We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Quiet Setting but poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southborough
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Quiet Setting but poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family recently travelled to the Boston area for a 4 day sporting event. We booked 2 rooms at this motel which we selected based on its location and rates relative to other local hotels. I called the motel directly to make the reservation and was very pleased with how helpful and pleasant the staff member treated me. On arrival I was pleasantly surprised with the location and expanse of the property. The property sits back away from the highway up on a hill and has a large green area. The check-in process was efficient and friendly. The rooms had been updated and a good size c/w fridge and microwave. Unfortunately we did have some housekeeping issues. One room was not properly cleaned after the first night and the other room's bathroom was flooded from the room above. The hotels staff's resolution to the matter was to bring us a pile of towels and told us to soak up the mess ourselves-really!! Unfortunately due to our very busy schedule we tolerated this unacceptable situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy_1948_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary E, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hello and thank you for writing a review of your recent stay. I first want to apologize that the leak was not handled professionally, we should have cleaned up the mess for you and not expected you to do it. The room is in the process of being looked at by a plumber as we cannot locate where the leak is coming from. I am very very sorry for the inconvenience and the way it was handled. I am happy that you were pleased with the staff, they do work hard to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable, however clearly we dropped the ball during your stay. I will be sure to share this with everyone - we use all guest feedback as a way to improve.

thank you again,
Hilary Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    69
    51
    17
    14
See reviews for
75
63
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have stayed at several different Red Roof Inns, and this is my favorite by far. The staff was very helpful and attentive, and the hillside location helped cut down on any outside noise at night. It is also centrally located to visit Boston, Providence, and Plymouth, among other cities. I will likely stay here again on my next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the rear building have a view of the woods and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcatfan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary E, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so happy that you enjoyed our location and grounds. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the Boston/Worcester area. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff.

thank you,
Hilary Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Red Roof is our choice when traveling with our Yorkie. No hassle.
Recently remodeled and clean. Wendy's is a close walk, otherwise you will need to drive to a restaurant. Newly built Cumberland(?) gas station and convenience store next door.
Jim (staff member) was very friendly - nice to see folks that take pride in what they do!

Room Tip: When checking out opt out of the room safe. Always added to the bill, will take it off if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary E, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Jim is a wonderful employee and works hard to ensure our guests are comfortable. We are pet friendly and love to see your pets on vacation with you.

thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay.

Hilary Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Neddick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This Red Roof Inn needs a little help. Even though they said the rooms we recently remodeled they must have forgotten to do the Shower area and the four walls within our room. The Shower had a BIG crack in the shower stall and it was very badly stained and the each of the four walls looked like they had big hole in them and they just thru some putty on to conceal it. In fairness they had put in some new flooring in the room. The hotel was very quiet and clean. The AC didn't work that well and the room had a bad odor.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary E, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time with us. I am sorry about the condition of your room. We have a preventative maintenance program that helps us keep up with wear and tear in the rooms, I am sorry that we had not done a good job in your room. I will have maintenance focus on the tubs, we did not upgrade our tubs during our renovation. Sometimes running the AC will help with the stuffy odor, however if the AC was not working this is a problem. If you could contact us and let us know what room you were in so we can address this problem right away that would be great.

thank you for sharing your comments, I will be sure to post this for the staff,
Hilary Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were on our way to Maine and needed overnight accommodations. We found this Red Roof Inn to be clean and convenient for our travels. A nearby Wendy's provided a quick light dinner. We saw no nearby restaurants for breakfast but that was not a problem as we weren't ready to eat anyway. The motel coffee was enough to get the day started.
The motel staff member was pleasant and the room amenities met our needs. We would stay here again.
Bobbie
Sterling, VA

Room Tip: We did not have our dog on this trip but have on others. Red Roof Inn is pet friendly as we have sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary E, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for writing about your recent stay, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests feel at home and comfortable. I will be sure to share your comments with he staff. There are not any sit down restaurants within walking distance however we can always provide a list for you at the desk. For a quick bite the Cumberland Farms does offer grab and go items and that is within walking distance.

thank you,
Hilary Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
326 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Red Roof Inn in Southborough on the basis of the reviews here on Tripadvisor, and were quite pleased. No, its not a fancy place, it has no pool or breakfast, and the access is directly from the outside. But the price is very right, the room was clean, and the WiFi excellent. The room was a bit musty upon entering, but running the AC for a while took care of that. The facility was quiet,the beds adequate, and our sleep was fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary E, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have been asking the housekeepers to leave the AC on when it is hot outside to eliminate that stuffy feel and smell when you walk in. On hot days this does happen, running the AC as you said does help.

Thank you again for your great review, we look forward to the next time you are in Southborough and stay with us.

thank you,
Hilary Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently stayed at this renovated Hotel, They switched out the carpet for flooring. This made the room a lot easier to stay fresh, However If you don't request Housekeeping to come in every day they didn't. we left around 9 or 10 most days, but they didn't come back. But for most part room was good. Beds were very comfortable, everything worked O.K.. No Breakfast with this room ,and you are about an Hour outside Of Boston. But for Price and peace and Quiet from not being in city, this was A good Choice for us. we Used Our Aarp discount also saved more. I will stay there again , And would recommend It to others. easy access to Highways.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side over look second part of Hotel, Dogs are allowed there. with door closed you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary E, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property and your recent trip here. We finished a full renovation of the rooms last summer and are very happy you enjoyed the new flooring. It does help to keep the room feel fresh and clean. I am very sorry about housekeeping as they should be getting into every room every day for at least a quick clean up and make the beds. I am sorry they did not do that during your stay, I will remind them all that it is important to make up the rooms each day. Thank you again for the kind words I will be sure to share this review with everyone.

Hilary Easter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southborough
0.6 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Boston/Westborough
9.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Boston Framingham
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston - Westborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Boston - Westborough - Computer Dr.
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Boston Westborough
3.2 mi away
Westborough Inn
Westborough Inn
#3 of 9 in Westborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester

Property: Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester
Address: 367 Turnpike Road, Southborough, MA 01772
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Southborough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Southborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Boston - Southborough/Worcester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn (Boston) Southborough Hotel Southborough
Red Roof Inn Southborough
Southborough Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing