We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We were visitng Boston for the day, but could not find a hotel for a decent price due to Parents' Weekend at several schools & the Head of the Charles Regatta. Even though this hotel is about 4 1/2 miles off of Route 84, it was worth the drive. The room was large and the king size bed was comfortable. The bathroom was very clean. Hallways were wide and well lit. The hotel is a step above the standard chain hotel - one nice feature is that it has maintained a beautiful marble fireplace & and some of the original ironwork from the American Optical plant. Since it is a conference center, the business center has multiple computers, and the downstairs lobby is hugh, with many seating areas. There are snacks available in the lobby 24/7. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The Fitness Center was staffed (it seemed to be a regular health club), with good equipment and a large pool. There is free wi-fi. The television sets have not been updated to the flat screen variety, but that is a minor negative. The grounds are quite nice, with lots of parking. There was no road noise - after all, it's in the country - and only 8 miles from a pick-your-own farm.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

We were in Worcester, MA for a family wedding and made reservations to stay here, having never heard of the property.
From the road we were impressed by the meticulous landscaping and our first impression was excellent. I love the way that they have taken an old manufacturing plant (American Optical) and turned it into such a beautiful property. Other towns should take notice. The downstairs is spacious and has comfortable seating. The rooms are huge! I have never stayed in a hotel that had a cleaner bathroom. The staff was friendly and there was ample (free) parking.
It is ideal for business meetings, family gatherings and only 4 miles to Old Sturbridge Village.
The food in the restaurant was very good as well.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Although our room was very large, our two daughtres had a corner room that had an alcove and was eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susansheeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our third trip up to the Brimfield antiques show and by far the nicest, because we stayed at this hotel. There are really no "hotels" in the area. There are nice "motels" but none of the caliber of Southbridge Hotel.
The rooms and bathrooms are big, very clean and the facility is beautiful. The heated pool is stunning and has a hottub, as well. I particularly like the fact that they have double queen beds. Nothing is worse than trying to sleep two to a double bed and get a good night's sleep. This is easily large enough for two parents and 2 kids.
When there, eat at the Vienna restaurant. It is old world Austrian/German fare in an Italianate Mansion where dinner is served inside and your dessert and coffee served outside on the patio by the fireplace.
Besides the Brimfield Antique Show, there is plenty of apple and berry picking, cider donuts and good food.
If you haven't tried the Brimfield Show, do so. It is the largest in the world and literally takes over the whole (small) town. I'm not as keen on antique shopping as my wife, but the food area is like that of a carnival with great options. Try Pete's Roast Beef stand at the Brimfield show. I have 6 or 7 of them over two days and I still want more!
Another do not miss is Jim's Flying Diner. Its withing 2 miles of the hotel and on a small airstrip where single engine planes are constantly landing and taking off. Its very cool and kids love it. You can eat outside or in the cute little dining car. We went back twice.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank DaleVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

The hotel was great, but the surrounding area was "yucky". Not much to do outside of the Hotel unless you drive 30-45 minutes. The staff at the hotel was GREAT!!! I loved the bath and body works soaps in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerri c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Limited choices in Southbridge but this hotel is one of the better ones.

Hard beds. free hot buffet breakfast, nice bar (cheep $6 for a Ketal one and soda) with free pool tables.

don't eat here for dinner unless you like fried food.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citygir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Southbridge Hotel and Conference has hosted our school district for a number of meetings, conferences, and trainings. The facilities, from the restaurant, to the lobby, to the grounds, are immaculate. The meeting rooms are outfitted with all the technology you could ever need and the seating is extremely comfortable. The staff is friendly and extremely helpful.

All our staff feel they are being pampered when they attend a function at the Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center. I would highly recommend you host your next conference or business meeting at the Southbridge Hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen_ryan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I've been traveling to this part of Mass. for over 30 years to participate in the Brimfield Antiques Fairs and have stayed in almost every hotel in the general area. The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center stands heads above the rest. It's well located, super clean, fresh, comfortable and modern. A truly pleasant oasis in a sea of hotel mediocrity. Do not hesitate to book a stay at this hotel. It's truly exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pojkuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 14 in Sturbridge
466 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 14 in Sturbridge
622 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Sturbridge
3.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#6 of 14 in Sturbridge
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center

Address: 14 Mechanic St, Southbridge, MA 01550-2570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the scenic Quinebaug River, The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center is an elegantly restored historic property. The Southbridge Hotel combines evocative architecture with new millennium technology to create an incomparable destination for productive meetings or some well-deserved leisure.Our guests enjoy these amenities:203 well-appointed executive guest rooms, including 4 suites Rooms include wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, cable Tv and Bath and Body Works amenities. Extensive range of recreational facilities, including Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center's own Focus Fitness Center, equipped with a heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquet ball courts, game room and jogging trails Shades Lounge offers beverages and casual fare; private dining available Convenient location; less than one hour drive to Boston or Hartford Near shopping, sightseeing and antiquing in Old Sturbridge Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing