We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Happy Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fl
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What a Happy Surprise!”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were in Worcester, MA for a family wedding and made reservations to stay here, having never heard of the property.
From the road we were impressed by the meticulous landscaping and our first impression was excellent. I love the way that they have taken an old manufacturing plant (American Optical) and turned it into such a beautiful property. Other towns should take notice. The downstairs is spacious and has comfortable seating. The rooms are huge! I have never stayed in a hotel that had a cleaner bathroom. The staff was friendly and there was ample (free) parking.
It is ideal for business meetings, family gatherings and only 4 miles to Old Sturbridge Village.
The food in the restaurant was very good as well.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Although our room was very large, our two daughtres had a corner room that had an alcove and was eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susansheeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    69
    27
    8
    3
See reviews for
91
79
11
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our third trip up to the Brimfield antiques show and by far the nicest, because we stayed at this hotel. There are really no "hotels" in the area. There are nice "motels" but none of the caliber of Southbridge Hotel.
The rooms and bathrooms are big, very clean and the facility is beautiful. The heated pool is stunning and has a hottub, as well. I particularly like the fact that they have double queen beds. Nothing is worse than trying to sleep two to a double bed and get a good night's sleep. This is easily large enough for two parents and 2 kids.
When there, eat at the Vienna restaurant. It is old world Austrian/German fare in an Italianate Mansion where dinner is served inside and your dessert and coffee served outside on the patio by the fireplace.
Besides the Brimfield Antique Show, there is plenty of apple and berry picking, cider donuts and good food.
If you haven't tried the Brimfield Show, do so. It is the largest in the world and literally takes over the whole (small) town. I'm not as keen on antique shopping as my wife, but the food area is like that of a carnival with great options. Try Pete's Roast Beef stand at the Brimfield show. I have 6 or 7 of them over two days and I still want more!
Another do not miss is Jim's Flying Diner. Its withing 2 miles of the hotel and on a small airstrip where single engine planes are constantly landing and taking off. Its very cool and kids love it. You can eat outside or in the cute little dining car. We went back twice.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaleVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Misawa, Japan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hotel was great, but the surrounding area was "yucky". Not much to do outside of the Hotel unless you drive 30-45 minutes. The staff at the hotel was GREAT!!! I loved the bath and body works soaps in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Limited choices in Southbridge but this hotel is one of the better ones.

Hard beds. free hot buffet breakfast, nice bar (cheep $6 for a Ketal one and soda) with free pool tables.

don't eat here for dinner unless you like fried food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citygir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Southbridge Hotel and Conference has hosted our school district for a number of meetings, conferences, and trainings. The facilities, from the restaurant, to the lobby, to the grounds, are immaculate. The meeting rooms are outfitted with all the technology you could ever need and the seating is extremely comfortable. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful.

All our staff feel they are being pampered when they attend a function at the Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center. I would highly recommend you host your next conference or business meeting at the Southbridge Hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_ryan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I've been traveling to this part of Mass. for over 30 years to participate in the Brimfield Antiques Fairs and have stayed in almost every hotel in the general area. The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center stands heads above the rest. It's well located, super clean, fresh, comfortable and modern. A truly pleasant oasis in a sea of hotel mediocrity. Do not hesitate to book a stay at this hotel. It's truly exceptional.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pojkuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Firstly, I agree with all the other reviews. Great hotel, great staff and great value food. We had an unusal problem with a constant humming noise in our room but were moved to another without incident, even though the hotel was best part fully booked as a result of the Brimfield Antique Fair.
But beware, if you book thru' Expedia you may get the third degree. They appear to be booking their customers in using business rates, there is an obvious misunderstanding but you, the customer, are left in the middle of this long standing dispute.
Can't fault the hotel, just try and avoid booking with Expedia unless you are a business user.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkMarkC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
4.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
3.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 14 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 14 Mechanic St, Southbridge, MA 01550-2570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the scenic Quinebaug River, The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center is an elegantly restored historic property. The Southbridge Hotel combines evocative architecture with new millennium technology to create an incomparable destination for productive meetings or some well-deserved leisure.Our guests enjoy these amenities:203 well-appointed executive guest rooms, including 4 suites Rooms include wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, cable Tv and Bath and Body Works amenities. Extensive range of recreational facilities, including Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center's own Focus Fitness Center, equipped with a heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquet ball courts, game room and jogging trails Shades Lounge offers beverages and casual fare; private dining available Convenient location; less than one hour drive to Boston or Hartford Near shopping, sightseeing and antiquing in Old Sturbridge Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing