surprised when we received this review as Nancy and our employee Gail both asked them on the morning of check-out if everything was okay with their stay and they answered to us at separate times "everything was lovely"... we wished that they told us they were warm in the room as we would have been happy to have given them air conditioning. Also as far as the noise, it was possibly other guests making noise as our kitchen staff or I do not even go into the kitchen until 8:00am and we have never had a complaint about noise. Again, if they told us they were not happy with their room choice, we would have been happy to offer them another room. We are not sure who the "host on a short fuse" was but Michael was in New Jersey visiting family during their visit so it was not him. It had to be another guest that directed "remillion" to our water. We do our best to introduce ourselves to all of our guests but it is possible that we missed introducing ourselves to this couple. We will continue to try to improve on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews