We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girls Getaway”
Review of Windjammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windjammer
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We wanted a place near the beach and with a pool so it fit the bill. The room was tight for 3 ladies but worked out fine. Would have liked some shelves in the bathroom. We had dinner at the Lobster Boat (there was an hour wait at Skippy's?) and it was good. The Lighthouse Inn in W. Denis was lovely for lunch overlooking the water and had great lobster rolls.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank micheleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2008

We decided at the last minute to venture out with our 4 young children 6, 3 & 15 month old twins for a weekend getaway.

We stumbled upon the Windjammer which is located directly across the street from the beach. To our delight they had what is called a family suite available. Due to fire code regulations we often have to rent two rooms making it much more expensive on our budget. This room was perfect for us!!! Not only did the room have ample space for us and our two pack & plays, but it was SPOTLESS!!!! NOT A SPECK OF SAND ON THE FLOOR!!!
THE LINEN WAS CLEAN!! THE BATHROOM WAS CLEAN!! THE RUG WAS CLEAN!!! This was really important to us as we have small children who crawl all over the place.The room had a twin pull out sofa and two double beds. There was what I call a breakfast bar which the boys thought was so cool to eat at. It also had a full bath which made it easier when bathing the kids. The room was also equipped with a sink and a mid size refridgerator, not those mini ones. The room is cleaned each day. There is a microwave and toaster located in the lobby. We knew this in advance and brought ours from home. This made it easier for heating up the babies bottles in the middle of the night. There is fresh brewed coffee & tea each morning in the lobby as well.

The pool was a good size and clean as well. There were enough chairs and tables available. Although we did not use it, there was also a gril on site as well.

The staff went out of their way to accomidate us. They were so very nice and our boys just loved Vicky & Maryellen!!!

Our room rate was $160 a night in PEAK SEASON!!!!!! What more could you ask for with the BEACH located across the street. There was even a snack stand and a swing set on the beach. This truly was a perfect last minute vacation for us!!!

Thank you for a great time Maryellen, Vicky, & Barbara!!

We hope to see you again in September or October for a Fall weekend trip!!!

Enjoy the rest of the summer!!

Sincerely,

Carolan, Joe, Logan, Rowan Kieran, & Quinn

The Gozzi Clan!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gzzcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We just returned from our July 4th weekend at the Windjammer. The weather may come and go but the staff is always the best! My sisters and I always go down at least 3 times during the season, but this time we did husbands,wives and my nephew and we had as good a time as ever. It's only July 8th so the gang will be back in August for sure! The perfect getaway on Cape Cod without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BostonSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We stayed for the three night spring special of $159 over the second weekend of June. We will be back! We go to Cape Cod a couple times per year and have stayed at many different motels. Honestly, most are older, outdated motels but are usually clean and a good value and we are fine with most. What separates the Windjammer is the great location! Walk to the beach, ride your bikes on the back streets along the coast and and a great price. The hotel was clean, the owner friendly and the room was large.
Sure , the bed was hard (but I prefer that to mushy) we needed two pillows to make them thick enough, but if you want luxury you can pay $150 per night elsewhere, or pay $55 and have a great dinner each night! Even the in season rates are a great price given the location of walking to the beach, a good restaurant (The Skipper) is a short walk up the street as well.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Location is absolutely fantastic. Yes, about 200 steps and you're at the beach with no trace of Route 28 in sight! Owners are helpful and friendly and the prices are more than fair for Cape Cod, especially with such proximity to the beach! Saving $15/day on parking and not having to drive is priceless! The rooms are outdated, but acceptable. Our room had a 19" Zenith TV from probably 1982 which just looks hilarious, especially with the faux wood trim stand-- complete with a dial to adjust the volume and a cable box/converter on top! Small fridge and separate sink in the room is a nice touch and helps out keeping food costs down. Shower had plenty of hot water and pressure... Pillows were comfortable, beds were ok--you could feel some coils. Minor downsides are no clock/radio or WiFi, but heck, having no internet allowed me to enjoy the Cape instead of surfing the web... I know if the owners were to put money into the place then the costs would go up, so I have no complaints and would continue to stay there, as they seem to have quite a loyal clientele. Would recommend...

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishhawker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Just got back from a few days stay at the Windjammer. I cannot say enough good things about this motel or the people who run it. The rooms where super clean & the beds where comfy. The girls at the desk especially Maryellen where just great. Very friendly & helpful. My family & I have just started a yearly tradition & if you go to the Windjammer I think you will too!!!!
The McDermotts

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Close to beach, nice pool, very clean and comfortable room, , friendly & helpful staff, enjoyed it all, and less expensive than expected. We had no gotchas whatsoever. I give it a "strong recommend" for the typical cape cod seeker.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank lovedmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
412 reviews
1.7 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#11 of 21 in South Yarmouth
357 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Escape Inn
The Escape Inn
#1 of 21 in South Yarmouth
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer

Address: 192 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5847
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range: £57 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Windjammer South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA
Windjammer Hotel South Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing