We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Value on The Cape”
Review of Windjammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windjammer
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Great Value on The Cape”
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We had been to Cape Cod several times in the past and always enjoyed it, but it had been about ten years since our last visit. At that time, we stayed at the Spouter Whale Motor Inn, right on Nantucket Sound, in Dennisport. I looked for them on the internet and found that the place had been sold, renovated, and converted to condos; seems to be a common practice these days.

I checked out other places on the water in many different areas but most were too expensive; the reasonable ones had all sold out already. We finally decided on the Windjammer Motel, also near Dennisport, in South Yarmouth, about a block from two small public beaches. It’s an old “mom & pop” type, two-story motel, but fairly well-maintained, and the two women that run it are very friendly and helpful.

We asked for an end room, away from the pool, on the second floor. This was a quieter location, and because there’s a covered walkway that accesses all the rooms, we could sit out there sipping our wine or reading, with a decent view, and not have other people walking by us all the time. We had a leak in the bathroom sink but it was repaired in a reasonable amount of time. At only a hundred bucks a night, this turned out to be a very good deal.

Only a block and a half from our motel, down a residential street, was one of two beaches on Nantucket Sound within walking distance. It’s small, compared to, say, Jones Beach, on Long Island, but relatively clean and not too crowded. I prefer the ocean waves that I can body surf in, but the sound is pretty calm most of the time.

  • Liked — Close to the beach, pool & reasonably priced
  • Disliked — A bit dated and sparse
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    40
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We wanted a place near the beach and with a pool so it fit the bill. The room was tight for 3 ladies but worked out fine. Would have liked some shelves in the bathroom. We had dinner at the Lobster Boat (there was an hour wait at Skippy's?) and it was good. The Lighthouse Inn in W. Denis was lovely for lunch overlooking the water and had great lobster rolls.

  • Liked — The location, pool and minutes to beach
  • Disliked — Not emough room in bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank micheleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We decided at the last minute to venture out with our 4 young children 6, 3 & 15 month old twins for a weekend getaway.

We stumbled upon the Windjammer which is located directly across the street from the beach. To our delight they had what is called a family suite available. Due to fire code regulations we often have to rent two rooms making it much more expensive on our budget. This room was perfect for us!!! Not only did the room have ample space for us and our two pack & plays, but it was SPOTLESS!!!! NOT A SPECK OF SAND ON THE FLOOR!!!
THE LINEN WAS CLEAN!! THE BATHROOM WAS CLEAN!! THE RUG WAS CLEAN!!! This was really important to us as we have small children who crawl all over the place.The room had a twin pull out sofa and two double beds. There was what I call a breakfast bar which the boys thought was so cool to eat at. It also had a full bath which made it easier when bathing the kids. The room was also equipped with a sink and a mid size refridgerator, not those mini ones. The room is cleaned each day. There is a microwave and toaster located in the lobby. We knew this in advance and brought ours from home. This made it easier for heating up the babies bottles in the middle of the night. There is fresh brewed coffee & tea each morning in the lobby as well.

The pool was a good size and clean as well. There were enough chairs and tables available. Although we did not use it, there was also a gril on site as well.

The staff went out of their way to accomidate us. They were so very nice and our boys just loved Vicky & Maryellen!!!

Our room rate was $160 a night in PEAK SEASON!!!!!! What more could you ask for with the BEACH located across the street. There was even a snack stand and a swing set on the beach. This truly was a perfect last minute vacation for us!!!

Thank you for a great time Maryellen, Vicky, & Barbara!!

We hope to see you again in September or October for a Fall weekend trip!!!

Enjoy the rest of the summer!!

Sincerely,

Carolan, Joe, Logan, Rowan Kieran, & Quinn

The Gozzi Clan!!!

  • Liked — IT was IMMACULATE & accross the street from the beach
  • Disliked — NOTHING!!!!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gzzcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2008

We just returned from our July 4th weekend at the Windjammer. The weather may come and go but the staff is always the best! My sisters and I always go down at least 3 times during the season, but this time we did husbands,wives and my nephew and we had as good a time as ever. It's only July 8th so the gang will be back in August for sure! The perfect getaway on Cape Cod without a doubt.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — Weather
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BostonSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Housatonic, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We stayed for the three night spring special of $159 over the second weekend of June. We will be back! We go to Cape Cod a couple times per year and have stayed at many different motels. Honestly, most are older, outdated motels but are usually clean and a good value and we are fine with most. What separates the Windjammer is the great location! Walk to the beach, ride your bikes on the back streets along the coast and and a great price. The hotel was clean, the owner friendly and the room was large.
Sure , the bed was hard (but I prefer that to mushy) we needed two pillows to make them thick enough, but if you want luxury you can pay $150 per night elsewhere, or pay $55 and have a great dinner each night! Even the in season rates are a great price given the location of walking to the beach, a good restaurant (The Skipper) is a short walk up the street as well.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Location is absolutely fantastic. Yes, about 200 steps and you're at the beach with no trace of Route 28 in sight! Owners are helpful and friendly and the prices are more than fair for Cape Cod, especially with such proximity to the beach! Saving $15/day on parking and not having to drive is priceless! The rooms are outdated, but acceptable. Our room had a 19" Zenith TV from probably 1982 which just looks hilarious, especially with the faux wood trim stand-- complete with a dial to adjust the volume and a cable box/converter on top! Small fridge and separate sink in the room is a nice touch and helps out keeping food costs down. Shower had plenty of hot water and pressure... Pillows were comfortable, beds were ok--you could feel some coils. Minor downsides are no clock/radio or WiFi, but heck, having no internet allowed me to enjoy the Cape instead of surfing the web... I know if the owners were to put money into the place then the costs would go up, so I have no complaints and would continue to stay there, as they seem to have quite a loyal clientele. Would recommend...

  • Liked — Closeness to the beach
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishhawker74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn ma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2007

Just got back from a few days stay at the Windjammer. I cannot say enough good things about this motel or the people who run it. The rooms where super clean & the beds where comfy. The girls at the desk especially Maryellen where just great. Very friendly & helpful. My family & I have just started a yearly tradition & if you go to the Windjammer I think you will too!!!!
The McDermotts

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Yarmouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
581 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dunes Motor Inn
The Dunes Motor Inn
#20 of 21 in South Yarmouth
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer

Property: Windjammer
Address: 192 S Shore Dr, South Yarmouth, MA 02664-5847
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Also Known As:
Windjammer South Yarmouth, Cape Cod, MA
Windjammer Hotel South Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing