We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I had to be at a conference in Dudley, MA and this hotel was recommended. I was entranced by the picture on their website, then I read some great reviews on tripadvisor and decided to take a chance. It is in the middle of nowhere, although not far from Auburn and Sturbridge. The outside of the hotel looks like an old converted factory (which it was), but the inside was very modern. The rooms were very large and extremely clean. The people at the front desk were very friendly. We had a chance to use the pool area and locker room, also very nice and clean. They had a large fitness center with classes (which we did not use). I hope I have occasion to use the hotel again in the future. It was reasonably priced and worth the trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    66
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
91
74
10
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Apparently the opening of this hotel was supposed to coincide the creation of businesses in Southbridge to bring in the needed tourists - the hotel opened, but the businesses never came to fruition. In any event, what you end up with is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities you could ask just on the border of MA and CT. The rooms were large and the service was great - we really liked all the staff that we met. We didn't try the pool or fitness center, but they have them.

We were going to a wedding in Woodstock CT and it was very conveniently located to that area. You couldn't go wrong staying there and using it as a base to travel throughout the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenB813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlantic beach, NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

we had to be in the southbridge area due to a funeral - there aren't a lot of choices besides creepy chain hotels off the highway and a few country inns - but the inns were booked up so i found this hotel online. it's in a weird area but the hotel was shockingly nice - clean, huge, quiet, and seems pretty new. so don't hesitate to stay there if you find yourself in this neck of massachusetts and/or connecticut!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed here 1 night during a recent trip. Beautiful setting...extremely quiet and super clean rooms. A breath of fresh air after the usual chain hotels we stayed at and what a great price! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuovainpaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here on business. I was the photographer for the AMED ATC which was held at this hotel. The staff was friendly and ready to assist with anything we needed. Our room was clean, beautiful and spacious. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and large enough for the two of us to get ready (although we didn't need to). Our room faced the road, but we could not hear any outside noise. The conference we attended also had our meals as part of our stay, and I would have to say that every meal was great. Our banquet meal was fantastic. I've had many reception meals in my career as a photographer, and I'd have to say I felt like I was at my grandmother's house for dinner, it was that delicious. Although we did not have time to use the pool or gym these two areas were beautiful as well. The entire facility is just beautiful, and we would definitely stay there again without hesitation. In fact we will be next year for the next ATC, and we look forward to it.

Room Tip: Although we did not use Room Service or the Spa, as with all other areas of the Hotel, I am sure the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHarlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

Loved it! I was in the area three times in the last two months. I had a very disappointing experience at the Hampton Inn in Sturbridge and went to Trip Advisor to see if I could locate another hotel. Thank you all you Trip Advisor reviewers! The reviews about the Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center do not lie. Its extremely comfortable, the room was spotless. Decor pleasant. All amenities. In fact, I brought a group of about 10 people to the hotel during lunch without notice, and they accomodated us for lunch without blinking an eye (while conducting a lunch for a large conference). Wonderful. Would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was in room 428. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IHG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishing Creek, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

This hotel is an absolutely wonderful addition to the city of Southbridge, where classy establishments are at a bit of a premium these days. The hotel honestly merits four to five TripAdvisor stars (as a three-star hotel) just on its own, but this five-star review is mostly a glowing recommendation for a place that went above and beyond during a difficult time.

I accompanied my mother to help my grandmother, who had suffered a terrible stroke. The front desk staff of the Southbridge Hotel allowed us to cut countless corners when we needed, extended a discount rate longer than it was valid, and made sure to take care of all check-in paperwork without us even being there for us. They were extraordinarily sympathetic and welcoming. That is something that can't be overlooked, and the world deserves to hear that this place is a first-class establishment.

That being said, the rooms are very comfortable, the WiFi worked perfect, and the health club is impeccable and better than most hotels I had ever stayed in. You can walk to downtown Southbridge, but I'd recommend driving, as the roads can be quite busy. The property is quiet and pleasant. The converted AO building is a wonderful setting and rather pretty. I didn't see the conference center beyond the hallways, but it looked like an excellent venue to host an event.

They made us believers here, and it's nice to have such a beautiful option right in Southbridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ESVASpiderTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbridge
4.3 mi away
Sturbridge Host Hotel & Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
Hampton Inn Sturbridge
#4 of 13 in Sturbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Colonial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Old Sturbridge Inn & Reeder Family Lodges
4.3 mi away
Days Inn Sturbridge
Days Inn Sturbridge
#10 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.5 mi away
Publick House Historic Inn
Publick House Historic Inn
#5 of 13 in Sturbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center

Property: Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center
Address: 14 Mechanic St, Southbridge, MA 01550-2570
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Southbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Southbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the scenic Quinebaug River, The Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center is an elegantly restored historic property. The Southbridge Hotel combines evocative architecture with new millennium technology to create an incomparable destination for productive meetings or some well-deserved leisure.Our guests enjoy these amenities:203 well-appointed executive guest rooms, including 4 suites Rooms include wireless high speed internet access, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryers, iron/ironing board, cable Tv and Bath and Body Works amenities. Extensive range of recreational facilities, including Southbridge Hotel and Conference Center's own Focus Fitness Center, equipped with a heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquet ball courts, game room and jogging trails Shades Lounge offers beverages and casual fare; private dining available Convenient location; less than one hour drive to Boston or Hartford Near shopping, sightseeing and antiquing in Old Sturbridge Village ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southbridge Hotel And Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing