We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, best staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windjammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windjammer
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best location, best staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

I have never written a review before and I probably never will again but my husband and I felt so strongly pleased with our experience, we had to share it. My husband and I were driving from New York to Springfield, MA and wanted to see Cape Cod. We only had one night-definitely not enough time to see the cape; but it is all we had. We found the Windjammer on Tripadvisor and loved the location and price ($129 for a monday night). We pulled up to the hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the location right across the street from the beach within walking distance to an awesome lobster dinner at the Skipper. The hotel is a bit on the older side but we were more than happy with the location and the staff. The ladies that helped us in the office went above and beyond to make sure we had the best experience on the Cape. They told us which lighthouses were the best for our time constraint, let us leave our car in their lot after check-out and made us feel like we were the most important visitors they have ever had. The hotel was nice but the staff was what made us want to return time and time again. We will only stay at the Windjammer when we return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shannon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    40
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I really wanted to love it, it has other good reviews online, and for the price, seemed like a fantastic deal. The location is wonderful, tucked into a quiet neighbourhood with the beach across the street and a pool onsite. But a couple of things really would have made a huge difference overall, and taken this from a 3 star rating to a 5.
1) having a coffee maker in the room. I'm usually up by 6:00 - 6:30 at the latest, and to wait around until 7 am was frustrating. + it just feels like such a basic thing these days, even the cheapest of motels offers a coffee maker.
2) the pool is unheated. It's large and very enticing for sure, but man it was cold - and we were there in July, so imagine how cold it is in September, or May. Not very appealing.
3) still on the pool - it opened at 9 am each day, which if you have children, is not great. 8 am would be better, or even 8:30 - but by 9, we'd already trekked over to the beach out of boredom. And to hear the lady at the front desk complain about how the kids are always driving her crazy asking her to open the pool was frustrating. It was never opened at 9 - they seemed to always run 5- 10 minutes late opening the gate, so yes, the kids are chomping at the bit by 9 to go for a swim, as most have been up for an our and a half or more at that point. Just open it on time... Please.
It just didn't feel like the most child friendly place.

Room Tip: Each room has a big picture window facing the pool, with curtains that do not totally black out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skybybyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The rooms are very outdated and not that clean. Also, saw a roach on the floor. And you don't get phone service. What a terrible place to stay. Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kolivia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We had 6 rooms and 15 people in our party and everyone loved the Windjammer. MaryEllen, Vicky and Barbara were the perfect hosts. One family had to leave early due to a sick child and Mary Ellen promptly credited the rate on the same day! There is nothing like great personal service. They were very attentive to the needs of our 87 year old father. The rooms were not new but very very clean. The pool area with gas grills was a great place to hang out. The beach is right across the street. Couldn't be better. Hope we can visit again.

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms face the pool so there really is not a bad spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

You could'nt ask for more from a hotel staff. Very helpfull on attractions, restaurants etc.. Older motel that could use a little updating but was comfortable and clean. Swimming pool, gas grills and an endless pot of coffee all day! Across the street from the beach. Very good restaurant next door.

Room Tip: We stayed in a family room (seperate bedroom) which was good with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregNFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housatonic, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We love coming here every year! Great location across from the beach, quiet neighborhood. We like to take our bikes fom here and pedal around the well kept neighborhood and along the Bass River. You can sit overlookiing the outdoor pool from the chairs in front of your room. The rooms have refrigerators, a handy sink in the sleeping area along with the bathroom sink, a table to eaat your beakfast or lunch at. We find it handy to bring cereal, fruit, milk and OJ and have a breakast right hre, they provide coffee in the office area. Nice owners always helpful and you will find the rates reasonable. it is an older place but they work to keep it clean and nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We were scheduled to stay at the Windjammer on the weekend of Hurricane Irene. Mary Ellen decided that she should get to keep our $200 deposit. We inquired about a refund the day before and we were told:

"Our cancellation policy is on the bottom of your confirmation and our web site. Since, we have no control over the weather, there are no refunds unless we are told to evacuate."

We were supposed to checkin on Fri, Aug 26 @ 4:00 pm and then this:

"August 26, 2011, 12:25 p.m.-Governor Deval Patrick has declared a State of Emergency for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, in response to approaching Hurricane Irene."

No evacuation order was given, so no refund. So I guess Mary Ellen felt that I should put my Family in harm's way and come to the Cape, despite a STATE OF EMERGENCY being declared!

I emailed 3 times after that and called at least twice, but Mary Ellen never got back to me. Same goes for my $200...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mohsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Yarmouth
0.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer

Property: Windjammer
Address: 192 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5847
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Windjammer 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Windjammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA
Windjammer Hotel South Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing