We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated us like family”
Review of Windjammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windjammer
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had 6 rooms and 15 people in our party and everyone loved the Windjammer. MaryEllen, Vicky and Barbara were the perfect hosts. One family had to leave early due to a sick child and Mary Ellen promptly credited the rate on the same day! There is nothing like great personal service. They were very attentive to the needs of our 87 year old father. The rooms were not new but very very clean. The pool area with gas grills was a great place to hang out. The beach is right across the street. Couldn't be better. Hope we can visit again.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms face the pool so there really is not a bad spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

You could'nt ask for more from a hotel staff. Very helpfull on attractions, restaurants etc.. Older motel that could use a little updating but was comfortable and clean. Swimming pool, gas grills and an endless pot of coffee all day! Across the street from the beach. Very good restaurant next door.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room (seperate bedroom) which was good with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregNFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We love coming here every year! Great location across from the beach, quiet neighborhood. We like to take our bikes fom here and pedal around the well kept neighborhood and along the Bass River. You can sit overlookiing the outdoor pool from the chairs in front of your room. The rooms have refrigerators, a handy sink in the sleeping area along with the bathroom sink, a table to eaat your beakfast or lunch at. We find it handy to bring cereal, fruit, milk and OJ and have a breakast right hre, they provide coffee in the office area. Nice owners always helpful and you will find the rates reasonable. it is an older place but they work to keep it clean and nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were scheduled to stay at the Windjammer on the weekend of Hurricane Irene. Mary Ellen decided that she should get to keep our $200 deposit. We inquired about a refund the day before and we were told:

"Our cancellation policy is on the bottom of your confirmation and our web site. Since, we have no control over the weather, there are no refunds unless we are told to evacuate."

We were supposed to checkin on Fri, Aug 26 @ 4:00 pm and then this:

"August 26, 2011, 12:25 p.m.-Governor Deval Patrick has declared a State of Emergency for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, in response to approaching Hurricane Irene."

No evacuation order was given, so no refund. So I guess Mary Ellen felt that I should put my Family in harm's way and come to the Cape, despite a STATE OF EMERGENCY being declared!

I emailed 3 times after that and called at least twice, but Mary Ellen never got back to me. Same goes for my $200...

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank mohsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Windjammer, we had a very nice time. They had a 3 night special which is very affordable for a just about beach front motel. The motel is in a quite residential neighborhood with a minute or two walk to Parker River Beach, the beach has a childrens play area an lots of benches to sit at. As many have stated its not the Ritz but the rooms are clean and we spent most of our time driving around so it was perfect for us. You couldn't ask for a more gracious host than Mary Ellen, she was more than happy to help us with any questions an help in planning our stay an travels around the Cape, she even let us use her shoppers card to save a couple $ on groceries.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpazk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Came back last week from Labor day week-end. Enjoyed the place. It is not fancy or chic, but it is clean and very decent. The price was very reasonable and we can't overestimate the hospitality and kindness of the personnel, especially Mary Ellen. Unlike many larger (and more expensive) hotels when the staff is too busy or look tired of constant complaints and requests of their clients, this place makes you feel you are welcome and they do care about you. The beach is just across the street, which is very convenient. Last day after we returned the keys, they offered to keep our car on their parking lot (rather than paying $15 for beach parking), then use their shower. The pool and its area are very clean. They provide coffee and tea, you may also use their grill and utensils. The fridge in the room was not most up-to-date, but it is of very good size, not like those tiny fridges in many hotels where you can keep your soda cans only. The rooms are good size too. It is a nice place for a family with limited budget to stay - if we go to the Cape next time, we will prefer this place even if something more fancy comes out at the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank longmeadowbaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed there over the Labor Day Weekend and we saw a great deal on their web site so we took advantage of it. When we arrived, the room was well stocked and clean, ready for use. It was fairly spacious and laid out well. The only real problem we had the first night was in one of the rooms below us, there was a running toilet that ran all night and made noise in our room. We mentioned it the next morning and they fixed...well, for Saturday night anyway. The noise was back on Sunday night so I had to mention it again upon checkout Monday morning.

They advertise wifi in the rooms, but we couldn't access it in our room. We had to sit out on the deck to get it and even then it was spotty, at best. Then, Sunday morning the wifi was down so we had no internet access that morning.

In fairness though, overall we were happy and would stay there again without question. They are extremely conveniently located across from the ocean and very local to everything on Main St (Route 28) and the staff was very friendly.

I would say 80 out of 100 points for this place!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
624 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Suites
Ambassador Inn & Suites
#11 of 21 in South Yarmouth
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer

Address: 192 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5847
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £59 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Windjammer South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA
Windjammer Hotel South Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing