We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A truly delightful stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Captain Ferris for four nights during mid-May and enjoyed it very much. It was everything we were looking for in a B&B. The rooms were clean, the service was exemplary, the breakfasts were excellent and the hospitality of our hosts was outstanding in all respects. The house's mid-Cape location is ideal.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VALuv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    15
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
199
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Wonderful Weekend



The Captain Farris House is a charming antique inn. The innkeepers, breakfasts, our room and atmosphere were all wonderful.

Location is perfect to get around to dining and attractions. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmdimare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachucetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

We highly recommend The Captain Farris House. We stayed here for 3 nights in late October and really enjoyed it. Our room was cozy, beautiful and very clean. Breakfast each morning was something we looked forward to as it was always plentiful and delicious. Nancy and her staff go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. We are looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thegoldenchild126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

This is a bed and breakfast, so it does not have all the frills that a large hotel has, however it has wonderful rooms and suites, Our room had a bedroom, living room with a gas fireplace and a full bath with a jacuzzi. This is a wonderful place to go for a relaxing week or weekend. It is close to beaches, restaurants and shopping. It is centrally located on the Cape, so anything you may want to do is less than an hour away. The staff is friendly and helpful and they serve a great breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We just returned from a five night stay. This B and B is everything everyone says it is. I have used TripAdvisor for years to research our lodging, but never joined to write a review. However, Nancy and Michael run such a first class operation, I wanted to add my comments and thanks to them. Everything was outstanding. Thanks Michael for lugging our suitcases up and down those stairs. I would suggest anyone staying there in cool weather choose the Captain Farris suite. The fireplace in the sitting room heats up the area in nothing flat. And don't plan on three meals a day, as Nancy's breakfast will carry you through until dinner time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

what to say about captain farris that has not already been said?? my boyfriend and i stayed here for a weekend in august 2009. we had the pleasure of staying in the beautiful aunt liddy's room. not only did the room have a beautiful four poster bed, but also had a big bathroom with jacuzzi tub (provided with bath salts and oil), a gas fireplace and a wonderful deck. we enjoyed many of our days out on the deck with a bottle of wine. it was quite nice and relaxing.

the breakfast was absolutely fantastic and and i can't stop raving about the granola pancakes which nancy cooked up for us. sunday's breakfast was quite delicious as well - egg and cheese wrapped in a tortilla with sausage links and fresh fruit. the staff was always friendly and helpful and always had a smile on their face.

location is pretty good - mid cape and just a short walk to the bass river. it's right near 28 so there are a couple of places where you can go for dinner and ice cream.

i almost didn't want to write a review because i wanted to keep this a secret. but... i have to give nancy plenty of credit for maintaining such a great house - including the gardens and a wonderful movie selection as well. her hospitality is second to none. two thumbs up. thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cats77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Nancy and her staff provided everything needed for a perfect stay. Our room (Bray) was large and comfortable, breakfast everyday was outstanding. Nancy's idea of a B&B is for the guests to treat the place like it is their own, which is the perfect way to run a B&B. I would highly recommend the Captain Farris House to any couple looking for a private retreat in a quiet location, yet close enough to everything on the Cape.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
3.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,221 reviews
4.7 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
1,079 reviews
1.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
591 reviews
10.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 308 Old Main St, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth. Each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable, all with private baths. Most of our rooms have double Jacuzzis,fireplaces and walk out decks. Each morning enjoy our seasonal full breakfast served at your own table for two. Afternoon teas and cookies and evening cordials also included. We are located close to beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, fine and casual dining, shopping and all that Cape Cod has to offer. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing