We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2007

My fiancee and I had a great time at Captain's Farris House, it was truly a great experience. Everybody was supernice. The rooms were extremely clean and the service was outstanding. They really make you feel welcome. The B&B has a lot of little details that make your stay even better. Having breakfast in the main dining room as an experience by itself. Will come back again...!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank new_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2007

If you are looking to enjoy a wonderfully warm, charming and relaxing environment - look no further - The Captain Farris Inn is the place to go! The Inn itself is spectacular and the hosts, Nancy and Michael were exceptional, meeting all our needs. The breakfast was out of this world! It's a great spot if you want to go as a couple or with a group of friends, which we are looking to do soon! We highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank fooch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2007

After doing extensive research on B&B's in the area, my husband and I decided to stay at The Captain Farris House for a romantic getaway. It was wonderful! The house was tastefully decorated and well-kept, the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean and the breakfast was superb. Mike & Nancy, the inn keepers, were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We truly had a great experience and highly recommend you visit this B&B. The location was also very convenient, there are several restaurants within a walking/short driving distance as well as beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank travelwizzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

I had always dismissed the idea of staying in a B&B for fear that I would feel as if I were a guest in a strange person’s house. Mike, Nancy and the rest of the staff were the perfect hosts and made it possible for me to relax, unwind and enjoy myself. I now eagerly wait for the next available weekend that my wife and I can head back up to the Captain Farris House.

The house itself is a magnificent work of art. It has a great layout providing you with plenty of privacy and the rooms are clean, spacious, warm and inviting. Mike and Nancy are masterful in providing a personalized helpful and thoughtful service without being overbearing.

By the way, the nearby scenery is amazing and the breakfast and afternoon cookies were probably the best part of the entire experience.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Mayorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2007

A phonomenal place. We stayed for a few days the begining of January in the Honey Moon Suite located in the carriage house...an old charming house built in 1825. The suite which is located on the entire second floor was spotless and so romantic!...the Inn is located perfectly to get to shopping or beach...the breakfast was 5 star, fresh and cooked to perfection...we can't wait to retun during the summer and enjoy the warm weather charm experience of the Inn...A must stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank pjdMarblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2007

Stayed at the Captain Farris House last September for a two night getaway. Overall experience was pleasant but a couple of points to be aware of.

We stayed in the honeymoon suite. Nice rooms (although the bedroom was small) but it was less than 10 feet from the street and the traffic noise in the early morning was very loud. Rooms were clean and well furnished except for the bathroom which had cobwebs hanging from the cieling and broken tiles at the front of the tub.

Nice proximity to shore (by car or bike) and breakkfast was very well done.

Could have been worse but would have been better if we had known about the noise and the bath was cleaner.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Traveler9028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captnfarris, owner at Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2007

Our carriage house was built in the early 1800's so it was built about 5 feet back from the sidewalk as they built homes at that time. Unfortunately, it is possible to hear cars drive by, but it is typically not a problem for our guests. As for the 2 cracked tiles around the Jacuzzi, this suite was occupied every day and we didn’t want to inconvience our guests by having someone go into their room to repair the tiles that were accidentally cracked in the late summer, so it was first on the list for the off-season repairs. We are not sure how those cob-webs got away from our housekeepers...but we will say...you will NEVER see another one here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

We were extremely impressed with the Captain Farris Inn!!
We were in need of a relaxing getaway and when we pulled up to the Inn, we were really pleased!
We were warmly greeted by Nancy who is such a wonderful Host!
Our room was more than what we expected! We didn't want to leave!!!!
The location is great , nearby Restaurants and shopping, all within walking distance!
We are planning to go back with a group of friends again within the next few months!!!
A must Stay!!!!!

Stayed: December 2006
9  Thank soupMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
12.1 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
6.8 mi away
Brewster By The Sea Inn
Brewster By The Sea Inn
#4 of 10 in Brewster
567 reviews
8.5 mi away
Captain Freeman Inn
Captain Freeman Inn
#1 of 10 in Brewster
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Inn at Cape Cod
The Inn at Cape Cod
#3 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
305 reviews
4.4 mi away
Liberty Hill Inn
Liberty Hill Inn
#1 of 8 in Yarmouth Port
882 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Old Harbor Inn
The Old Harbor Inn
#1 of 9 in Chatham
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 308 Old Main St, Bass River Village, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-4530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £135 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully restored bed and breakfast is ideally located on mid Cape Cod in the historic Bass River Village of South Yarmouth. Each room/suite is individually decorated and comfortable, all with private baths. Most of our rooms have double Jacuzzis,fireplaces and walk out decks. Each morning enjoy our seasonal full breakfast served at your own table for two. Afternoon teas and cookies and evening cordials also included. We are located close to beaches, Nantucket and Martha's Vineyard ferry, fine and casual dining, shopping and all that Cape Cod has to offer. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Farris House Cape Cod Hotel South Yarmouth
The Captain Farris House
Captain Farris House Bed & Breakfast South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing